Nasty cold night.

DSC_0002 (800x531)

 

I slept unusually long time last night , almost ten hours and later in the day I took a nap for over two hours๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ It feels like I’ve been robbed of my day since there’s not much left of it now๐Ÿ™‚ My nose was so stuffed this morning that I had to breathe through my mouth and that gave me a little problem while brushing my teeth. It felt like I was drowning when I accidentally inhaled lots of tooth paste๐Ÿ™‚ If I had died drowned by it I’m pretty sure that the one autopsied me would say, he was way to young to die but at least his lungs smelled minty fresh๐Ÿ™‚

 

DSC_0005 (800x532)

DSC_0009 (800x532)

DSC_0006 (548x800)

DSC_0013 (532x800)

 

It was -17 C (1,4 F) as coldest last night but by the time we got out for our morning walk it was much warmer, -13 C (8,6 F)๐Ÿ™‚ But since the wind finally had given up and the sun shone it still felt rather nice out there. But it was to short time for any rime to build up on the trees and bushes, I guess that if the coming night gets as cold and the wind stays away we’ll get it by tomorrow morning though.

 

DSC_0014 (800x532)

DSC_0016 (800x532)

DSC_0020 (800x531)

DSC_0021 (800x532)

 

The European Union is trying, once again, to remove all varieties of seeds that isn’t sold by a huge seed company. They want every seed variety to be tested and registered ย for a rather huge amount of money every year. That means that most heirloom varieties will be gone and varieties that works up here in the Nordic countries will be forbidden. They have tried this before and say that it’s because they want us all to have the highest quality on the seeds we buy.

 

DSC_0022 (800x532)

DSC_0023 (800x532)

DSC_0028 (800x532)

DSC_0029 (800x532)

 

I wonder if they take us for idiots? The European Parliament is one of the most corrupt places You can find and naturally some people will make big money on this by making sure that only seeds from big companies will be sold! (seeds that doesn’t work well up here in the northern parts of Europe) ย  Last time they tried this the smaller seed companies gave away their seeds and then we could give them money as a sort of present if we wished and all of us wished to do that๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ I guess we’ll have to do something like that again if our government doesn’t listen to us. Last time they actually did, after a very long time of protests, and managed to make an exception for our country. I can only hope they’ll do that again.

 

DSC_0032 (800x532)

DSC_0036 (800x531)

Still lots of Waxwings around. They should have moved north long time ago.

Still lots of Waxwings around. They should have moved north long time ago.

Bullfinches shouldn't come to the feeders either but winter's been tough on them. These bird photographs are taken through an old window so they are a bit fuzzy.

Bullfinches shouldn’t come to the feeders either but winter’s been tough on them. These bird photographs are taken through an old window so they are a bit fuzzy.

 

But we can of course buy seeds directly from the American countries and the other countries outside of the EU, internet is a blessing sometimes๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ I know of a couple of seeds firms in the USA that I can buy vegetable seeds from when I need to๐Ÿ™‚

 

Female Bullfinch.

Female Bullfinch.

Deers aren't always nice toward each other, here they try to chase away Doris but weren't successful :-)

Deers aren’t always nice toward each other, here they try to chase away Doris but weren’t successful๐Ÿ™‚

DSC_0045 (800x532)

They aren't espceially worried about our presence.

They aren’t espceially worried about our presence.

 

It’s getting colder outside again, the night will be clear and nasty cold again I think. So I’ve just started a fire in the stove and I’ll make some cocoa and perhaps a sandwich or two. Nothing good on tv as far as I know so I’ll watch another episode of All Creatures Great and Small๐Ÿ™‚

 

DSC_0004 (800x531)

DSC_0008 (800x531)

DSC_0012 (800x532)

DSC_0019 (800x532)

 

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0001 (528x800)

14 thoughts on “Nasty cold night.

    • Hi Joyce!

      They do get a bit milky though.

      Soo many deers๐Ÿ™‚ They cost me a small fortune to feed now but they’re worth it๐Ÿ™‚

      Our snowfall seems to have been postponed until next Friday and I have to say I like that๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christyer.

  1. wow, the government tries to put their fingers in every pot don’t they, like you said thank goodnes for the internet!
    Such beautiful photos, same weather here, waiting for spring, very cold at night, minus 18 Celsius last night, but sun today,

    • Hi Laurie!

      This is nothing our government wanted but since the EU comes up with things like that they follow orders like a slightly fanatic follower of any kind of religious sect. So yes, thank goodnes for the internet๐Ÿ™‚

      Only -14 this night and it looks like we’re going to have sujnshine again today๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    European Parliament sounds about as stupid as our Congressional Science Committee which contains a lot of people who “don’t believe in science”. Does no one understand that the best quality of any living thing will be a huge waste of money if you try to put raise it somewhere it doesn’t belong?
    I noticed the American Robins in my area doing an odd thing. They are hanging out underneath bushes, along walkways or foraging up close to the house walls behind the snowpiles. When people walk by, the robins bolt into flight scaring the daylights out of them. It occurred to me that they had been foraging on open grass till this last storm and now all that is buried deep. The only open places are under bushes, along walkways and up against buildings where the snow has melted or didn’t accumulate. The males are starting to stake out territories and don’t want to leave to find good forage. Not a hard winter but definitely a hard spring for them.
    Sorry your head is all stuffed up. Are you allergic to snow? I think I am.๐Ÿ™‚
    It’s sunny and very windy here. The wind makes it bitter cold outside. Rocky and I didn’t brave it for too long today. Just long enough for him to check all his p-mail and reply.๐Ÿ˜€
    Enjoy the rest of the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      The EU parliament is even worse than You might believe but it is hard to top a science commitee that contains with lots of people that doesn’t believe in science๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ But for instance, twice a year the EU parliament moves from Brussels to Strassbourg because they couldn’t agree on where they should have the place! It costs over 200 million Euros ( I think that is around 250 million US dollars) every year to move around all those people!!!! Totally insane!!! So waste of money should be a part of this unions name๐Ÿ™‚

      It’s fun how those Robins adapt to the situation and it must be really fun to see how people react when they fly away๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚
      I haven’t seen any European Robin yet and it’s only very few migrating birds that has arrived yet. The ones that stay jusat keep on like always, they are used to this๐Ÿ™‚

      Finally I know why i’m stuffed up like this, I am allergic to snow๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll stay at home this week and call my boss to tell him that๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ I think I might be allergic to summer rain as well come to think of it๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      Looks like we’re going to have a wonderful day once again๐Ÿ™‚ Bitterly cold though even if it was slightly warmer this night.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • No, no, no. You’re allergic to summer sunshine. On sunny summer days you have to stay home from work because you’re just too stuffed up to think straight and the allergy medication makes it too dangerous for you to drive or be around machinery. On partly sunny days you might have to come in late or go home early depending on which part of the day is sunny.๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ˜€

      • So true! I’m actually allergic all year round when I’m thinking of it๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ I think it might be best if I just stayed at home all the time๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Good Evening Christer,
    Sorry you’ re all stuffy. That happens to me, and it is uncomfortable at best.

    My snow is quickly disappearing. My sister calls it a spring storm; the flake come, leave 6 to 8 inches, then melt away in a couple of days. She, though, is is the middle of a winter storm: 14 inches of snow and temperatures below 15หš.

    You have the deer fight for territory. I have chickadees and gold finches. All of them want a perch on the feeder all at once.

    I hope you feel better!
    Have a great Sunday,

    Kat

    • Hi Kat!

      It seems I’m mostly stuffed in the morning though. Yesterday it all went away during the day and I hope it will be the same today.
      Sometimes it seems Your sister lives in a climate just like mine but sometimes it seems she lives in a worse one๐Ÿ™‚ I guess living in higher altitude does that. It looks like the snow we were supposed to have will stay away until Friday next week. I hope it continues to move away.

      But deers shouldn’t fight now, their time is in early autumn if I remember right. But I guess it all has to do with survival instinct, I need to eat first so I’ll survive and You can have what’s left after me. But Doris is a smart girl and managed to get as much food as she wanted๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      It looks like the birds here cooperate better. they kik out a lot of seeds to the ground so that all can get something๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • In my neck of the woods, and Kat’s as well, the spawns of Satan get most of what is kicked out on the ground. They sit in the middle of the spilled seeds and hog most of them. The ground feeding birds work around the edges.

  4. Do you know who Martha Stewart is? I”m sure you do but still I need to ask.
    If you do, what do you think of her seeds?
    and, What “zone” are you in for planting?
    Oh God, it looks like Bertil has taken Teodor to the dark side!

    • Hi Cindi!

      Martha Stewart is almost as known as Oprah Winfrey here. But I haven’t seen any of her seeds over here, I only know that they excist. But she usually knows what she’s doing so I guess their good.

      Our zone system is a bit different than Yours but when it comes to American zones I think I live in zone 4a-4b. I can sometimes have things that survives in zone 5a but they live on the border here.

      Teodor is jusr playing, he will never turn to the dark side๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

