Springwinter is here again :-)

DSC_0002 (800x532)

 

We’ve had a rather wonderful day here, the night wasn’t as bitterly cold as the night before (only almost🙂 ) and it reached 3,4 C (38,1 F ) during the day🙂  But it is a huge difference between where there’s sunlight and where there’s shadow  even early in the morning. As soon as we walked in to the shadow I wished I had brought my mittens and when we went out into the sunlight i was glad I didn’t🙂

 

DSC_0004 (800x532)

DSC_0005 (800x532)

DSC_0006 (800x523)

DSC_0008 (800x532)

 

We’ve been out for walks several times today and we’ll have time for yet another one before the sun goes down. It’s days like this that it feels wonderful to live🙂 But I wouldn’t mind if spring came so life could be even more wonderful🙂🙂🙂

 

DSC_0010 (800x532)

DSC_0011 (800x532)

DSC_0014 (800x531)

DSC_0016 (800x513)

 

The deers came early today so I guess it’s tough for them out there. Much of the snow is gone now but those knowing better than I do says that the autumn was bad for deers so the high nutritious grass they need to survive is already eaten by now. The grass that’s still out there is to tough for them to digest they say so even if it looks like there’s lots of food now there’s none really.

 

Old tomb.

Old tomb.

Good homes is hard to find but this couple have found a perfect one. No one have fired in that stove for ages :-)

Good homes is hard to find but this couple have found a perfect one. No one have fired in that stove for ages🙂

DSC_0020 (800x525)

DSC_0025 (800x521)

 

I haven’t heard the cranes shouting for a while now, I do hope they haven’t died in this cold weather and I haven’t heard the Black grouse on the bog either. They should have started long ago to be honest. I’ve been a bit late in the mornings though so I might have missed them. They are easily scared so it’s almost impossible to come close to them.

 

The morning was so wonderful that we continued to walk down to the creek. We were out walking for an hour and a half :-)

The morning was so wonderful that we continued to walk down to the creek. We were out walking for an hour and a half🙂

DSC_0030 (800x532)

DSC_0031 (800x532)

DSC_0033 (800x513)

 

It’s time to start a fire in the stove again, no need for that during the day because of the heat from the sun🙂 The night will be clear so it will most likely be cold as well but we’ll have above 0 C (32 F) temperatures during the days all week from now on🙂 They predict mostly sunshine during easter but it will still be too cold to even start thinking of doing anything in the garden. It would have been fun to start building the green house during easter but I can always cut down the dying plum tree. Yet another big branch has fallen of so now there’s very little left of it I’m afraid.

 

I can see you :-)

I can see you🙂

DSC_0040 (532x800)

DSC_0042 (800x532)

DSC_0045 (532x800)

 

I can also start chipping all those branches from that part of the apple tree I had to cut down last year. The area around the pond needs more wood chips, the deers has kicked away much of the ones lying there🙂

 

DSC_0046 (800x532)

The Magpie can show all kinds of colors depending on what angle the sunshine hits.

The Magpie can show all kinds of colors depending on what angle the sunshine hits.

Lots of Waxwings here now.

Lots of Waxwings here now.

I have loads of photographs I can't show You today. I might save them for another day.

I have loads of photographs I can’t show You today. I might save them for another day.

DSC_0025 (800x531)

 

Have a great day!

 

No post of mine is complete without a deer photograph. This is Rune.

No post of mine is complete without a deer photograph. This is Rune.

10 thoughts on “Springwinter is here again :-)

  1. hi christer! great photos. i love the one of sune with snow on his nose! glad you are getting warmer weather. i am waiting for a big storm to arrive. we might get 8 inches of snow! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      Thank You🙂

      Finally it feels like we’re heading the right way but Apåril can be much like this too so I’m not shouting of joy yet🙂

      8 inches! Do be careful when You’re out there driving!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Christer, glad to read and see that your winter, while not going away completely, is getting easier to take perhaps. We have some spring flowers in bloom, but every morning there is a covering of frost and the robins seem rather confused. The finches have also returned and seem to be seeking nesting spots on our front porch but we are not accepting tenants there. This week we leave for our Easter road trip to visit family in various parts of New England, so our blogging and commenting may be delayed. Enjoy the week ahead.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      I thought that You would be frost free by now. This is just normal winter here, even though it is a bit on the chilly side even for us. If we’re unlucky April just continues like this too🙂

      We have birds here, like the Waxwing that should have left long ago towards north and only a few that have arrived from south like doves and cranes. We’ll catch up later on I hope🙂

      Have a fun trip!
      Christer.

  3. the iridescence feathers of the mag pie are beautiful, the cedar wax wings are lovely too, sounds like a lovely day you had, its sunny here as well but very cold, The horses in the photo have a nice winter coat on!

    • Hi Laurie!

      I think that the Magpie is one of the most beautiful birds we have here, even if it mostly looks just black and white. But it shines so beautifully when the sun hits in the right angle!

      I think we actually have it a bit warmer than You even though we too still have winter. Today is one of those days that will stay in my mind for quite some time even if it was farely uneventful.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer,
    It’s all sparkly over there!
    Is that Orvar peeking through the underbrush? I can’t see any white on the front.
    Thanks for the close shot of shaggy ponies, too.
    Rune is growing a nice set of antlers. Not the best thing for a deer to do in places where they are hunted.
    Here it is mostly blue sky and a bit of chilly wind. I haven’t been out for a walk yet. I was waiting for the sun to get a little higher and warmer so I wouldn’t need a jacket. I hate jackets.🙂
    Enjoy the rest of the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      It really was sparkly all over the village this morning🙂
      Yes it is Orvar. I was calling after him and he just stood there looking at me. I wonder if he thought I couldn’t see him🙂🙂🙂 I have a few more photographs with the ponies that I might show during the week🙂

      I think Rune is farely safe because they most probably will try to get Longhorn instead. But then again, Rune is one eyed (even if it looks like he actually can open up the injured eye now). I’ll start the feeding early this autumn, Rune will know where to go🙂

      I have one jacket I really like and it’s a winter jacket so I wear it all the time🙂🙂🙂

      Not much left of the day I’m afraid, I’m around 6 hours ahead of You🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

