To work overtime is to die a little.

Moon rise.

Moon rise.

Even I have moments of weakness and one of those moment occured on Tuesday afternoon when I promised to work overtime yesterday evening. I think they were as surprised as I was when I said I could work, that almost never happens🙂🙂 I really didn’t want to but what harm can a few hours do and I wanted a couple of hours in my time bank for those days when the holiday comes on a Thursday and I really don’t want to work on the Friday after🙂

 

Something strange happened and two photographs are now gone, so I've replaced them with two from this weekend instead :-)

Something strange happened and two photographs are now gone, so I’ve replaced them with two from last weekend instead🙂

DSC_0023 (800x531)

 

Unfortunately three unexperienced people worked together with me and they did try their best. It sounds easy, to hang material on the line ( a chain that runs around the entire department, through the painting box and ovens and washing machines) and pick them off after the oven and check on a list that we send back as many things as we hung up. BUT and it’s a big but, it is anything than easy if You only have done it once or twice before. The things must hang in the right way so I can paint it properly and those lists are almost impossible to understand if one doesn’t know what the things are called🙂🙂🙂

DSC_0054 (800x522)

DSC_0056 (800x532)

In the middle of it all I had to go to the paintbox to clean it and change color so I had to leave them to do as good as they could🙂🙂🙂 They really tried but nothing much happened🙂🙂🙂 and then suddenly my voice became deeper and fever hit🙂🙂🙂 I don’t think I’ll ever work overtime again🙂🙂🙂 But I have to admit that I slept like a dead man all night and the fever was gone this morning🙂

DSC_0057 (800x532)

DSC_0058 (800x532)

So now I’ll enjoy a four day weekend🙂 I don’t know how things work in other parts of the world but here we get fully paid on holidays when they happen on a work day. That’s why I love holidays that are fixed ion special days like the ones at Easter🙂

DSC_0059 (800x530)

DSC_0062 (800x532)

I fed the deers as soon as we had come home from our walk and today something odd happened, six deers started fighting in my garden!!! Rune and Longhorn tried to chase away any doe that came close to the food, that is until Longhorn tried to chase away Doris. You should have seen those two bucks! The fight between them ended when one-eyed Rune chased away Longhorn. But the hinds weren’t much better, they fought each other as well. Everything calmed down when Rune finally got Longhorn out of the garden, he chased him way out on the field outside.

Longhorn and his lady.

Longhorn and his lady.

Rune staring with his one eye on Longhorn. He wasn't happy to see him at all! Unfortunately I missed to photograph when they both stood on their hind legs threatening each other.

Rune staring with his one eye on Longhorn. He wasn’t happy to see him at all! Unfortunately I missed to photograph when they both stood on their hind legs threatening each other.

The fire is burning in my stove and I think I’ll make lots of cocoa today, I have bought way to much milk🙂 I’ve also bought way to much sour milk and yoghurt🙂 so I might mix that with some frozen berries because I refuse to throw away food just because I’ve bought too much of it and it then goes bad.

But the hinds weren't better at all! First they chased teach other out of the garden only to chase them in again.

But the hinds weren’t better at all! First they chased teach other out of the garden only to chase them in again.

Here it's Lotta running straight in to the side of another doe.

Here it’s Lotta running straight in to the side of another doe.

Have a great day!

DSC_0045 (800x532)

14 thoughts on “To work overtime is to die a little.

  1. Hi Christer,
    Not only are you allergic to snow, you’re allergic to work. It gives you a fever and makes you sleep like the dead.🙂

    Interesting that the deer are fighting. There must not be enough food around for all the deer in the area. This time of year is pretty bare for forage, I would think. Most everything has been eaten and nothing new is growing yet. I wonder if One-eyed Rune is the father of Doris’ impending fawn.

    I spent a couple of hours wandering around in my swamp trying to get ahold of my neighbors’ dog. He’s a Cairn terrier and possessed of the reduced faculty for self-preservation many terriers seem to have. His owners don’t give a rat’s nether end about him and never have. I couldn’t catch him though I was close a couple of times but I’m old and decrepit and not as fast as I used to be.🙂 Finally he headed back to his yard so I gave it up. He’s a cute dog but dumb as dirt.

    Enjoy your long weekend. You deserve it.🙂

    • Hi Caryn!

      So true!!! My life is one long stryúggle fighting battle after battle against my allrgies🙂🙂🙂 I really need to have a word with the factory owner about this🙂🙂🙂

      That must be the reason! Those knowing more than I do says the grass deers eat was gone already in the autumn because of the weather we had then. I like all deers but I’ll make sure that Rune, Doris and Lotta will get what they need first and after that the rest can fight over what’s left. But this food is said to be very nutritious for deers so that they don’t need to eat a lot of it to get what they need.

      You must have had loads of fun trying to catch that terrier🙂🙂 I had a neighbor that had 5 Basenji’s, lovely doga but not trained at all because the neighbor had decided there was just too much African Wild dogs in the brred so they couldn’t be trained🙂🙂🙂 One of her dogs always ran over to my garden and he was almost impossibvle to catch🙂🙂🙂 The only time I managed to do so whas when I lured him in to my cottage, then I could carry him back🙂🙂🙂 We always knew when he was on the run at spring because suddenly loads of cranes flew around screaming in the air🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Maybe you could get 100% Disability for being allergic to work.😀😀😀

        This terrier was immune to being lured. I tried using my dog. They played together very happily but if I came close the silly thing would run off. I tried using pieces of the turkey meat loaf I made the other day. It wasn’t the best tasting thing I’ve ever done but it was really not necessary to run away from it.🙂🙂🙂

      • Hi Caryn!

        I think I’ll try that one🙂🙂🙂 After all I can’t go around being sick all the time🙂🙂🙂

        Some dogs, especially terriers are just impossible that way, but all my dogs can easily bebribed with anything that even remotely looks like food🙂🙂🙂 They would have loved Your meatloaf🙂🙂

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

    • Hi Laurie!

      Spring isn’t Roe deer bucks season to fight about the hinds, that’s sometime in autumn or late summer. So I think Caryn is right, there’s no food left out there any longer and there will be no new grass until spring arrives.

      I’m too old for overtime now days🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. I understand completely. I worked Sunday morning all by myself and the kennel was full and I was so busy. I kept thinking how it would end up creating over-time for me but now, with one more day to go, I think I might leave work early as soon a my niece comes to work so that I can get a start on my weekend. (and because Easter is on a Sunday, we don’t get paid for it unless we actually work on that Sunday. BUT whoever works Sunday gets double time…I’m letting the young girls work because they want the money…and I’m just too old and tired🙂🙂🙂 ).

    • Hi Cindi!

      Time goes fast though🙂🙂🙂
      I can fully understanf how You’re thinking, sometimes the overtime isn’t worth it, but double time isn’t bad🙂 But I’m old and tired too so I wouldn’t work on Sunday🙂🙂🙂

      Easter really starts on Thursday here, that’ when all witches fly to Blåkulla to have a party with the devil🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Det finns faktiskt en del fördelar med att bli äldre (för “gammal” är man ju inte) och en av dom bästa är att man inte längre behöver jobba. Fast gubben min gör lite förgasar- och fördelarjobb till “roliga” veteranbilar och gamla behövande kunder till och från ibland. Och så mellan det så “jobbar” han både dag och kväll med sin hobby, den senaste gamla traktorn. Han måste ha nått att göra säger han!
    Själv har jag inga problem att få tiden att gå, jag har fullt upp med mina intressen; trädgård och kartor och planering och…..För det är precis så som folk brukar säga, pension´ärer är dom som är mest upptagna av alla! Förmodligen för att det räcker med 2-3 saker för att man ska bli stressad….. *fniss*

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Jag ser verkligen fram emot pensioneringen men det är minst 18 år kvar tills dess🙂🙂
      Men att jobba med en hobby är ju inte jobba direkt, då har man ju kul hela tiden🙂🙂🙂

      Ha en trevlig påsk!
      Christer.

  4. Sorry to see all the deer fighting each other for the food. At least you are trying to do your best at making sure they have some healthy food to eat!

    Glad I’m retired so I don’t have to worry about overtime!

    • Hi Jim!

      It is sad but there are more people feeding them but perhaps they like this food better?

      I do long for retirement but I still have around 19 years left🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

