Not a day with lots of activities.

DSC_0001 (800x535)

 

Even though the sun didn’t show especially much today it still became one of the warmest days so far, 8,8 C (47,4 F). The wind is back but it isn’t especially strong and it is sort of warm too. This is the kind of weather that brings us cranes to the lake. I heard one of the nesting ones this morning but it stood behind a large grove of trees so I couldn’t see it. I’ll have plenty of photographs of cranes later on but it’s always fun to get the first one for the year. But there’s a risk that they won’t stay for especially long now when spring is a bit late, last year we had 27 000 here at the same time🙂🙂🙂

 

DSC_0003 (800x536)

DSC_0004 (536x800)

DSC_0008 (800x536)

 

Today has been one of those days when I’ve done very little besides taking walks with my dogs and napping for way too long🙂 I have however planted some paprika seeds and cuttings from the two tomato plants I’ve saved through winter. There isn’t any good reason to save tomato plants really, seeds and even plants are very cheap to be honest. The only reason I can think of is that the tomatoes one got the year before were very tasty and no one knows the variety name. But I like trying things so why not🙂 Besides, tomato cuttings is fool-proof, I don’t think anyone can fail with those🙂

 

DSC_0010 (800x536)

DSC_0014 (800x535)

DSC_0019 (800x535)

 

I was planning on making all the twigs and branches from the apple tree to wood chips this spring but I have to rethink that now, it looks like lots of small birds are building nests in there so that will have to wait till autumn arrives🙂 But the twigs fropm the lilacs that I have on the front side of the house is nest free, the dogs and cats walk there too often I think, so those can be chipped already tomorrow is weather permits. I need new chips around the pond, the deers have kicked away most of what was on the small bump🙂 (well hill is just a too big word for that pile of soil🙂🙂🙂  ).

 

DSC_0018 (800x536)

DSC_0020 (800x536)

DSC_0021 (800x536)

 

It’s time to make something to eat and perhaps some cocoa today, Merlin is just about to start on tv. Otherwise I don’t think anything is worth watching on any channel today🙂

 

DSC_0025 (800x536)

Longhorn I think.

Longhorn I think.

DSC_0032 (800x536)

 

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0055 (800x536)

DSC_0056 (800x536)

DSC_0045 (800x535)

 

10 thoughts on “Not a day with lots of activities.

    • Hi Dee!

      This is Teodor and he is a pain to have on our walks🙂 He shouts from the second we leave the cottage all the way home🙂 He’s a nice cat otherwise though🙂 Bertil is perfect to have on our walks but a nasty piece of work otherwise🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  1. Nu börjar jag att återhämta mig från influensan, en fruktansvärt jobbig vecka har det varit men nu känner jag att jag är på väg tillbaka:) Så härligt att tranorna nu verkligen kommer, började nästan tro att våren kommit bort:) Så fint av dig att tänka på fåglarnas bobyggande! Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!

      Tror att jag klarat mig från influensan, men är ganska säker på att jag har en förkylning igen. Det spänner i lungorna och jag är trött hela tiden (snorig dessutom förstås🙂 ).

      Inte skam skulle jag kunna riskera att förstöra fågelbon, det hade inte blivit någon nattsömn efter det kan jag säga🙂

      Ha det gott och krya på dig!
      Christer.

  2. hi christer! that is too funny about bertil and teodor. maybe they are dog confused! it is warm and sunny here today. i am about to go out and do some garden work. rain is supposed to be on the way and i am hoping we get it. my gardens need it. i am planting onions today. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      Thos two are like night and day even if they are brothers.

      The only garden work I’ve done today and will do until the ground frost is gone is to clean up after my dogs🙂🙂 Well I could of course clean up more after the cut down plum tree of course🙂

      No need for rain here for the comming two or three years🙂🙂🙂
      I’ll plant onions too this year, long time since I did that and I wonder why because they are usually problem free.

      Have a great day in the garden!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    What spooked Teodor? He reminds me of Rocky when a branch snaps back and bops him in the butt. He whips around looking for the perpetrator.
    Yes, someone can fail with tomato cuttings. I have no trouble at all failing with tomato cuttings. About the only cuttings I haven’t killed are pothos cuttings stuck in water. I’ve only mostly killed those.🙂
    Finally something growing in my yard has put forth a flower. There is one chionodoxa peeking out on the front lawn. I expect the woodchuck will eat it sometime soon. But I have pictures so it did happen.🙂 It just occurred to me that there are no dandelions. Give a dandelion a couple of warmish sunny days in January and they’re blooming all over. But there are none here yet. Very strange.
    It’s sunny and cool here today. If the wind were less, it would be lovely.
    Enjoy the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Three playing dogs is what spoke him🙂🙂🙂 They almost ran over him sekonds before that photo was taken🙂

      I thought that was impossible🙂 The only thing tomato cuttings need is weat soil, roots will grow on every part of the stem beneath the soil surface🙂

      I saw some Scilla sibirica flowering in the village Kvänum the other day but that’s it. They will show in my garden as soon as spring has sprung though, the few chiodonoxa’s I have will come a while after that. I guess itä’s too cold at night even for dandelions, so far I haven’t even seen any leafs here. My dogs will be happy when they show up, they love eating them🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Christer,
    This was the same sort of day for me, I have been having back problems so I’m in a do something do nothing routine of days. Tomorrow is filled with errands so today was nothing. TV was horrible here too today: even SyFy let me down. I ended up with Skyfall on pay for view.

    The weather was chilly but sunny all day. More and more of my bulbs are appearing. I can see all the hyacinths, and the day lilies are getting higher. Now I want just one day in the 60’s. That’s not asking for much!!

    • Hi Kat!

      I ended up watching two Simpson’s reruns and then I went to bed🙂 It must have been a bad day if not even Syfy channel was there for You🙂

      Still too cold during nights for anything else than the snowdrops here, not even dandelions show yet🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

