Finally they start arriving.

DSC_0015 (529x800)

It was less cold during the night than it has been lately, unfortunately it’s less warm during the day that it has been lately too. But the sun is shining and the places where the biting cold wind doesn’t reach itr’s actually quite nice.

 

DSC_0003 (800x523)

DSC_0004 (800x532)

DSC_0007 (800x520)

I heard the first cranes flying above my cottage before we went out on our walk  this morning, I couldn’t see any but heard them clearly. I was thinking it was just typical, missing the chance to take some photographs of cranes for the first time this year when they were so close.  We had come to the other side of the village when flocks cranes filled the air🙂

 

DSC_0009 (800x531)

DSC_0010 (800x531)

DSC_0023 (800x532)

Several flocks of cranes were flying towards the lake when suddenly they all broke up in smaller groups and many of them were landing in the fields around me. Two even landed in a pasture just beside where I was walking. They didn’t seem happy to see me though so they flew away towards the bog after just a few minutes. They are finally here and spring is most likely around the corner.

 

DSC_0018

DSC_0026 (800x531)

DSC_0030 (800x533)

It doesn’t feel like that today though due to the cold wind. I will of course take some walks with my dogs but besides that I will stay indoors most of the time. I’ll have plenty of time to make wood chips from the lilacs later on anyway.

 

DSC_0037 (800x509)

DSC_0046 (800x531)

DSC_0047 (800x532)

 

I’ve started a fire in the stove and I’ll make something to eat later on, perhaps pancakes🙂 No matter how beautiful the day looks it’s still not spring quite yet .

 

DSC_0005 (800x531)

DSC_0009 (800x532)

DSC_0010 (494x800)

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0012 (800x531)

12 thoughts on “Finally they start arriving.

  1. Hi Christer,
    Cranes at last! Spring has arrived. Sort of.🙂
    It’s nice that they thought of you and showed up where you could get some photos.
    I finally have a flower blooming in my yard. Just the one, though. The bunny hasn’t eaten it yet.
    I checked around and saw some aquilegia leaves poking up at the base of last year’s stalk and there are some peony shoots peeking out of the ground. Perhaps there are some Star of Bethlehem leaves sticking up here and there, too. No flowers yet.
    Nova has lovely light brown eyes.
    It’s cloudy here, 50ºF and no wind so it seems warm. My task of the day is either to chop ailanthus out of the quince bush or do laundry and feed the birds. Tomorrow might be a better day to get all scratched up so maybe I will just do laundry and bird feeding.🙂
    Enjoy the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes, sort of and that’s not bad🙂
      They must have seen me flying down but still they really didn’t like me being there🙂

      No flowers here yet, not even aquilegia leafs and they are usually very early. They say spring will arrive next week, strange I think they said it would arrive this week some weeks ago🙂🙂🙂 and with it bad weather, well they still keep on saying that🙂

      I wouldn’t chose the quince today, after all it is Sunday so I wouldn’t do the laundry either🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Some of the laundry is in the drier, some is in the washer. It will stay there until tomorrow. I fed the birds. I only did the bird feeders because I saw new species of birds out there yesterday and today. The flicker was there but he’s been around the neighborhood anyway. I also had redwing blackbirds yesterday and they haven’t been around for years. Today I have a couple of unidentified sparrows. Possibly Fox sparrows but I’m not sure.
        Oh, and I cooked.
        The vicious roses are leafing out, blast them. They’ve already snagged me. :p

      • Hi Caryn!

        I’ve seen bullfinches here now so times must be tough for them in the forest now. They usually never show unless there’s lots of snow. I saw a chaffinch too and they usually never stay here during winter🙂

        Most of those small birds look very much the same I think🙂 But the Fox sparrow was very beautiful!

        The roses stay calm here so far but soon they’ll start scratching me again🙂

        Christer.

  2. Nä det är verkligen inte vår ännu, det är iskallt i vinden:( Fast idag har vi fått ut alla backar med övervintrade perenner från stallet och det är ett vårtecken som heter duga;) Så härligt att tranorna kommer nu!! De säger att våren kommer nästa helg och det får vi väl verkligen hoppas:) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!

      Vinden var riktigt otrevlig idag och det är alldeles för tidigt att ta ut något här. Nätterna är alldeles för kalla än.

      Med våren kommer dåligt väder säger de, fast jag får väl ta det denna gången🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christ, nice to see the cranes again and the snow disappearing. Nice to see the dogs running out and not in the snow covered woods.not ,any flowers blooming in our yard, except for all the invasive lawn wildflowers, which are colorful, but it means the lawn will need cutting very soon to control them a little.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      It is a nice time now, even though it’s nasty cold at nights.

      There’s no need to mow the lawn for weeks yet here🙂 and not even dandelions show yet but still it feels very much like spring is just around the corrner now🙂
      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Christer,
    I caught up with all your pictures today and they were great, as usual. I love that the cranes have returned. If your spring is so close so too must be mine. I was visiting a friend tonight, and I introduced her to you, your dogs, your cats and your pictures. I felt like a tour guide as I explained the pictures. She loved all of them, especially the fun pictures of the dogs playing and the ones of the calves. We both wondered where the white one had come from.

    Your moon pictures were extraordinary, and I loved the close-up of the birds, some of which we recognized while others were strangers to us.

    My day lilies are high enough you can see their stalks from the street and many of the hyacinths are already in color though not completely up yet.

    It was a cold day today though!

    • Hi Kat!

      I’m glad You like my photographs🙂

      I too wonder where the white comes from, until now I’ve only seen brown ones and the occasional black, but never white ones. I guess it will be very beautiful as adult.

      Those moon photo’s are actually very easy to take, just adjust the camera to iso 100 point towards the moon and try with 1/200th part of a second and You have it. A tele-photo lens helps but isn’t necessary.

      Not even dandelions show here yet🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Äntligen! Ett riktigt vårtecken – och vi såg och hörde en lärka igår, så den är nog på gång… Vi har också blivit “förvarnade” om att på fredag ska det bli +11 grader på dagen och + 4 på natten.🙂
    Det senare låter som rena drömmen!🙂🙂 Inatt var det -5 och jag glömde plåtkrukan med 2 prydnasgräs och 2 röda bellis ute. Visserligen på väggen och bellis tål ju en hel del, men det ena (snyggaste naturligtvis) gräset såg väldigt medtaget ut. Men…nu tänker jag sluta att bära in krukan till natten, klarar den inte kylan fram till helgen så får jag väl sätta något annat! Jag orkar inte med den här kylan längre!!

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Lärkan kom för nästan en vecka sedan här, men de är få än så länge. Jag tror inte vi får det så varmt som ni, vare sig på dagen eller natten men plusgrader skall vi i alla fall få dygnet om🙂

      Du kan ju alltid lägga något över krukorna, själv tröttnar jag rätt fort på att bära in och ut krukor🙂🙂 Kylan på natten gör mig faktiskt inte så mycket om vi bara har det hyfsat varmt på dagen.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

