An expensive start to the year.

 

DSC_0005 (800x535)

 

This spring has been a bit expensive so far, first the car repairs, then new winter tires and today new summer tires.  But to be honest, it wouldn’t have been cheaper if I had bought a new car🙂 Well I could have gotten new tires if I had bargained good🙂 I needed new tires because it’s not allowed to drive with winter tires after April 15th unless it’s winter weather. The problem is that it’s the individual police officer that decides what winter weather really is, so one police can say that it is winter weather while another can say that it’s not.

 

DSC_0007 (800x536)

DSC_0008 (800x536)

DSC_0011 (800x536)

 

I don’t know how fast time passed yesterday, I did a few errands and suddenly it was almost night. I did however have time to make a pie🙂 I made a mixed one with apples, mango’s raspberries and persimmon’s in it. The persimmons were a miss though, they tasted strange and the consistence got a bit weird🙂 But anything goes down with a nice custard🙂 This morning I realised that I had no bread at home, so I had the left overs from the pie as breakfast🙂🙂🙂

 

DSC_0012 (800x536)

DSC_0014 (536x800)

DSC_0015 (536x800)

 

I fetched my car after work and was supposed to go to the store to buy some bread but my mind had other things to think of, like how silent the car became with summer tires and how easy it was to drive way to fast when the car was that silent🙂 So I still have no bread at home🙂 But I have some scones in the oven right now so I can have something this evening and tomorrow at breakfast because I’m out of pie now🙂

 

DSC_0017 (800x536)

DSC_0021 (800x536)

DSC_0023 (800x536)

 

I think yesterday was the last time I had to buy deer food this winter, if the predictions are right we’ll have spring next week and I can see more and more green straws of grass now, not enough to help the deers especially much but as soon as it starts to grow it’ll grow fast.  They haven’t even shown up here by my garden yet and normally there would be five or more eating here by now. I guess they feel safer out in the forest than here where lots of people now will be outside longer and longer every day. But they will be back next autumn, they know where the food is🙂

 

DSC_0044 (800x536)

DSC_0045 (800x525)

DSC_0041 (800x535)

 

It smells nice from the oven so it’s time to stop for today🙂

Have a great day!

8 thoughts on “An expensive start to the year.

  1. that pie did not last long! it is like summer here now. of course i hate it. it went from winter to summer without spring! they say we might get rain tonight and we sure need it already!

    • Hi Joyce!

      I had hoped to save some for the weekend but it was quite nice as a breakfast too🙂 But I don’t think I’ll have it too often that early in the mornings though🙂

      Wasn’t it the same last year? Winter and then summer directly after? I guess You can count on a long and hot summer this year too, I would love it but I know You don’t so I hope it will cool down some soon!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Pie for breakfast is great. I think it is an old New England tradition to have fruit pie as part of breakfast. They didn’t even put it on a separate plate but loaded it on with all the other breakfast food.

    My spring has been expensive and for the same reason as yours. The jeep was in the shop all day yesterday. New brakes on the rear and a new radiator. There’s something wrong with a piece that goes on the front axle so that had to be sent out to someone to fix. It’s not back yet but at least I can drive the car unless I need 4 wheel drive. I still have to get new tires and there’s something wrong with one of the cylinders. $$$$$😦 This is real estate tax month, too. More $$$$$.

    I hope Doris brings her new fawn out to show you at some point before next winter and that you get to take a picture of it. I also hope the hunters leave all of them alone this year. Even Longhorn, pushy bully that he is.

    Enjoy the scones and the rest of the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      It was quite nice, especially the custard🙂🙂🙂 But I don’t think I’ll have it especially often that early in the morning🙂 But if I will have it on a separate plate🙂

      If one calculated how much a car really cost one would realise that one can’t afford it🙂🙂🙂
      We don’t pay real estate taxes separately, they just calculate how much it will be and add it too the rest of the taxes. I’ll do my income tax this week and I’ll get money back, not much but still🙂

      It would be fun if she let me see her fawn, butbthey are usually very strict and hides them well. But many get lost to the foxes so she might stay close because I doubt the fox will come close when there’s a risk of meeting dogs here. I doubt the hunters will leave any deer alone, so I’ll start feeding them early next autumn🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Laurie!

      It was rather tasty🙂

      No deer in my garden yet and now it’s dark outside! I’ll check tomorrow morning if they have been here during the night.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Christer,
    My dad was an apple pie man and he always ate it with a piece of cheddar cheese, a New England tradition. I’d eat pie for breakfast if I had any, especially fruit pie. I love the pictures of the dogs playing. They look so fierce together. When Gracie plays with her friend Cody I hear all the growls but they’re having fun.

    It is cold right now, really cold. We may even have sleet tomorrow. The weather is just so weird.

    Have a wonderful tomorrow!

    • Hi Kat!

      I love pie and I lpove cheese but I can’t ssee them together🙂 But now I must try it🙂

      It does look as if they arev fighting, doesn’t it🙂 Not knowing and just seeing the photographs one could think it was a dog fight🙂

      Damp and cold here today, it will take hours for the stove to make my cottage feel nice I’m afraid.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

