Finally!

Jackdaw, my favorite bird. Very intelligent and fun.

Jackdaw, my favorite bird. Very intelligent and fun.

 

This has been a wonderful spring day🙂 Even though the sun never managed to peek through the clouds we have had, it still felt like we had sunshine all day because the clouds were so thin that they just couldn’t keep this life-giving light away from us. The temperature rose as high as 14c (57,2F) and it was a no jacket day. I only wore an old fleece sweater that’s so thin now days that it really doesn’t keep any cold away🙂

 

DSC_0020 (800x532)

DSC_0022 (800x531)

DSC_0023 (800x532)

DSC_0024 (800x531)

It sounded like all neighbors were out doing some kind of work today, I could hear someone use a hammer and someone else used some kind of saw. My neighbor that took down two spruces just a few weeks ago tried to split the logs in smaller parts, he’s already talking about buying a log splitter. These two spruces are the only fire wood he has though🙂

 

DSC_0025 (800x532)

DSC_0026 (800x527)

DSC_0029 (800x513)

DSC_0034 (800x532)

I worked some too, I brought my chopper and started to chip wood chips from all the branches that were laying on the ground by the entrance. I had two piles there and it didn’t look like much but still I got over 150 liters (317 US pints) from it. I still have that huge pile of twigs and branches by the apple tree but I think there’s already at least one birds nest in there so I won’t touch that pile until autumn arrives. The deers will most likely come back next autumn so that I’ll have plenty of wood chips to pour out on those spots where the deers kick the old ones away.

 

DSC_0035 (800x527)

DSC_0037 (800x532)

DSC_0041 (800x518)

DSC_0054 (800x531)

The ice on the pond is melting fast but the pipes to the pump and filter are still frozen, I would have liked to start the pump today so if the cold and snow would return, which it most likely will, we’re only in April yet, the pond wouldn’t freeze too bad. I wonder if any frogs will return to the pond this spring, I saved all those frog eggs last spring from the ditches that would be dug up. I hope they see my pond as their original home and that they will return to lay eggs in it this year. I guess they lay eggs already when they’re one year old.

 

DSC_0001 (800x532)

DSC_0003 (800x532)

DSC_0004 (800x521)

DSC_0007 (800x533)

It’s time to enjoy the last of the warm day now, one never knows when it will happen again🙂

 

DSC_0011 (532x800)

DSC_0016 (800x531)

DSC_0017 (800x532)

DSC_0019 (800x532)

Have a great day!

14 thoughts on “Finally!

  1. Hi Christer,
    Well, it certainly looks from your photos that every critter was out and about today. It even looks like there’s a bear coming out of the old root cellar or whatever that structure is.🙂 The other mystery shape is the thing in the photo above the shaggy ponies at the feeder. Is it a grouse or a chicken or something entirely different?
    Today is sort of cloudy. The sun peeks through now and then but without any enthusiasm for the idea. I think it is having a slappardag.🙂 It’s not that warm, either, only about 50ºF.
    I’m still having itchy credit card finger so it’s probably not a good idea to stray too far from home. I did find another 55 to 300mm zoom lens that is good quality and less money but still not less enough for me to buy this month. I must be strong and resist all temptation.🙂
    Enjoy the rest of the evening. Is Star Wars marathon still on?

    • Hi Caryn!

      I did wonder what kind of animal was standing there by the root cellar🙂🙂🙂 and it is a chicken You see in that photo🙂

      I would like a tele-photo lens to my D 3000, so I get auto focus on that one too, but this month isn’t the one I’ll be able to afford that🙂 But I do keep my eyes on the pawn shop’s auction site every day just in case🙂🙂

      Yes the Star Wars marathon is still on but not for me, I wouldn’t be able to get up tomorrow morning if I sated up until midnight tonight. I get up at 4:30 on work days🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. hi christer! it does look like you have some spring! i am so happy for you. it is still a bit chilly here but will warm up a lot for the next few days. we still need more rain but things are popping up everywhere. enjoy your good weather! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      I think it feels more like spring than it looks like it yet🙂 But I have seen green grass on the fields now🙂

      We’ll get rain tomorrow but I’ll take that since we’ll have it fairly warm🙂
      Nice to see that You still have rhubarbs🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Christer,
    I loved yesterday’s fog. Living near the ocean, I see fog over the river in the mornings, and I always stop to look. I remember being on the flats when the fog was so thick we went right back to the beach out of fear of getting lost.

    The ground still looks wintery: brown and stark, but the running water is a hint of how warm in comparison it has been.

    The red barn is a favorite of mine!!

    • Hi Kat!

      I do like fog too🙂 Just as long as I don’t have to drive in fog at night.

      Yes it still looks very little like spring but it feels like it very much🙂

      My favorite is the red little shed.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. beautiful spring photos. I really like moss and the stump photos. my husband kept our log splitter, we put many hours work in with that time saver!!

    • Hi Laurie!

      It doesn’t look very much like spring but it sure feels like it in the air🙂

      My neighbor will never have especially much firewood and it would be stupid to buy a wood splinter just for those spruces🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer..
    Your photography just gets better and better. True country where you live. Soon the leaves will fill in the forest again..
    By the way..what does the M on the sign along side the road mean?? It took me a moment or two to know it was a rabbit I was looking at in the forth photo.
    I LOVE that photo of Bertil. Seems to be saying…”out of my way! Don’t mess with me today!” He is the neatest cat!!
    Mona
    P.s ..Thank you for your support during this difficult time..your comment was so sweet.

    • Hi Mona!

      Thank You🙂 I guess it will take a couple of weeks until the leafs starts to grow though.

      The M means mötesplats, meeting place. Every now and again they have these small pockets where one car fits id another car comes from the opposite direction, even in a village like this🙂 I’m pretty sure You have them too but call them something else.

      Bertil is just showing his true self there🙂

      They say time heals all wounds but I think that we just get used to the pain instead. I hope all is well with You!

      Christer.

Leave a Reply

