Those damned hares!

DSC_0001 (800x531)

16C (almost 61F) today and I’m not complaining🙂 But I have to admit that it is a bit hard to adjust to the new  temperature, one week wintry cold the next spring warm. Well to be honest it is at work I feel it the most because it gets hot there when we get warm outside, the paint box is placed just beside the big oven🙂

DSC_0010 (800x533)

I don't know if it is something genetic or something with the soil but many spruces here are more or less yellow.

I don’t know if it is something genetic or something with the soil but many spruces here are more or less yellow.

DSC_0012 (800x532)

I had to yell at Nova today, something I rarely do. But we were on our way home from the walk when we suddenly saw two cranes just in front of us, I was just about to take a photograph when a hare suddenly ran across the road. I barely saw it and wasn’t prepared at all when Nova suddenly yanked the leash really hard trying to run after the hare. I’ve tried all I know except yelling at her when trying to catch a hare so this time I did.

DSC_0013 (800x532)

DSC_0014 (800x531)

A piece of the ground have slipped down into the creek.

A piece of the ground have slipped down into the creek.

I missed the cranes, they are surprisingly fast when scared🙂 and that’s nothing to get angry about but my rheumatism does its best on my hands and back at the moment and it hurt rather bad when she tried to run away. She just looked at me with contempt when I was finished🙂 I have no idea if this helped or not to be honest🙂

 

DSC_0016 (532x800)

DSC_0017 (800x532)

DSC_0020 (800x531)

 

It’s time to make myself something to eat, all the others have already gotten theirs. I have a fire burning in the stove even if it isn’t necessary, I think it will be warm enough anyway during the night, but it might keep any dampness from entering my cottage.

 

DSC_0021 (800x532)

DSC_0029 (513x800)

Nova is the most wonderful dog there is, as long as she doesn't see any hares :-) I leashed her after taking this photograph and then the hare came running.

Nova is the most wonderful dog there is, as long as she doesn’t see any hares🙂 I leashed her after taking this photograph and then the hare came running.

Have a great day!

 

Buds on my Ussurian Red berried elderberry bush.

Buds on my Ussurian Red berried elderberry bush.

12 thoughts on “Those damned hares!

  1. Hi Christer,
    I sympathize with your pain. I have carpal tunnel and arthritis in my right hand and it’s acting up right now. Sometimes Rocky will pull hard on the leash. He only weighs 17 pounds but it really hurts when that 17 pounds hits the end of the leash at a dead run. He’s pulled me off some camera shots, too.🙂
    The weather is nice but a little cloudy and cool here today. It’s sort of uninspiring, though. Not really nice enough to entice me outside for very long.
    Enjoy the rest of the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Carpal tunnel is no fun at all. I have had two surgeries on my right hand because of that. Nova is strong and weighs around 50 pond so she managed to give me quite a lot of pain. But she seems to have forgiven me for yelling at her🙂🙂🙂

      Strange weather here today, cloudy and sometimes rainy but warm. I was outdoors during the day and it almost felt like we were going to have a thunder storm. It will cool down some later in week and we’ll get below 32F temperatures during nights again’

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. haha…try yelling at teddy. it is like spitting in the wind. she acts like she does not even hear you! you are finally getting your good weather. i am glued to the TV watching this awful scene in boston. is there any safe place left in this country?

    • Hi Joyce!🙂 She’s a lady that stands above criticism🙂

      Yes it’s so nice to have spring weather but it will cool down conciderable next week. But I’m happy that we actually got spring this year🙂

      I didn’t know about the bombs until I read Your comment early this morning! I just can’t understand people that think it’s a good idea to kill a lot of people?! I feel so sorry for those injured, killed and their families!

      Christer.

  3. Vilken tur att Nova var kopplad när haren kom! För det är inte kul när hundar bara drar iväg, trots att man gör allt för att dom ska lyda ens tillsägelser!!😦
    Härom dagen – förresten i torsdags – så kom vi hem från ett besök i Visby, parkerade bilarna (vi hade båda dit för Kian skulle det bytas vindruta på efter ett stort stenskott) och tog ut Santos ur bilen och började gå mot grinden till innertomten. Då stannade han och blev stel som en pinne. Och innan någon av oss hann stoppa honom så sprang han
    vrålskällandes ut på vägen och iväg mot en karl som kom cyklandes. Gubben stannade och stod still och Santos stod 5 meter ifrån och skällde. Rolle rusade ut på vägen, bad om ursäkt och sa till Santos att gå hem – vilket han gjorde – och precis då kom det en bil i 70/80. Kunde ha blivit en katastrof…..:-(😦😦

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Hon är ju varken smart eller snabb nog att jaga harar, så hon kommer alltid tillbaka inom ett par minuter. Men visst är det skönt att hon var kopplad, annars är det alltid fel person som ser när det händer🙂

      Tack och lov har vi ju ingen trafik på våra grusvägar här, jag kan verkligen förstå hur det kändes när Santos drog iväg så! Ibland skall man bara ha sådan tur som ni hade, den bilen hade ju aldrig hunnit stanna i tid! Skönt att det gick bra i alla fall!

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  4. We walk our dog every day but we live in town. She is so well behaved but we walk her on a leash because a cat or a squirrel is just too big a temptation. I love your pictures and your posts.

    • Hi Dee!

      My dogs behaved much better when I lived in the city, but as soon as I moved out to the countryside they just didn’t care any more🙂🙂🙂 Nova just can’t see a hare, she just hates them. Squirrels are the only animals all my dogs sort of gets insane when seeing🙂 but a squirrel usually staysb in the tree so it’s easy to bring back my dogs🙂
      I’m glad You like it here🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hello Christer –
    Sorry to hear Nova decided to take you along on her chase after the hare. Your lucky you did not end up in a puddle of mud on your backside since you were not expecting her to take off. You must have good reaction time despite the rheumatism.
    I agree about the adjustment to rapid temp. changes. We usually run about 48-50 degrees daytime temp this time of year. A couple of days before Easter we were at 42 with snow in the foothills and the day before Easter it was 55 when I got up at 7 AM and a high of 78 all weekend. With no time to acclimate, it felt like 90 degrees and made me think if I feel this hot at 78 what will I do when the really hot days of 102 come in Summer. I love the long hours of light Summer gives us, but I hate it when the temp goes above 72.
    I was thinking that your yellow soil must either be moldy/mildewed from months of darkness & moisture or maybe there is lichen growing on it.
    How do you stand working in the paint box in the Summer right next to the fire? Do they put any fans in the building for ventilation? Sounds like torture.
    I stopped watching TV after hours of nothing, but the awful bombing in Boston. An 8 yr. old boy was one of the ones that died immediately. I hope they catch the evil person who did this. We have been so fortunate to have stopped all the other terrorist plots since 9/11. I think it is a toss up as to whether this was a crazy American nut or a foreigner. I guess they are looking fir a foreign student here on Visa, but I wait until they have something credible to report.?
    I have been spending time trying to see what Countries I might be able to immigrate to. With all the gun nuts here and now the bombing, I am beginning to be afraid of so many of my fellow American having houses, cars & themselves loaded with automatic & semiautomatic guns demanding that it is their Constitutional right to protect themselves. I guess I have no right to be protected from them, so I have been researching possible Countries where I can get a visa. I would love to move to Nova Scotia, but you have to have a job skill that they cannot supply themselves so that won’t work. Guess I best start to learn Spanish because Costa Rica is the place most recommended for Americans. It is affordable and most people speak English. I will have to live in the dark jungle because I am so fair skinned I would be perpetually sunburned. Have you ever lived outside Sweden? If you had to relocate anywhere in the World, where would you go?
    Watch out for hares and I hope you don’t have a nightmare with a giant hare chasing you while Nova drags you through the forest caught up on her leash. Now that would be a funny dream. Nova is probably dreaming about that tonight after being yelled at.

    • Hi Ellen!

      We have trained so much and for a second or two I thought we had managed to make her forget about hares🙂 It’s the only animal (besides squirrels of course) that she really must chase and I guess kill. She’s not fast enough or smart enough though🙂
      I held the leash in the same hand I held the camera, I didn’t have a chance tor eact at all to be honest🙂🙂🙂

      You would love our summers, we rarely get it much warmer than around 72F🙂 We usually get the occasional week with perhaps up to 85F but it’s been rare these last summers. Lots of rain too though, usually when we all are on vacation🙂

      Much of our soil is actually rusty brownish-red. We have lots of iron in the ground and even creeks can have rusty water. But I’m not sure if that has anything to do with our spruces. Yellow and green spruces can grow side by side so my guess is that it’s genetic.

      Strangely enough one gets used to those high temperatures by the paint box. It’s powder paint so the box is open so we can’t have a fan there, the risk of getting dirt in to the paint is too big. We also have a huge washing mashine that gives away a lot of heat so it’s not just warm, it’s damp too🙂 We do drink a lot of water and sometimes energy drinks so we don’t loose to much salt during the day.

      I’ve been checking the news all day to see if they have caught someone for this terrible crime in Boston! I just can’t understand how anyone can think doing something like this would be a good thing or help them in their cause??!! I do hope they’ll catch who ever did this fast!

      It’s a bit funny because I was thinking when painting where I would move if I wouldn’t live here and the place I came up with was Costa Rica🙂🙂🙂 I was thinking about Brazil too since I know a few people there via Facebook but I just can’t live in a big city because I get so stressed and I think Costa Rica is a more peaceful country.

      We all slept like babies all night🙂

      Have a grat day!
      Christer.

  6. Hope that you have recovered from pulling Nova’s leash. You said she has forgiven you, but she was in the wrong and not you, Christer. Hard to take photos and mind pets at the same time some days. Your temp warm up seems more gradual than our own which went right to summer like last week, but now is cooler. Like other commenters Inhave been reading and hearing news accounts of the Boston bombings. It is a good thing we do nt have any TV service at home because the media coverage gets overwhelming. And I too hope the person or persons responsible are quickly apprehended for these senseless deaths and mailings.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      A bit sore in my wrist but nothing worse. Nova just can’t see that chasing hares is something wrong. They are evil and must die, that’s it🙂 So yes she have forgiven me🙂 I just wasn’t prepared for a hare running around amongst cranes🙂🙂🙂

      Even warmer today but this will only last for a few more days, then it will cool down conciderable they say. But I’m happy that spring actually arrived now and not in May as they said at first🙂

      I’ve been checking the news all day about this bombing, I just can’t understand how anyone can think it’s a good idea to kill and injure so many people!!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

