Finally its calm again.

DSC_0001 (527x800)

I heard several bangs against my walls all evening and night and went out a couple of times to see what it was that hit but found nothing, it must have been the gusts that were so hard when they hit my cottage. Thankfully the forest protected this place most of the time and when the wind turned slightly everything went calm. I could hear the roar from the wind but almost nothing reached my home.

DSC_0003 (531x800)

One eyed Rune is looking at us from the forest, I think he might have been looking for something to eat in my garden but I stopped feeding them now when green grass is easy to find.

One eyed Rune is looking at us from the forest, I think he might have been looking for something to eat in my garden but I stopped feeding them now when green grass is easy to find.

This is not one of my deers, it started running as soon as it saw us even if we were far away from it.

This is not one of my deers, it started running as soon as it saw us even if we were far away from it.

It has continued to blow all day but now finally its calm again, I don’t mind a good storm as long as it doesn’t disturb my night sleep🙂 The birds had started singing again when I came home after work and we were out walking. I could hear the Black Woodpecker sort of screaming in the forest first one and then its partner screaming back. It’s a large woodpecker and its favorite food is the very big Carpenter ant (hästmyra in swedish). The only ant we have that can destroy houses fairly quick if it starts nesting in them. Loves to hollow out both fresh and old tree and I hate it when I see one of those giant ants close to my cottage🙂

DSC_0009 (513x800)

DSC_0012 (800x532)

DSC_0013 (800x532)

I’m tired and it feels like I’ll have an early night tonight. But first I’ll make a pot of tea and something to eat. Perhaps I’ll try ti finish the book The Hobbit, for some reasons I just don’t want to continue reading it. I remember liking the book last time I read it, about twentyfive years ago but no I just think it’s boring🙂

Stone circle hill.

Stone circle hill.

DSC_0016 (800x531)

Bougainvillea in my kitchen.

Bougainvillea in my kitchen.

Have a great day!

12 thoughts on “Finally its calm again.

  1. what beautiful blossoms in your kitchen! You know I tried to read the Hobbit now for a month! I usually gobble books up like a starving wolf but I just can’t get into this one either although many say they loved it, I will continue trying but I fin it very boring. I love to lay in bed at night and listen to the storm, of course I have no job to go too any more, lol, i get up in the night to watch the storm, I love lightening, my parents told me I was flirting with disaster enjoying storms so much and that lightening and wind would be my end!

    • Hi Laurie!

      I like that plant a lot. I remembered my best friends mothar having one when I grew up so I bought this one when I found it. The new hybrids are much easier than the old ones.

      The Hobbit is written for children but I just couldn’t remember that it was soo boring🙂🙂🙂

      I fall asleep like a baby when we’re havinmgh a storm but all those bumps in the night woke me up all the time🙂 I’m soo tired today🙂🙂 I didn’t worry about lightning when I lived in the big city, I used to walk around with my dogs since there were so many things that would attrackt it. Here however I do respect it, it comes out from the telephone jacket every time we have thunder and one time it hit just outside my cottage. I thought I never would be able to hear again🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    The Hobbit is not so good as the Lord of the Rings. It was written as a children’s story so it can get a bit much for adults. I’ve read it 6 times but not in the last 30 years so I expect that I would be skimming an awful lot if I tried it now. The last time I read all 4 books I found myself skipping most of the poetry and songs. Been there , read that, nice stuff but let’s get on with the plot.🙂
    It’s another weird day in a weird week. Whole cities in lock-down. Interstate transportation halted. All kinds of law enforcement doing a house by house search of a large area of one town. My niece’s college, which is very far from the blockaded area, is being evacuated because the younger bomber was registered as a student and was living there. I guess they think there are bombs in his dorm. The bomb squad is going to do a controlled explosion of the older brother’s apartment just in case there are explosives or booby traps in there. The father of the two doesn’t believe anything and threatens all hell will break loose if the surviving boy is killed. The other relatives think they’re getting what they deserve. Weirder and weirder.
    It’s cloudy, windy, a little warm and a little humid here today. Not too bad.
    Enjoy the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I just couldn’t remember how boring it actually is🙂 I always skip the poetry and songs in all those books🙂 I’m not a poetry kind of guy🙂

      I’ve followed the news at work via my mobile phone and now on the news.

      I wouldn’t say a thing to media if it was relatives to me that were suspected of those bombs, I just can’t understand why they do that. Of course a father never believes anything bad about his sons and I guess the uncle never have been a friend of them. I do hope they’ll catch him alive, I really want to know why they did this!

      The wind blows hard again but they say it’s the last breath it has🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Now the speculation is that the kid has managed to get away somehow. Not officially, of course, but the news anchors are making that noise.
    I don’t really care what condition he’s in when they get him as long as they get him. He allegedly bombed a bunch of innocent people. He participated in the assassination of a police officer. He ran over (and probably killed) his own brother with an SUV in order to escape. Doesn’t appear to have much feeling for his fellow human beings.
    As one FBI spokesman said: it won’t matter if they get him alive or dead, they will still find out everything they need to know about the incidents. If he’s dead, we won’t get to listen to any excuses or political rantings he might have. We will, of course, have to listen to the conspiracy wingnuts claim that Obama had the guy snuffed to prevent him talking about how Obama ordered the Marathon bombing in the first place. Insert eye-roll here.🙂

    • Hi Caryn!

      I woke up in the middle of the night and checked what was new and by then they had tracked him to the boat, later on I read that they have captured him alive. I think it might be important to know the motives so they can start working to stop other people thinking in the same way. Otherwise I wouldn’t care what happened to him. I didn’t know that he ran over his own brother though!

      Yes we all know how sneaky Obama is, he must be behind all of this🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. hi christer! thanks for the tree advice. we have been having big winds and rain on and off all day. the temps are falling and we might get some snow early tomorrow. this is the coolest spring we have had in years and i am loving it. i hope it continues. the massive search continues in boston. i have never seen anything like this! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      The night was really cold here but the day has been just wonderful🙂 I hope the tree will grow back reasonable big so it will be harder to look into Your garden.

      This is one of the coolest sprinbgs we’ve had for a long time too and I like it. Normally it passes so quickly that it’s hard to enjoy it.

      I woke up in the middle of the night and read that they had tracked him to a boat and that they got him alive now when I woke up.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Glad your weather has calmed down, Christer. Ours is supposed to get nasty tonight with gusting winds and rain. The winds are blowing now, but no rain so far. We managed to get a lot of yard work down including lawn cutting so the rains will mean more grass will grow (sigh). Nice to see the deer back out in the forest now that the grass is uncovered. I have never been interested in reading the Hobbit or even seeing the film. Enjoy your weekend.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      The night was very calm and very cold but they day is just wonderful🙂 The grass is beginning to grow now but I don’t think I’ll have to mow it for a week or two yet.

      I remember liking the book a lot when I was younger but now I only find it very, very boring🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Christer,
    My bedroom window was open so I could hear the birds singing. It was a lovely way to wake up, but then camde the banging from that nuthatch banging his beak against my house. Come to find out a couple are also doing the same at my neighbor’s. house. I have now come to the point I can ignore the sound and go back to sleep.

    We had clouds, rain and then sun, It got warm by afternoon though it was windy. I have been glued to my Tv much of the day except for one errand. They caught the second terrorist alive. I hope we’ll get some answers now though he is said to be seriously hurt from the gun battle at 1:30 this morning in which his brother was killed.

    I am so glad all of this is over.

    Have a great day tomorrow!!

    • Hi Kat!

      Too early to have any windows open at night yet, but I could hear thousands of cranes anyway this morning🙂
      It’s always nice to reach that point when one really doesn’t care about a sound any longer🙂🙂

      I’ve been following most of this on the web. The swedish web papers only wants to show live repiorts via web tv so I found two Boston newspapers and read those instead. I woke up in the middle of the night and read that they had tracked him to the boat and when I woke up this morning I read that they had caught him.

      I do hope it’s all over now!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

