I would love to be one of them!

DSC_0001 (527x800)

A Dutch company is now searching for four persons that would like to go to Mars, a one way trip. One must be healthy and under forty years old to apply. The journey will take around 19 months and  when they land robots will already have built homes for them. This journey will not take place in at least twenty years but if I was twenty years old now I would apply for the job🙂

 

Sunny and warm but still very windy here today.

Sunny and warm but still very windy here today.

The stones on Stone Circle Hill.

The Portal.

The stones at Stone Circle Hill.

The stones at Stone Circle Hill.

 

I would gladly take that risk of dying either on the way there or even early on after landing, it would be soo cool just to be the first ones to actually live there🙂 I guess my job would be to grow food as soon as we had arrived and others would of course be out there looking for water, of course they will have some with them and naturally they will have some kind of cleaning the already used water but I think a well is a must.

 

DSC_0012 (800x532)

DSC_0013 (800x531)

DSC_0017 (800x532)

Just imagine how it must be at night looking up at the stars! Would we recognize the night sky or would we have moved so far that we wouldn’t recognize any star at all? Going out on night walks in some kind of space suit of course. There’s absolutely no risk of being mugged anyway🙂🙂🙂 I wouldn’t even have to think about paying bills, something I just did before writing here🙂🙂🙂

I brought my camera with me on our walk yesterday when it rained.

I brought my camera with me on our walk yesterday when it rained.

DSC_0009 (800x532)

DSC_0012 (800x532)

DSC_0014 (521x800)

I do hope they’ll bring a cat or two, nothing calms down people like a pet does. I’m pretty sure that the four leaving for Mars will have conflicts every now and again but they won’t be alone for very long, the plan is to send up four more every second year. I can only guess what conflicts will arise when four new ones walks in to the first ones territories🙂🙂🙂

 

DSC_0015 (800x532)

DSC_0016 (800x532)

DSC_0018 (800x532)

DSC_0019 (800x532)

 

But this is not for me I’m afraid. I’m too old and don’t have the health they want them to have. So I’ll keep on walking in the forest looking up in the sky imagining what it might be like to travel to another planet.

 

DSC_0026 (800x532)

DSC_0027 (800x532)

DSC_0029 (800x532)

DSC_0030 (800x532)

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0001 (800x533)

16 thoughts on “I would love to be one of them!

    • Hi Joyce!

      I guess one would adjust after some time, otherwise the trip would be a ride to hell🙂🙂🙂

      It look so much worse than it was🙂 But if I didn’t know they had lots of fun I would think they were fighting🙂

      I wish it was planting time here!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  1. Christer, I have to side with Joyce on this trip as it is definitely not for me either, but then neither is hand gliding, sky diving,or hot air ballooning. I also enjoy looking up, but prefer to do it with BOTH feet on the ground or maybe from a plane’s window seat.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      I would never try either of those things You mention but I would love to go to Mars🙂

      I sometimes wish I was born later on when perhaps space traveling would be more common🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. +I think you had better keep your feet on the ground, you live a life many would kill for, besides you wouldn’t be able to take your animals, and who would feed the deer, no, best stay home, lol

    • Hi Laurie!

      Well I have to🙂 I’m too old and rheumatic, they don’t want me to join them🙂
      But this has nothing to do with not liking the place I live at or my life! I love it here but would love to explore the universe! I wouldn’t have all these animals if I was twenty years younger, well I did have a cat when I was twenty but that’s it🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. I have heard about the planned trips to Mars but there is one major drawback – no return trip. Whoever goes is there forever. Sc ary!

    • Hi myroseindecember!
      Nice to see You here again🙂

      Yes it’s a one way trip🙂 I wouldn’t mind that because I think there would be no time to get bored at all🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Christer –
    It is just as well that you do not qualify because I don’t know how some of your plans would go once you arrives on Mars. The plus side is that you would only weight 1/3 of your weight because of low of gravity. The bad is that the low gravity would gradually take away much of your bone so you could become an invertebrate in your final years. The seasons are twice as long as those on Earth so you might have to do a bit of crop rotation to keep the food supply coming. Since Mars has very little oxygen and the temp. is about -11C, but warms up to 0 degrees at the pole in Summer, so I don’t know of anything that would grow other than ice cubes, Also there is no ozone on Mars so while you are freezing and going crazy from living in a tiny space hut (OK I don’t know the specifics, but I can guess right?). you should plan on little outdoor time, even with freezing temps. because you would get burned by the sun unless you had special UV clothing.
    Well, are you rethinking how great an opportunity it would be to be selected for this one way trip to a great life? Even a dog or cat would not want to live there. I can see the pets wearing their oxygen masks around the hut getting the tubes tangled up and tripping you now. This all sounds like the makings of a horrible Sci-Fi movie and I do not think the ending is pretty. Don’t you wonder why this Dutch company does not have employees who are dying to go? Clearly they know that establishing colonies on Mars is not going to work well & the “one way” ticket is literal as well as a legal maneuver so the families of the people who are stuck there cannot sue them.
    The only positive I can really see about Mars is that the day is 26 minutes longer than Earth’s 24 hrs.. Everybody can always use an extra 26 minutes to get things done.
    Be a brave pioneer right on Earth Christer. I do agree that it would be wonderful to live on the verge of isolation, not be bothered by the red tape of being a person (mail, bills, car inspections, taxes, phone/computer scams……), but Mars is not a good alternative. It might be better to pay some weird company to help you disappear off the face of the Earth & erase all paper trails while you relocate to Costa Rica under an assumed identity operating on a cash only basis. I would be happy to join you & the pets, although I have decided I would have to live in the jungle because I sunburn so easily. I bet you could even arrange to have your sour milk flown in and I know Costa Rica has wonderful soil for gardening.

    • Hi Ellen!

      It has nothing to do with leaving civilization or having an easy life. I was rather adventures when I was in my twenties and loved any kind of challenge. The bone loss wouldn’t be any bigger problem since the gravity is so much lower and I know that I would have to wear some kind of space suit to get outside. The radiation from space and the sun would probably give me some or many kinds of cancer🙂 The lack of oxygen would naturally make me wear some kind of breathing equipment too. It will take many thousands of years to make Mars anything similar to this planet but they already have plans on making carbon dioxide flow out on the planet.

      To be honest, it isn’t even sure they will be able to land on Mars without crashing🙂 They might be the first corpses too🙂 But I do think a cat would accept not going outdoors at all, many have indoor cats that enjoys life very much, one just have to stimulate them a lot more.

      Someone has to go first and I would love to be one of them but this is not for me I’m afraid. I’m pretty sure they have plenty of employees that would like to go but by letting all people get a chance they will get the very best ones to go up there. My guess is that it will be people like those climbing Mount Everest, military people and scientists too.

      But Costa Rica is a good back up plan🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer! I think that would totally be cool! I too am too old but I could sign up my son! That would be so neat. I could only imagine what it would be like to experience night/day and the stars!!! I love anything about space. We have a telescope that we use in the summer, sometimes you can see some pretty neat things~

    • Hi Dianna!

      Too bad we can’t go up there together🙂🙂

      We see the stars best during winter up here, in summer time we only have a few hours of darkness🙂 But in winter time we have around 16 hours of darkness🙂 I can stand out there at nights looking at stars for hours🙂 I don’t have a telescope but I’m planning on buying one this autumn🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Jag är helt inne på vad Ellen skriver, det är helt klart ingenting för mig och i ärlighetens namn tror jag inte att det är nått för dig heller! :- ( Hur 17 skulle du klara dig utan lång prommisar i skogen med alla dina djurvänner t.ex.!? 😦😦 Det är nog ditt SF och Fantasy-intresse som målat upp en romantisk bild och jag kan förstå det. Men uschanemej vad hemskt trist och tråkigt det skulle bli i längden…..
    TREVLIG HELG
    önskar Susie på ett regnigt Gotland

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Om jag var i tjugoårsåldern skulle jag inte ha något djur, kanske en katt. Jag var väldigt aktiv i den åldern, innan reumatismen så jag ville inte ha något husdjur då.

      Du får inte ta mig för naiv, jag vet mycket väkl vilka villkor det skulle vara där borta. Någon form av rymddräkt om man skall gå ut, dessutom bra fodrar eftersom det är svinkallt på planeten🙂 Det är ju inte ens säkert att de kommer att landa bra, det är svårt att göra det på Mars eftersom atmosfären är så tunn.

      Jag tror det skulle vara allt annat än trist och tråkigt, när skulle det hinna bli det när man måste kämpa för att överleva hela tiden. En liten meteor som träffar bostäderna eller växthusen och allt skulle kunna gå åt helsike.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  7. Hi Christer,
    I love that first photograph of the window. The warm light is beautiful.

    If I were 40 years younger, I might like to go to Mars as well though I would have no skills to offer. I can interpret tax code but they wouldn’t need that all the time. Yes, they would still have to file in their native countries or risk having supplies cut off. They will have to wait until they are reasonably self-sufficient before having their revolution.🙂
    About the cats on board, I don’t know. I keep thinking about Red Dwarf and the character Cat who evolved from a cat that was smuggled on board. He’s intelligent and humanoid but retains many, mostly negative but amusing, cat-like personality traits like vanity, extreme self-involvement and a penchant for stealing fishies. If you haven’t seen that series, check it out. It’s British.
    It was sunny and nice here Thursday but I was in the massage office all day so I missed it. I don’t mind. I haven’t had a massage since mid-December. Considering that I was getting one every week, this has been way too long for me.
    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I do like that one too, perhaps it’s the best I’ve taken?

      Well someone would have to count all the carrots I would be growing, not forgetting the potatoes either🙂 I guess that anyone that can count and use a computer would be good to have on the trip. Remember, we would be much younger and more up to date on computers and how to use them as best as possible🙂

      I love the Red Dwarf🙂🙂🙂 Long time since I saw it though and I loved both the cat and the hologram🙂🙂🙂

      I would love to have a massage right now! Many years since I last had one but I think it’s time to make an appointment soon.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

