I bet there’s no horse flies on Mars.

ย DSC_0004 (800x532)

Going as one of the first people ever to another planet has nothing to do with wanting to leave civilization or not liking where I live or believing that life would be easy-going๐Ÿ™‚ To be honest, if they ever leave the chance of making a safe landing on Mars is slim due to the thin atmosphere. If they manage that, living quarters will be tiny and a walk outside those living modules demands a space suit of some kind. The radiation from both the sun and space itself would probably give more than one kind of cancer. It’s not especially warm there either, a summer’s day at the equator there is like a reasonable warm winter day here๐Ÿ™‚

DSC_0005 (800x532)

DSC_0008 (800x531)

DSC_0010 (800x532)

DSC_0012 (800x532)

Getting sick there could mean death if the right medicines aren’t brought with them from the beginning and if a meteor, even a tiny one, would hit it would most probably mean disaster. And to be honest, who knows for how long we will continue to live here? It takes just one crazy dictator in a small country with nuclear bombs to end it all. If so those on Mars will die rather soon as well.ย  I guess that only someone else with the same kind of dreams will understand why one would risk everything to travel to another planet as the first people ever.

DSC_0013 (800x532)

DSC_0014 (800x532)

DSC_0017 (800x532)

DSC_0018 (800x531)

I was very active before the hips and rheumatism stopped me. I ran 10km (6,21 miles) six days a week and biked over 400km (248,5 miles) every week. I bought a sailing boat even if I didn’t know how to sail and I could continue the list for quite some time๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ Going a one way trip to Mars would have fit me perfect at that age๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ and most likely would now days too. I think it’s how Linnaeus disciples was thinking too, they knew that the chance of ever getting home to see friends and family was slim to none, still they went away๐Ÿ™‚

DSC_0020 (532x800)

DSC_0019 (800x532)

DSC_0021 (800x532)

DSC_0022 (800x532)

I do love living here even if I wish it was a bit warmer๐Ÿ™‚ I don’t need a winter but if I have to live with them arriving every year I wouldn’t mind if they were shorter and warmer๐Ÿ™‚ I don’t need all the horseย flies either to be honest, mosquitoes I can take but horse flies!!! I bet there’s no horse flies on Mars๐Ÿ™‚ Just imagine the blogs I would be able to write from there๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

DSC_0025 (800x532)

DSC_0027 (800x532)

DSC_0029 (532x800)

DSC_0030 (532x800)

It’s time to make a pot of tea and then check what’s on tv tonight, I doubt there’s anything worth watching. I bought Life of Pi today but I think I’ll watch that one on a day when I’m not as tired as I am now, I don’t want to sleep through it the first time I watch it๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

DSC_0032 (800x532)

DSC_0034 (800x532)

DSC_0038 (800x531)

DSC_0040 (800x532)

Have a great day!

14 thoughts on “I bet there’s no horse flies on Mars.

  1. Hi Christer,
    There would not be horseflies on Mars so you would be spared that. But I’m fairly sure that rusty red would get to be a really boring color after a fairly short period of time.๐Ÿ˜€ And it would be cold ALL YEAR. Winter every day 24.5/686 would get really old really fast.
    I wonder what Mars smells like. Now you have me doing it.๐Ÿ˜€
    Europa is the place that really interests me. Arthur C. Clark warned us in 2010: Odyssey Two, “All these worlds are yours except Europa. Attempt no landing there.” So, of course, we must go there. What is hiding under all that ice? Are there living things swimming around underneath there? Was Arthur C. Clark really an Alien because how would he have known so many other things that came to pass?๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ˜€
    It’s a lovely spring day here. Makes me happy to be on Planet Earth. To celebrate, I think Rocky and I will take a ride to my favorite ice cream stand and maybe have some Black Forest ice cream.
    Enjoy the rest of the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I would most probably bring some with my by accident and after that we never would get rid of them๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ I think I would be way to occupied by just trying to survive to get bored๐Ÿ™‚ I just came to think about some things we would need to bring on the first rip, honey bees. Otherwise it wouldn’t matter if we brought seeds for vegetables, without bees no new seeds. That would be hilarious if they ran crazy on the trip to Mars๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      I think Mars smells much like the water in many creeks here, rusty.

      But Europa is even more wintry than Mars๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ But it is an intriguing little planet. But I wonder if there’s anything living beneath all tat ice? I think I loved that book even more than 2001! Rendezvous with Rama was even better but I haven’t read the other books about Rama. Come to think about it, I’ve read more books he has written that I thought I had๐Ÿ™‚ (Checked it on the web). Either he was an alien or just smart with a great imagination๐Ÿ™‚

      I wish we had something like Black Forest ice cream here, well any kind of ice cream would be fine right now๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • I had a thought that the horse flies couldn’t live on Mars anyway because there is no oxygen and the radiation levels are really high. We’d just have to depressurize the shelters and turn them inside out. However, if the horseflies managed to evolve really quickly, I shudder to think. Fortunately, there would not be enough air for them to grow very big and still be able to fly. If they gave up flying, though, we’d better watch out. Imagine. Giant, wicked fast horseflies jumping out at us from behind red hills. ZOMG!๐Ÿ™‚

      • If anything can evolve really fast I’m pretty sure it’s horse flies๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚
        Perhaps I should be happy that they aren’t that big if thinking of the option๐Ÿ™‚ Fast, running and big horse flies sounds rather nasty๐Ÿ™‚

        Christer.

  2. Christer,
    It is so good to see your pictures with no ice or frost or snow. Everything looks so alive and green.

    I always wanted to travel in space, ever since I read my very first science fiction book. I would choose to travel in those rockets we saw in the 1950 scifi movies. They were huge and had several rooms and big windows.

    I remember what living on Venus was like in Bradbury’s All Summer in a Day. That would not be my choice for a second home. I read all of Edgar Rice Burroughs Mars books. You might enjoy them though they are really quite dated.

    I am about to spend a fortune on animals food so enjoy the rest of your day and your tea!

    • Hi Kat!

      Good thing I didn’t photograph my car yesterday morning, it was covered in ice and rime๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      It would be nice if space rockets were like those๐Ÿ™‚ The one in Tintin when he flies to the moon is just like that and it looks so comfortable (well there’s a spy following them and tries to kill the but the rocket was comfortable๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ ) I especially like the big windows in those rockets๐Ÿ™‚

      I haven’t read those Mars books but I think I’ll try to find them! Didn’t they make a movie a few years ago based on that first book? Mega flop as a movie though๐Ÿ™‚

      I’ve spread the animal food and things during the week so it doesn’t feel that bad๐Ÿ™‚ and since I don’t by deer food any longer everything feels cheap๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer –

    My comments about the difficulties of existing on Mars were aimed at the Dutch company promoting the mission, not at you. I just could not understand how that company thought people would exist there and what the psychological ramifications would be. I think you are an adventurer at heart and have what Americans call “pioneer spirit” like the first people in the US that traveled to the West in the wagon trains. They left everything familiar behind and were not able to take many belongings and traveled under mostly terrible conditions. I think many people, as they get older, forget how to dream & be enthusiastic about possibilities for their life. The majority just settle for what comes along in life and forget about fulfilling the adventures they felt were possible when they were young. I think you a one of the few who is still capable of envisioning a life vastly different than the one you are currently living. It also takes a good imagination to picture a different way of life, especially one with so many potential dangers.

    One of my degrees is in archeology and I spent several Summers living at remote sites where we unearthed remains of Indians that carbon dated back to the time of 1430. We found many of their primitive tools, weapons,ut cooking pots and even the remains of a fire pit they used as we dug down through the many layers of earth. We went up in a small plan & identified dinosaur foot prints and then went in on foot and made plaster castings of them for the University. When you find a burial mound and peel the layers away ml. by ml. and then shake each bucket of soil through a screen, it is hot dirty work, but you have lots of time to think about what life was like for these people who lived hundreds of years ago. You cannot be an archeologist without a good imagination because you constantly have to make guess of what each artifact is, how it was used and how it was made.

    The point is I really do understand why you were taken with the idea of being a space pioneer and all the adventure involved in the project. I also know how difficult it is when you are no longer able to do activities you love because of physical limitations. When you had to give up sailing and running because of the arthritis, I am sure that was a difficult reality to face. I guess all you can do is move on and try to find another passion in life. I would not want to be a person who has no passion for anything in life – what a waste to go through life like a droid. So I appreciate your sense of adventure & being far braver than I would be at the thought of doing into space and being one of the first people to try and make an environment that is anything but human friendly, inhabitable and sustainable. Thank you for getting me to consider some possibilities for my life that I had forgotten about a long time ago. I hope you never lose your ability to be enthusiastic about the possibilities in the World. Most people see the glass half empty, but you were able to see the glass half full and that is a great way to travel through life – and maybe mars someday.
    Have a good weekend – Ellen

    • Hi Ellen!

      They are actually quite clear about this not being a picnic๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ It’s a one way trip and the chance of dying is pretty big๐Ÿ™‚ Still, lots of people are willing to do this and I do hope they’ll manage to do this without too many big problems. But I think they might be a bit optimistic about having people there already within twenty years, but then again they do such huge steps forward when it comes to technology so who knows. To sue a company in Europe is not the sane as in the USA, in USA You’ll get lots of money if winning over here it’s more like a pat on the back and a Good for You comment๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      I think You would love to dig in the ground in these surroundings, people find all kinds of things just digging in their gardens, this part of Sweden is called the Cradle of Sweden. We have at least 50 older tombs just in my village, from the stone age to late medieval I think. But there are places with lots more and if someone finds something while digging in the garden they just save the things in the cellars, reporting it to authorities just means a lot of problems. They can forbid people digging in their garden until archaeologists comes for a digging or pay for a digging themselves which is nasty expensive. They will most likely not come top dig out the garden so it’s best not to tell anyone. No such findings in my garden though, it would have been exiting if I did find something one day๐Ÿ™‚

      I’m lucky though, I still can move around without any bigger problems and my hands and feet still works good. But I stopped sailing because I was a lousy sailor to be honest๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ I realized that I love the ocean but loved and fitted more in the forests๐Ÿ™‚ I owned a garden center/nursery for a while but I’m not a business man and with the job I have now (I’m a painter, used to paint cars once in a time but now it’s mostly things for harvesters or safety things on roofs and things I’m not allowed to talk about๐Ÿ™‚ ) I really need a good imagination, that work can be rather tedious sometimes๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. I think space exploring would be very exciting if one was young, we are braver and more fit when we are young, and as a wmans perspcetive I could never leave my children although my son would likely be the first onboard, he is young and single, just his dogs, so he would love it.
    I’m not sure if your horse flies are like urs but ur are big and bite! They and the deer flies which are smaller but bite are the curse of the deer and moose and cattle, and me, they love my tender fair skin!My husband has darker skin than I and they don’t bther him, they fly around me and get stuck in my hair, I HATE THEM!!!

    • Hi Laurie!

      We were all braver when we were younger๐Ÿ™‚
      This job is for people that doesn’t have children, how would they be able to leave them.

      Yes our horse flies are just like that๐Ÿ™‚ Nasty critters to be honest and we have several other biting ones too. We have Moose flies but they only show for a few weeks in autumn and usually never bite humans but it stings badly when they do!!! Impossible to kill and just laughs when one is hitting them. Moose flies are truly nasty!!!and as You say about deer flies, always get stuck in the hair!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Joyce!
      ๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ I can see it in my mind๐Ÿ™‚

      The month of March is called Mars in Swedish, so a March hare would be a Mars hare and we all know how crazy a March hare is๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ so they are probably already there๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Well, I think you are crazy. No way would I ever ever ever want to go into space.
    There are no dogs in space and if there are, they can’t run and play in those puffy space suits.
    And what happens when someone (like my Jimmy) thinks the air hose is a toy?
    True, you wouldn’t have to pick up dog poop anymore but would you really want turds floating by you all the time?
    You could never go swimming or feel cool Fall air blowing around you or smell fresh cut grass.
    Truly, I think it sounds like the worst thing ever.
    I’m sure there must be “others” out there in the Universe, it would be pretty niave of us to think we are the only ones.
    But I doubt they are on Mars.
    Sometimes I worry that people (I don’t mean you) view Space as the next frontier because they are using up this planet and don’t care. They will destroy everything good and move on to another planet.
    So…that’s what I think.๐Ÿ™‚
    I love “Life of Pi”. I never go to the theater to see movies but I did for that one. I heard that it was so visually beautiful that it needed to be seen on a big screen. (My TV is the same size of my laptop) and I’m so glad that I did.
    Still, it was fabulous and I’m kinda critical๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ˜€ of things.
    I will be VERY interested to see what YOU think really happened.
    I saw it with my sister and my niece. My sister and I thought one thing and my niece another….and I think it’s an age thing. I wished it happened as my niece thinks it did but life has taught me that it probably didn’t.
    Anyway, can’t wait to see what you think of the film!๐Ÿ™‚ – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!

      It’s so much easier to live when being crazy๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      Thankfully there’s enough gravity on Mars to keep the turds firmly on the ground๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ But they must bring up many animals in the long run if they will have a chance to survive, like insects to pollinate what they have sown for instance. But I wouldn’t want to be on that ship that sends those insects๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      I’m pretty sure there must be others out there somewhere but not in our solar system. But I think that was pushes most businesses to travel out in to space is just the fact that we soon won’t have anything left here on earth. Only a few will get the chance to live a life on another planet and most people here will die in the end. The Earth and the nature will come back, it always does but humans will sooner or later be a finished chapter on this planet. So I think You’re pretty right in that!

      I’ll watch Pi later and I’ll tell You what I thought about it๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

