I rather fill up my pond myself than letting rain do the job.

Outside my cottage this morning.

Outside my cottage this morning.

I was so tired when I woke up this morning that my whole body ached🙂 It hurt opening my eyes, it hurt breathing and even thinking of getting up gave me a head ache🙂🙂🙂 But my dogs had woken up and then I too must get up and let them out in to the garden.

DSC_0012 (800x531)

DSC_0015 (513x800)

We call these Witch broomsticks.

We call these Witch broomsticks.

DSC_0017 (532x800)

But it felt much better after just a few minutes and the morning walk was a delight even if we went out an hour and a half later than usual. It was just above 0C (32F) and frost could be seen in the shadows here and there. The tiresome wind was and still is gone and the sun is shining, who can ask for more?

 

DSC_0014 (800x532)

DSC_0020 (532x800)

DSC_0021 (800x532)

DSC_0022 (800x532)

I get flashbacks every now and again when a weak scent reaches my nose. No real memories, just bits and pieces showing a place. The summer house we had when I grew up, my best friends summer house and the two places I leased when being older. All places I loved dearly and I hope this will happen more times today🙂

 

DSC_0024 (800x521)

DSC_0027 (800x532)

DSC_0030 (800x521)

DSC_0033 (800x532)

All this wind and all the sunshine has made the water in my pond evaporate very fast, so I have poured in lots of water this morning. The grounds here are still very wet so I don’t wish for any more rain even if my pond would benefit from it🙂 But I rather refill my pond and have sunshine than rain and no refilling🙂

 

DSC_0036 (800x533)

DSC_0037 (800x532)

Longhorn.

Longhorn.

DSC_0047 (800x532)

Have a great day!

12 thoughts on “I rather fill up my pond myself than letting rain do the job.

  1. Hi Christer,
    Glad you recovered from your bad start this morning. Seeing cranes outside my house would make me feel better.
    Over here we would call those witch broomsticks squirrel nests (or the summer homes of the spawns of Satan). They make balls of leaves up in the trees and they live inside them during the warmer months. Unless, of course, they have a nice place set up in someone’s attic or house walls.🙂
    Longhorn is looking quite fit.
    It’s early morning here so I haven’t been outside yet. It’s sunny and is supposed to be warm. We need rain but I think it should only rain after sundown. That would be perfect.
    Enjoy the rest of the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I just was so tired but as soon as I got that chilly air on my face I woke up🙂

      I like that name since I like squirrels, well spawn of Satan nests sounds rather fun too to be honest🙂🙂🙂 The ones we have here though is way to shy to move in to any house, thankfully🙂

      Yes why do rain has to fall during the day??? I mean nature is so fantastic that it could have arranged it that way🙂 I wouldn’t mind rain that much if it only fell during nights🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Glad your weather is improving and the same is happening here after 2 days of rain, fog and very chilly temperatures. We had to even turn on the heat again, which was something we were hoping to avoid. A couple of weeks ago, we had the windows open and it was so warm. The only good news is that keeping the windows closed has reduced any indoor pollen. Glad you were feeling better once you got outdoors.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      I haven’t turned of the heat yet, but it doesn’t work many hours during the day now, only early in the morning on sunny days🙂

      No problem with pollen and the insects haven’t really started yet even if I have seen several butterflies and a few flies fly around here in the cottage.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Laurie!

      I guess I needed to sleep more but I woke up as soon as the cold air outside hit my face🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. hi christer! it is so warm here that i turned my A/C on. and we are bone dry. we need rain and lots of it. are the deer still coming around and are you still feeding them? joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      So it seems this year will be like the last one, winter and then summer for most parts of the rest of the year. I hope we’ll get something like that here too🙂 I’m a bit tired of cool rainy summers now.

      No I don’t feed them any longer but they do come by every now and again to see if I’v put out any food🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer! I just love it when smells send my memory deja vu into high gear! The flashbacks are sometimes so brief you wonder. Love the pictures! Have a great day. We had snow today in middle Canada!

  5. Christer,
    I was happy to see pictures of the cranes.

    I know some mornings don’t seem worth the struggle to get out of bed. I’ve had many like that especially when my back hurts.

    Smells are supposed to be the best trigger of memories so you may just go back again and again to those places you loved in your childhood. I remember going to Plimouth Plantation where they burn wood for cooking. In Ghana they use wood charcoal for cooking, and the smell of the wood in Plimouth brought me right back to Ghana. It was the loveliest of memories.

    Have a wonderful evening!

    • Hi Kat!

      I was a bit worried for a while because only one of the cranes turned up in the mornings, but now bothnof them are here again🙂

      I don’t know why I was so tired though🙂 Well as long as it doesn’t happen to often🙂

      I lpove when I get those flashbacks! I got one today too, I could see the place we always went to by the ocean and where I later had my sailing boat but this time sounds were the thing trigging my mind, the sound of sea gulls🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

