At least the wind changed directions some.

DSC_0006 (800x535)

 

It’s much nicer here today, it isn’t nearly as warm as yesterday but the wind has changed direction slightly so I can sit on the kitchen stairs enjoying the sun and drinking my tea. The clouds cover the sun every now and agin but it’s better than not seeing the sun at all.

 

Can You see the doe? I didn't when I took this photo.

Can You see the doe? I didn’t when I took this photo.

She's one of "mine" and didn't care much about us.

She’s one of “mine” and didn’t care much about us.

She just took a look at us and continued to eat.

She just took a look at us and continued to eat.

DSC_0022 (800x536)

 

Orvar and Sune has become really good friends, Sune plays with Nova but otherwise he follows Orvar where ever he goes🙂 If Orvar takes a sniff att something Sune does just the same and if Orvar would turn and Sune doesn’t notice that directly, he’ll quickly  run towards Orvar as soon as he does🙂

 

DSC_0024 (800x536)

DSC_0027 (800x505)

We went down to the bog yestrday afternoon as well.

We went down to the bog yestrday afternoon as well.

DSC_0008 (800x536)

 

It’s a four day working week this coming week, it’s the ascension day on Thursday and that’s a holiday here. We all would like to take Friday off as well but we just have too much to do at work, so we’ll work on Thursday and take Friday off instead. It’s quite ok to stay at home a Wednesday and come back to work the other days but staying at home on a Thursday and then be working on a Friday is never good, the enthusiasm for our job would sort of be gone and we wouldn’t work especially good at all when all we would want is to go home🙂

 

DSC_0035 (800x536)

DSC_0037 (800x536)

She was still there when we came back.

She was still there when we came back.

DSC_0049 (536x800)

 

It’s time to get some fish to my pond again, this time I’ll buy some Koi carps. They will eat lots of the plants growing in the pond and I hope that they will keep all roots away from the pump and filter this year, I really don’t want to use an ax again to be able to check the pump next year🙂 Hopefully they’ll also eat lots of mosquito larvae, I have plenty of mosquitoes as it is anyway🙂

 

DSC_0019 (800x517)

DSC_0012 (800x536)

DSC_0010 (800x536)

DSC_0056 (800x536)

 

The farmer next door is putting up new fence poles outside my cottage, soon I’ll have cows walking there again but they’ll move and sheep will come instead, I like that🙂

 

The Turkish rhubarb.

The Turkish rhubarb.

Chiodonoxa.

Chiodonoxa.

Scilla sibirica.

Scilla sibirica.

The Wood anemone, Anemone nemorosa.

The Wood anemone, Anemone nemorosa.

 

Have a great day!

16 thoughts on “At least the wind changed directions some.

  1. Beautiful pictures and even more beautiful animals! I think the area you live in is so pretty and thank you for sharing it with us.

  2. that is so nice about orvar and sune. i’ve never seen turkish rhubarb before. is it used the same as regular rhubarb? mine should be ready to pick soon and then i will be making rhubarb sauce and rhubarb pies!

    • Hi Joyce!

      It’s so fun watching those two🙂

      No, this one is toxic, well all rhubarb roots are even the ones we eat has a toxic root. But this one is the same all over and is only used as a decorative plant. I do think they use it as medicine though.

      My common rhubarb is still tiny but this year I’ll taste one or two stems🙂 Next year I can take more from the plant though🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. your animals all look so happy and content, even your doe!
    I have never seen Turkish rhubarb but gosh its a beauty! Have a great rest of your weekend,

    • Hi Laurie!

      At that moment they all were but just hours before I had to tell Orvar and Hector who’s the boss in this family🙂 They were not happy🙂 They thought it was a good idea to just ignore me when I told them to follow me when we were out walking because they thought the fields were much more interesting🙂

      That rhubarb is beautiful and there is a variety that stay more or less red the entire time, this turns green later on though.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Christer,
    So many lovely flowers, and the red house, the green hose and the cat made a great picture. Some of the flower you suggested last year have already started blooming this year. I, of course, have no idea which flowers they are. I just call them white flowers.

    Orvar will be a great role model for Sune. I love that Sune mimics every movement.

    Enjoy your tea and the rest of the day!!

    • HI Kat!

      Finally life returns to the village🙂 I’m waiting for my trilliums to show again, especially the one that became pink, a self sown one🙂

      I can’t remember what flowers I recommended🙂 But they seems to live so that’s a good thing🙂

      Orvar can be the best or worst role model🙂 He has a tendency to wander away by himself every now and again🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer,
    Everyone looks very mellow over there today.🙂
    Sune has picked a good mentor, I think. And Orvar will have a friend to watch out for him.
    The Turkish rhubarb looks interesting. Does it keep that crinkly look as it matures or is that just in the young leaf? I like to take pictures of unfolding leaves. They always look so soft and new.
    I see that you posted over on My Shot/National Geographic. There was a survey a few months ago to ask how people felt about the site and what improvements could be done. I haven’t been back there for a while. Is it new and improved or just the same?
    Sunny and cool here today. Good weather for an ice cream run and maybe a check on the beaver pond.
    Enjoy the evening.🙂

    • Hi Caryn!

      It was that kind of day today🙂 The wind finally calmed down an hour ago but that’s a bit too late really. Well, at least it didn’t rain🙂

      I was thinking just that, someone will be around when Orvar gets confused again. He will most likely follow Sune if he forgets the way home when he’s out wandering again🙂

      I do like the Turkish rhubarb, it does loose most of the crinkly look but the leafs becomes rather big instead. There are red leafed varieties but this one turns green later on.

      I can’t say I noticed any difference at NG, I answered on that survey so I remember it well. I guess most people liked it as it is.

      The wind finally calmed down but too late in the day I’m afraid. I’ll buy lots of ice cream this week so I’ll have some here at home. This windy weekend would have been perfect for ice cream🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi myroseindecember!

      I’m glad You like them🙂 The mpore spring establish itself here, the more flower photos it will be🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. I couldn’t believe that the California wild fires are known about so far away! Amazing! The world has really gotten so small with all of our modern technology! I live in Riverside, California, about an hour from Los Angeles by freeway.
    The fires are just north of Los Angeles. We have already had a couple of fires here close to home..but nothing of such a magnatude. It’s these terrible unseasonable winds that are so terrible and causing them to spread and be so out of control.
    As time goes on, folks are becoming wiser about keeping brush, etc. cleared a good distance around their homes, Using tile roofs and keeping their property cleared of brush. It’s about time. Entire neighborhoods have been wirped out here in our area…Our mountains are always threatened…and I am very near the mountains. So far nothing up there…thank heavens.

    I DID seen the back end of the little deer. She is so used to seeing you on your walks that she is becoming tamer when she sees you. 🙂 Tha’t nice that she does not feel any threat at all!

    It does NOT surprise me one single bit that Joyce does her own gardening…that woman is fantastic. Heart of gold and a powerhouse getting things done!!
    Take good care, Christer..
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!

      We are always very well informed about Your fires and the ones down in Australia too. Lots of Swedes live in those areas🙂

      Yes nature where You live and down under is made for burning every year, many seeds can’t even germinate if there hasn’t been a fire. There’s especially one flower I try to sow each year but always fail with, a kind of poppy that needs those fires to germinate.

      That doe is one of the ones that came here to get food all winter too🙂 She knows that none ofbthe dogs or me is especially dangerous🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

