Koi.

DSC_0002 (800x531)

 

We’ve had a rather dismal, cold and grey day here until 3 pm when the sun finally broke through the clouds and made it rather nice instead. Not even the dogs seemed to think it was a good idea to stay outdoors for any longer time even though the kitchen door has stayed open most parts of the day.  It’s so easy to get used to warm days that even a half decent one seems unpleasant🙂

 

DSC_0012 (800x530)

There's only one horse there now days. The last time I saw the big brown one he stood by himslef and looked rather sad.

There’s only one horse there now days. The last time I saw the big brown one he stood by himslef and looked rather sad.

DSC_0018 (800x530)

 

I drove to Falköping this morning, I had decided to buy some Koi carps for my pond. THey eat plants and that’s something my pond needs desperately🙂 It’s nice that the plants like it in there but I do want to see some water when I look at it🙂 Koi’s can become really old and really big and need to be kept indoors during winter up here in the north. Expensive too to be honest, there are some that actually have pedigree and the most expensive actually costed $80 000 US  1982🙂🙂🙂 The ones I bought cost 110 swedish kronor ($ 15) each🙂

 

DSC_0020 (800x530)

DSC_0023 (800x530)

DSC_0024 (800x530)

 

It was when I poured them out in to the pond that I saw that someone (most likely Sune) had pulled up my Mulberry tree!!! It wasn’t that big but had survived here three winters and I had hoped for some berries this year. I salvaged what I could and planted it in a pot and wrapped a plastic bag around it. It did have some roots left so I hope it survives. Sune has this idea that anything that can be pulled up should be pulled up when it comes to small trees and bushes🙂🙂🙂

 

DSC_0028 (800x530)

DSC_0030 (800x514)

DSC_0036 (519x800)

 

Nova is back to normal again, chasing Sune around the garden and jumps around without any problems, she is still however a bit stiff in her left hind leg but it doesn’t seem to bother her at all. It’ll be interesting to hear what the vet says about it.

 

DSC_0001 (800x530)

DSC_0005 (530x800)

DSC_0006 (800x530)

 

It’s time to make another pot of tea and then all animals will have their food for the afternoon. I fell asleep in front of the tv for an hour or so, so a nap isn’t necessary at all🙂

 

DSC_0015 (800x530)

DSC_0017 (800x530)

DSC_0022 (800x530)

 

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0011 (800x530)

8 thoughts on “Koi.

  1. Hi Christer,
    Beautiful shot of the magpie. Is that the new camera?
    I’m sad that the shaggy pony is by itself now. Horses really like company when outside especially if they live in places with lynxes and other scary critters.

    Hooray for Nova being back to almost normal.
    I’ve had dogs that dug up lawns and flowers but never one that ripped up trees. Little Sune has got talent.🙂

    You are way ahead in the flower department. I’ve finally got some dandelions. The ajuga has flowered all over the lawn and been cut back twice. I also have white violets and some of the normal violet violets in the lawn. My flowers never remain where I’ve planted them. They always run away into the lawn and leave the flower beds to the crab grass. I have tulips trying to grow in the lawn and tiny juniper bushes only 3 inches high by 2 inches wide and many years old.

    It’s dreary here but not actually raining yet. It will rain and thunder later on, they say. It’s a comfortable temperature, though, so that’s good. Rocky and I have been out a couple of times this morning and it was very pleasant.
    Enjoy the rest of your day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      It was so kind of that Magpie to stay long enough for me to take a couple of photos🙂 Yes it is the newest camera and I’ve been using that every day since I got it. No autofucs so some photos might be a bit blurry🙂

      I don’t think the other one lives any longer, I met the owner this morning but just couldn’t ask. It isn’t allowed to have a lonely horse here in Sweden, the law says a horse must have a companion all hours of the day. So I guess it’s just a matter of time until there’s another horse there again or what ever he might get🙂 Personally I would like to see a donkey🙂

      I’ve never had any dog pulling up small trees before, digging up yes but never pulling🙂 Well, we all have our talents🙂🙂🙂

      My garden is behind my neighbors that live up the slope so there isn’t many flowering here to be honest🙂 But lots are on the way🙂 I don’t like tulips especially much but they seem to like it here🙂 We have no junipers in this part of the village but I would like to have a couple.

      It’s cloudy here again and I felt some rain drops for a while but the wind is calmer so it’s rather nice anyway🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Christer,
    I’m so glad Sune is just about herself. I remember Maggie, another boxer of mine, proudly walking up and down with an ivy bush in her mouth she had just dug up from my yard. She was a believer in ripping up yards and digging holes. Gracie is also a hole digger but has the backyard. One hole is so big I have to jump across it.

    The flowers are just beautiful. I love all the colors.

    Different birds have been dropping by here. Today the wrens are back. It is still dreary!!

    Have a wonderful evening!!

    • Hi Kat!

      He has a mind of his own that dog🙂 This is the third tree since he came here less than a year ago and I’ve lost counts on how many bushes🙂

      All are hole diggers here but they dig for dandelion roots, well the entire plant actually because they just love to eat them🙂 It all started with old Sickan and she taught Viran that taught her children and so on🙂🙂🙂

      This is th best time of year with all spring flowers in all different colors🙂

      Few birds here except for those nesting in my garden or just outside. But I wish I knew more about birds because there are so many strange ones out by the fields and the creek🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. hi christer! that is good news about nova. it will be interesting to hear what the vet says. i did not know that sune is a gardener! my koi are about a foot long now. they have survived about 4 winters so they should be aeound for a while. we finally got some rain! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      Yes it’s nice to see her going on like always🙂 But my guess is that she fell during playing with Sune and hit her back.

      Sune is a big city gardener, he removes every tree and bush he can find🙂

      I must keep the koi’s indoors during winter here, they can only survive outdoors in the most southern parts of Sweden. 55 years is no unusual age for koi’s🙂

      Glad You got some rain, we don’t need any for yet some time even if the ground finally is drying up now.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Skönt att Nova är bra, eller man kanske ska säga bättre!? 🙂 Vilken “busråtta” Sune är! De var faktiskt ett av mina orosmoment när vi skaffade en vuxen hund. tänk om han grävde i rabatterna – men som tur var så är Santos väldigt väluppfostrad, han rör dom inte!!🙂🙂
    Nej, nu ska vi äta middag; Grillade spett – i vår lilla reservkolgrill – för vi har naturligtvis inte fått den nya ännu. Den kommer väl precis när vi är på fastlandet – rättare sagt Öland – 2 dagar nästa vecka för att köpa växter och ha en mysig minisemester!🙂🙂🙂
    TREVLIG HELG!
    Susie

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Jo det är skönt att hon är så mycket bättre. Hon var lite stel i bakbenen fortfarande i morse, så jag tror att det är hennes rygg som bråkar. Vi får se vad veterinären säger.

      Sune har en förkärlek till att dra upp mindre träd, tre stycken hittills men även mindre buskar duger🙂

      Men inte kan du väl säga att Öland är fastlandet🙂🙂🙂 Trots allt är det ju vår andra största ö🙂
      Ha en trevlig resa och en trevlig middag🙂

      Christer.

Leave a Reply

