Lawn mowing time again.

DSC_0009 (528x800)

I heard it from west and that’s the best they say, the Cuckoo bird that is. We have a saying here about cuckoos and what it means when one hear it for the first time every spring. It rimes in Swedish and sounds better than translated to English, but it’s best from the west, it means death if one hear it from south, it means comforting from east and it means the year will be dry. I almost always hear it from west and I guess the bog is a good place to stay for them.

I must have taken this photo with my elbow :-) I kept it because I think it looks cool :-)

I must have taken this photo with my elbow🙂 I kept it because I think it looks cool🙂

DSC_0019 (800x530)

DSC_0021 (800x522)

DSC_0022 (800x530)

Almost as warm here today as it was yesterday and I’m glad I don’t live in my old home town because they had almost 29C (84,2F) and that is way to warm this early in the year. But this warm air won’t stay for very long, cooler air will come from the north and rain from the west. I’m especially glad it wasn’t that hot since I had to mow the lawn for the first time this year. It wasn’t that bad to be honest, I like the new electric mower I bought last year, it’s strong and very quiet.

DSC_0024 (800x530)

I have been wondering what kind of tree this is, it's a cherry tree.

I have been wondering what kind of tree this is, it’s a cherry tree.

Building up to become thunder clouds.

Building up to become thunder clouds. It’s hard to see but these are tops of a big grey cloud.

DSC_0028 (800x519)

Sune decided it was time to enlarge his territory today, why be happy with this little garden when we can take over the farm next door. I did wonder where he was when I heard a dog barking loudly somewhere (he came running from the farm up the road). I yelled so loudly at him when he came that he started peeing🙂 I think I also scared my neighbor next door but I don’t know if he peed too🙂🙂🙂 I doubt it helped though, the soon they started working on the field outside my cottage he ran to the gate and started barking agin, he came back quickly though when he heard me yelling again🙂🙂🙂

Yes, he's back :-)

Yes, he’s back🙂

I've missed that big brown horse.

I’ve missed that big brown horse.

Probably the cutest wood shed I've ever seen :-)

Probably the cutest wood shed I’ve ever seen🙂

Old graves and not so old cows.

Old graves and not so old cows.

Tonight’s the Eurovision Song Contests grand finale and the five nordic countries (together with the Netherlands) are the big favorites. I’ll show You the winner in tomorrow’s post. Personally I don’t like our song and is hoping for Finland or Norway to win. It will go on for three hours and won’t stop until after midnight, so I hope to be able to see most of it anyway. Not so much because the competition is great but my sister and I send each other text messages on our phones and they aren’t always nice towards the competitors🙂🙂🙂

Mallards.

Mallards.

DSC_0037 (800x530)

DSC_0041 (800x531)

DSC_0044 (800x528)

The coffee is ready and now its time to make something to eat. It feels like thunder is in the air so I might not be able to watch any television at all, several thunder clouds have passed behind the mountain during the day and I guess I might not be that lucky with all those clouds🙂

DSC_0050 (800x531)

Rune. He looks a bit scruffy to be honest but it's fur shedding time.

Rune. He looks a bit scruffy to be honest but it’s fur shedding time.

DSC_0010 (800x530)

DSC_0013 (800x530)

It's easy to find funny and interresting varieties of Wood anemone. The species isn't especially stabile yet and there's lots of them all over the country. I like this sort of Christmas star shaped one.

It’s easy to find funny and interesting varieties of Wood anemone. The species isn’t especially stable yet and there are lots of them all over the country. I like this sort of Christmas-star shaped one.

Have a great day!

In my garden, sloe flowers.

In my garden, sloe flowers.

An auricula, Primula auricula.

An auricula, Primula auricula.

Not in my garden, Cherru flowers.

Not in my garden, Cherry flowers.

Someone has once tossed out some tulip bulbs by the bog and they return every year. Ann old vcariety because the new opnes usually dies after a year or perhaps two.

Someone has once tossed out some tulip bulbs by the bog and they return every year. An old variety because the new ones usually dies after a year or perhaps two.

10 thoughts on “Lawn mowing time again.

    • HI Laurie!

      Glad You liked it today🙂 But some photo’s are a bit blurry, that’s what happens when I have to focus myself🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  1. hi christer! we re having the same weather. it is way too hot to early for me. and not enough rain so all i do is water. gorgeous photos today! i love that woodshed too. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      Last year this was the time when we actually had summer here, the rest o9f the time was rather chilly and rainy. I do hope we’ll get summer when we’re supposed to this year🙂
      But You had much the same weather last year, didn’t You? Summer heat very early and it continued almost until Christmas if I remember right. That’s actually too much summer🙂

      I’ve also learned that the wood shed also is an outdoors toilet🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Vilka fantastiskt fina foton, rena sommaridyllen:) Det lilla röda torpet var ju gudomligt! Stackars Sune som kissade på sig;( vi får verkligen hoppas att grannen höll sig torr:) Här har det varit riktigt kvavt idag så jag trodde att det skulle börja åska men än så länge är det tyst:) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!

      Bara det inte blir som förra året, sommar i Maj och sedan kallt och regnigt resten av året.

      Det har aldrig avrit ett torp vad jag vet utan ett vedskjul och utedass🙂
      Grannen har inget sagt så man vet aldrig🙂🙂🙂

      Idag är det riktigt kvavt här trots en hyfsat stark vind, är ganska säker på att åska är nära.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    I’m so glad the big brown horse is back. I wonder where he went. Maybe off for special training? Isn’t he a driving horse?
    The elbow photo is cool.:) Abstract photography is a fun thing to do with or without an elbow. I haven’t entirely figured out my new camera enough to make it do weird things on purpose but I’ll get there. It’s fun to take weird photos and make them even weirder in post production.
    I almost squeed when I came to the woodshed photo. That is just about the cutest wood shed ever. I want it as a house. Put a little screened deck out the back and maybe some sliding glass doors leading to it and windows on the sides. Perfect little summer shack.🙂
    Rocky has already gone through the phase where all the yards on the street are his. Once Sune has peed on enough of the surrounding area he will be fine.
    Are the cherry trees that you photographed regular cherries or are they the small wild ones? We have choke cherries and pin cherries that grow wild over here. Prunus virginianus (?) and P. pensylvanicus. Pin cherry trees can grow over 50 feet. The cherries are tiny like small blueberries and they are bitter but edible.
    Sunny and cool here. It started out foggy and cloudy but the sun has won out.
    Hope your pick in tonight’s competition works out.
    Enjoy!

    • Hi Caryn!

      No that’s the other big brown horse, I have never seen this one with a carriage. But I am glad to see it again🙂

      Normally those photos just turns out very dark but this one is pretty cool🙂

      That is an adorable wood shed🙂 and it’s also an outdoor toilet🙂 I doubt that it ever has been anything else that what it is now.

      We have all kinds of cherries here. it depends on if it’s wild ones or cherries spread by birds🙂 Most are the wild ones and fairly small and sort of sour sweet but some give really big cherries and I’m always too late to get any. But down in Tråvad there are so many that not even the birds can eat them all but all of those origines from when the railrod still was going there, lots of people spat out the kernesl along the rails🙂 We have our species og pin cherrties but those are poisonous🙂

      You are one day behind so the competition is over🙂 I didn’t have high hopes about our own song but since almost half the songs were written by Swedes we still had a good chance🙂 Denmark won and she is half swedish and the song writers were also Swedish🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

