Frosty morning.

DSC_0004 (800x528)

 

I woke up to a rather chilly morning, the thermometer showed only -3C (26,6F) and some plants and my car had were covered with a thin layer of ice. As soon as the sun rose the fog arrived and at that moment I wished I didn’t have to go to work, the world was so beautiful. But both the sun and fog disappeared rather quickly and the rest of the days has been mostly cloudy.

 

Frosted Turkish rhubarbs.

Frosted Turkish rhubarbs.

DSC_0037 (800x530)

DSC_0040 (800x519)

DSC_0042 (800x530)

 

Sune loves to take a bath in every creek or ditch we pass on our walks which mostly makes him smell like mud. Unfortunately he now has understood that we have a pond in the garden and he knows how to use it🙂🙂🙂 The once so clear water is now a muddy mess and the filter has clogged totally🙂🙂🙂 The only good thing about this is that hen doesn’t mind shower either, something he now does regularly🙂

 

My pink trillium. This one is selfsown but I have no other pink ones.

My pink trillium. This one is selfsown but I have no other pink ones.

Bleeding heart.

Bleeding heart.

Pelargonium (Geranium)  growing by my kitchen window.

Pelargonium (Geranium) growing by my kitchen window.

DSC_0036 (800x530)

 

The second annoying fly is flying around annoying me at the moment, the first one landed on sticky flypaper but this one seems to avoid it really good. There’s also a mosquito stuck to it, it flew right in to the sticky paper with its head first and it looks rather odd🙂 I have my two first tomatoes growing by my kitchen window now🙂 I do hope they will manage to ripe even if I would move the plants outside.

 

No this is not a snake, it's a lizard.

No this is not a snake, it’s a lizard.

They got just as surprised as we did :-)

They got just as surprised as we did🙂

But still, they didn't panic when they saw us.

But still, they didn’t panic when they saw us.

I couldnä't see whu they were except for one eyed Rune.

I couldnä’t see who they were except for one eyed Rune.

 

I have at least one swallows nest under my tiles just above the kitchen door🙂 It’s almost scaring how fast they fly in under that tile without breaking their necks or wings🙂🙂🙂 I also have lots of house sparrow nests under the tiles too and I guess the wasps will have their homes there too like every year. But this year I don’t want any wasp nests above my entrance door so I sprayed poison there before they even had started to look for a new home, my hope is that the smell from the poison will keep them away. They do eat a lot of flies so I don’t mind having them close to the cottage.

 

DSC_0059 (800x530)

DSC_0060 (800x530)

DSC_0062 (800x530)

Marsh marigold.

Marsh marigold.

 

I have over 100 photos that I could show here today🙂 But it would take just too much space in this blog if I show You them all🙂 perhaps I’ll show some tomorrow and on Sunday too. Now it’s time to make a pot of tea and something to eat. Tonight they’ll start showing Grimm on channel Six again on a time I actually can see it but they have already sort of destroyed it since they showed the second season so late on Sunday nights and the rerun on Monday mornings at 5am!!!! But it looks like we who protested actually reached them🙂

 

DSC_0023 (800x530)

DSC_0012 (800x530)

DSC_0017 (800x531)

DSC_0014 (800x530)

 

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0057 (530x800)

DSC_0061 (530x800)

DSC_0065 (529x800)

DSC_0067 (530x800)

 

10 thoughts on “Frosty morning.

  1. hi christer! that sure looked like a snake to me! does the lizard have legs? yikes! do the dogs chase it? we are cold here too and i have to cover everything tonight. it is a close call but i really don’t want to lose anything at this stage. my vegetable garden is down below and i am worried that the cold air could really sink in there and freeze some of the more sensitive plants. plus, even if it doesn’t kill them, it can still do enough damage to set them back quite a bit. this is always the risk of planting early. however, the last time it was this cold at this time in may was back in the late 80’s. so, normally planting early is safe. we finally got some rain but now they are saying it will be at least another week before we see any more. i sure hope we don’t get another drought. hey…it is good you finally have a dog that likes baths! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      No that lizard has no legs but it is påossible to see where they once were if looking closely on the body. They look like slightly longer scales on the body. It has very small teeth, just like a lozard and can’t do anything if it should try to bite but it never does.

      I haven’t plant anything yet but I have a few plants by the wall on my patio and they made it through last nights frost without any problems. I have much the same problem here living down a slope, the cold air slides down and stops in my garden. We usually do get frost here until the first week has passed in June, most perennials and trees manages it though.

      Lots of rain is predicted after the weekend but that’s something Sune doesn’t like🙂 He can shower and loves to take a bath but rain no🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Many lovely photos today. The legless lizard is cool. I’ve never seen one in real life. I’m not sure we have any lizards in my area anymore. The reptiles seem to disappear pretty quickly once development happens. I haven’t seen a snake around here in 15 years. I suspect my old dog Tegan got the last one I saw.
    It’s been murky weather here for a couple of days. Raindrops fall now and then but not very enthusiastically. Its the kind of rain you can walk around in for a long time and not really get wet. Just dampish.🙂
    A dog that likes to shower is a blessing especially if the same dog also likes to get dirty and smelly.🙂
    Enjoy the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I like that lizard and it isn’t that common any more. We only have three kinds of lizards here in Sweden and only one is pretty common of them. This one has been killed a lot because it looks like a snake but now days all snakes is protected by law so I hope people calmes down with the killing.

      Lots of rain here this last week but they say this weekend will be sunny and warm and rain will come on monday and continue the whole week. Nice that it for once is warm and sunny on a weekend🙂

      I’m glad Sune likes both🙂 But he’s so small that it would have been easy to shower him anyway. Not like big Ortvar because he hates it and is very strong as well🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Christer,
    I love fog, and your pictures of the houses bedecked in fog are wonderful.

    The season ending of Grimm was on the other night, and I cursed the ending: the To Be Continued part. Grrrrrrr!

    Have a great evening and weekend.

    • Hi Kat!

      I wish I could have stayed at home or been able to stop at many places on my way to work because it was so beautiful out there in the fog. But it isn’t healthy to stop on these roads when no one can see where one is🙂

      Sp a cliff hanger🙂 just like the first episode of the third season🙂 I’m so looking forward to every episode this summer🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. With a beautiful world like we have to live in, why do things have to go so wrong sometimes. Sometimes I am very happy I don’t have to go out into it anymore than I do. All that beauty…Christer…It’s wonderful! Wow..that’s cold for this time of year..

    • Hi Mona!

      The world is really beautiful, as long as we humans don’t meddle with it too much. The climate is going crazy and that’s our fault too I’m afraid. I could live happily ever after if I never had to leave this village again🙂 Even though the climate is a bit too cold for my taste🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Cindi!

      It’s a really nice lizard and even allows me to lift it up🙂 I’ll try to remember that until next time🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

