I think I’ll buy one of those inflatable children pools.

DSC_0001 (800x530)

 

The weather prognosis’ has been interesting this week, they started by telling we most possibly would get lots of rain all weekend and the closer we came the worse it got, then suddenly last evening they turned 180 degrees and told us we would get sunshine all over the country with some clouds covering the sun now and again. So I wasn’t the least surprised that most of the day has been cloudy🙂🙂🙂 It has however cleared up now in the afternoon.

 

All photographs in todays post have been taken with my latest camera and a 18-70mm lens so I could use the auto focus. My tired morning eyes won't focus sometimes :-) :-)

All photographs in todays post have been taken with my latest camera and a 18-70mm lens so I could use the auto focus. My tired morning eyes won’t focus sometimes🙂🙂

DSC_0009 (800x530)

DSC_0012 (800x525)

 

I’m not complaining about the clouds though, it is so much nicer to mow the lawn if the sun doesn’t burn all the time. I always clear the lawn from dog poo before mowing, of course. But it seems my dogs have a meeting every Saturday when I mow, they all gather together and the leader, most possibly Hector, says that You all know what day it is today. Please don’t do anything when we’re out walking but if You have to just let go of as little as possible. Just before he starts mowing run around the garden and spread the poop as good as You can🙂🙂🙂 It may be a silent mower but it is still a mower and they are evil and should be punished🙂

 

DSC_0013 (800x530)

A Blue Tit.

A Blue Tit. Busy days for them now🙂

DSC_0020 (800x529)

 

I had to clean both the pond pump and the filter today after Sune’s many baths. Once my pond was clear and I could almost see down to the bottom of it but after his first swim it got muddy and almost no water passed through the filter. It took me over an hour to dig out roots and mud from the pump and I had to lift the barrel that is the filter when it was full of water. It weighs over 25 kg (around 55 pounds) I normally carry that every day at work but this barrel is dug down and I’ve never thought of making some handles to make it easier to lift and carry🙂🙂🙂

 

DSC_0022 (800x530)

DSC_0024 (800x530)

I don't think we've has as many hares here as we have this year. Orvar stumbeled on a baby hare today and I could hear how angry that baby got, he yelled at Orvar so much that he walked away :-) I guess one has to be tough if growing up amongst animals that only wants to eat You :-)

I don’t think we’ve has as many hares here as we have this year. Orvar stumbeled on a baby hare today and I could hear how angry that baby got, he yelled at Orvar so much that Orvar walked away🙂 I guess one has to be tough if growing up amongst animals that only wants to eat You🙂

 

Now it works fine again and I hope the water will clear up quickly because the pond get so much more sunlight now when that half of the apple tree is gone, it wouldn’t be fun if it turns in to green slime. I still haven’t seen the fish I bought but I hope they still are there down by the bottom so the heron hasn’t been for a visit. I have three goldfish in my aquarium too that I plan of letting in to the pond later next week.

 

That pond needs a couple of karps that eats only plants so it won't be completely covered in plants.

That pond needs a couple of karps that eats only plants so it won’t be completely covered with vegetation.

DSC_0034 (800x529)

I didn't see the predator bird in the sky when I took a photo of the deer :-)

I didn’t see the predator bird in the sky when I took a photo of the deer🙂

 

I think I’ll buy one of those inflatable kid pools and fill it with water so that Sune can use that one instead, he would smell so much nicer after his bath if anything else🙂 It’s time to make a pot of coffee, I’m so tired after all this work that tea just isn’t enough🙂

 

DSC_0049 (800x532)

DSC_0004 (800x530)

Soon my apple trees will blossom.

Soon my apple trees will blossom.

 

Have a great day!

14 thoughts on “I think I’ll buy one of those inflatable children pools.

  1. hi christer! i always think that baby rabbits scream like little kids. we put 10 small fish in the ponds and most of them are missing. i see one or two occasionally. our weather forecasters get the weather right once in a while for maybe 2 days in advance. i watch all the different weather channels and try to decide for myself what might happen. i bet the little pool would be a hit with sune. who knows, maybe the others would take a dip too! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      Yes they do sound like screaming kids, awful actually. But this one sounded angry🙂 Very angry and Orvar got so surprised so he just looked at it when it jumped away🙂🙂

      I do hope my fish still are there in the pond🙂 They have no where else to go so if they are gone it’s the herong I will blame.

      I look at a new sight that puts together all the different weather predictions to one and it’s fairly gooI too think he would love a pool but I doubt the others would follow🙂🙂🙂

      have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Laurie!

      I think he would love a pool all for himself🙂

      This littke one sounded so angry🙂 Orvar just stood there looking at it when it ran away🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    My dog can only poop in one small area of the yard and I clean it up regularly. Even so, Rocky still manages to leave one or two for the lawn guy to squash. I’m not sure the lawn guy even knows he’s squashed some.
    I bought several plants for my non-existant garden. It’s been pouring rain since I bought them so I haven’t been able to plant. They’re sitting in their pots out in the driveway all soggy and depressed looking. I got an aquilegia, some orange scented mint, some oregano, parsley and basil, a couple of peppers, a couple of tomatoes and a couple of small flowering perennials that I have forgotten the name of. Maybe by Monday the weather will dry out enough to plant these poor things. The woodchuck will probably eat most of them but I live in hope.🙂
    A cheapo wading pool is a wonderful thing for a dog that likes water. Sune might get a lot of use out it and he might even leave the fish pone alone but that is not likely. Fish ponds smell better.🙂
    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I wish my dogs were like that, they have no problems spreading it around at all🙂🙂🙂

      I’m sort of glad we don’t have woodchucks here🙂 Do they eat the entire plant or “just” what shows above the ground? Our big problem is the vole, it eats the roots so the plant can look good and then just suddenly die. I found an entrance hole to a voles nest just outside my garden, not a good sign. I do hope Bertil will take it soon!

      I think he would love a pool of his own, the others would only drink water from it🙂 But as You say, the pond water smells and tastes so much better🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Woodchucks eat the above ground stuff but not all of it. They eat the flowers off some plants, the leaves and stalks off other plants or the just ripe fruits of vegetables. They can be quite discerning in their taste and they know when things are ripe before people can tell.
    We have voles, too, but not so many and they tend to eat pine tree roots.

    • So they are connoisseurs🙂 Like our roe deers, they just eat the most tasty parts of everything🙂

      Our water voles eats just anything even if itb is toxic, I don’t know how they manage to survive at all🙂

  4. I miss living in the type of countryside you live in…and from day one it reminded me of Oregon when I lived as a child.
    I guess I will miss it the rest of my life. You really did get a great action picture! Just beautiful!

    • Hi Mona!

      It’s either iving in a place like this or on an island for me🙂 But I’m more of a forest person than an ocean one even if I love the ocean🙂
      But I wouldn’t miss winters if I moved far south🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hope your fish survived Sune’s baths and any visits free predators. Have you considered any story of screening over the pond? Neighbors has problems with a heron dining on koi in their small pond. They eventually gave away the remaining koi, drained the pond and then filled it it. Now, you would never know it existed. I got some great dragonfly photos there years ago after we first moved here. Cutting the lawn can be challenging when neighbor’s pets use it, but the backyard is cut with Grenville’s tractor so he doesn’t have to worry about stepping in any surprises. We have had a full day of rain and windy days, but no complaints compared to other parts of the U.S. where the weather has produced such sadness and destruction.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      I think that if they still are there they will have survived his bath but a heron is a sure death. The plants make it hard to cover the pond though. But I’ll keep the pond even if I can’t have fish in it, I only have them there so they can eat most insect larvaes. Insects is something we have enoug of as it is🙂🙂🙂

      We’ll have rain every day this coming week but not much at all. I’m very grateful we don’t have those storms and tornadoes You have on Your side of the ocean even if we’ve had unusually many tiny tornadoes (we call them tromber) these last years.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. love the horse, but someone needs to braid the hair out of his eyes? do they do that?
    you could get one of those pools that you inflate the big top ring and then fill with water and it’s so big that you and all your dogs could sit in it!

    • Hi Cindi!

      That hair stops all the flies to get to the eyes so no braiding that🙂

      I must admit that I NEVER wouls sit in the same pool as any of my dogs🙂🙂🙂 and to be honest, it’s only Sune that loves to take a bath🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

