I’ve planted my walnut tree.

DSC_0003 (533x800)

 

They have arrived already, the horse flies! I can’t say I’m happy about it and I guess it’s meaningless to believe that this means their time will end early too🙂 One lady (yes all blood drinking insects are ladies because they need the protein in our blood to produce the new generation) landed on my arm and will land no more. She didn’t even get the time to bite me but many others will I’m afraid.  Last year was reasonably good after all, the rainy spring sort of made this place a paradise for them, I wonder if we’ll have to pay for that this year?

 

DSC_0004 (800x530)

They have put up a new fence in the pasture beside my cottage. Hopefully it will protect the sheep that will walk there against the Lynx (and wolves if they would pass).

They have put up a new fence in the pasture beside my cottage. Hopefully it will protect the sheep that will walk there against the Lynx (and wolves if they would pass).

It looks like the ventilation pipe wears a hat :-)

It looks like the ventilation pipe wears a hat🙂

 

The worst year, when it comes to horse flies was when I had lived here almost one year. It was so bad that we had to wear thick clothes, socks over our trousers, thick garden gloves and a mosquito hat too. It was an unusual hot summer that year so most of us tended not to go out those weeks the horse flies reigned🙂 I had to take walks with my dogs, at least short ones because they were bit too and I remember boiling all the time we were out there🙂🙂🙂 It hasn’t been that bad since then though.

 

Bertil showing off :-)

Bertil showing off🙂

DSC_0006 (529x800)

DSC_0008 (530x800)

 

The water in my pond was very clear this morning and it stayed that way until Sune jumped in to the pond again! Not once but twice! I really must remember to buy a pool of his own tomorrow on my way home, he might have made a hole in the rubber sheet because the water sank rather quickly after that. The sun shone all morning and the wind has been blowing pretty hard so that might also be the reason for the water level to sink that much. If there is a hole I do hope I will be able to find it, otherwise I must buy a new one. If I have to I’ll make the pond a bit bigger but I’m still hoping that it isn’t leaking.

 

DSC_0012 (800x530)

DSC_0013 (800x530)

DSC_0015 (800x527)

 

The sun is long gone now and according to the predictions it should rain here by now but it doesn’t. It’s rather warm anyway so today I planted the little black walnut I sowed over three years ago. It has been living in a high thin pot since then and in the cool cellar during winters. This is on the border to what a Black Walnut will manage to handle when it comes to survival. Not because our winters are so cold, it’s actually often more cold where they live as far north on the American continent during winters. No it is because we have such short and rather cool summers, they need a long hot summer to get enough energy to survive a cold winter.

 

DSC_0020 (800x530)

DSC_0022 (800x530)

DSC_0023 (800x530)

 

We’ve had plenty of butterflies flying around here for a while but very few bumblebees and wasps (yellojackets). But that has changed now, I can see bumblebees everywhere and I have chased a couple of wasps in my kitchen today. It’s the queens I can see now and they rather survive than risk getting killed so they tend to fly away without a fight🙂 Bees are dying all over the world so we need all kinds of pollinators we have, it’s a combination between pesticides they thought were harmless to bees and a mite that kills awfully many bees right now. The pesticides are now forbidden in the EU so now we have to get rid of those mites.

 

Forest star.

Forest star.

DSC_0007 (531x800)

DSC_0010 (800x530)

 

I do hope we’ll have Hornets here this year too, they are really big wasps and rather rare here in this country. There are lots of myths about the hornets, they are said to be especially aggressive and their poison is especially dangerous. It’s actually the opposite🙂 They rarely attack unless they fear for their lives and the poison is one of the weaker amongst the wasps. I have a bush in my garden, a Cotoneaster, that they seem to like especially much and I have never been stung even if I poked them around to get a good photo of them🙂

 

No use in trying to weed out dandelions in my garden when I live beside fields like this :-) Besides I like dandelions a lot :-)

No use in trying to weed out dandelions in my garden when I live beside fields like this🙂 Besides I like dandelions a lot🙂

My Black Walnut hasn'r grown much in three years. But I doubt I would have either if I was planted in a very thin but deep pot :-)

My Black Walnut hasn’r grown much in three years. But I doubt I would have either if I was planted in a very thin but deep pot🙂

I have made a pee protection since Orvar tends to pee on every little tree he can find in the garden. I have lost count on how many he has killed so far :-)

I have made a pee protection since Orvar tends to pee on every little tree he can find in the garden. I have lost count on how many he has killed so far🙂

 

It’s time to do the laundry and then a walk after the dogs have gotten their food. Tomorrow we’ll go to work again. I think the weekend should be at least three days long, two just pass way to quickly🙂

Have a great day!

10 thoughts on “I’ve planted my walnut tree.

  1. Hi Christer,
    All your pests seem to be so much more civilized than ours.🙂 Shy squirrels that don’t come near houses and eat all the bird food. English sparrows that don’t make huge communal nests in every bush and eave. Hornets that aren’t aggressive nasty-tempered insects. I guess you make up for it with the abundance of biting insects, though.🙂 I don’t envy the horseflies. Not many horses around here anymore so not so many horseflies or even deer flies. There are tons of mosquitoes, though.
    I love the pee barrier.😀
    The dreary weather here appears to be drying up a little. It’s brighter but it’s windy and cold out there. This would be a lovely day for late March but it’s miserable for late May.🙂
    Enjoy the rest of your day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I guess they behave much like we swedes do🙂🙂🙂 even our relatives to Your stink bugs are nice🙂 But as You say, we have loads of biting insects instead, I guess that’s the price we have to pay🙂 The mosquitoes I can take, I don’t feel the itching after a while, they say one get immune to it after a while. Not so with all the other biting nasty insects out there. But I’ve read about a fly in Finland that actually bites off a bit from the one they attack and thank god we don’t have that one🙂🙂🙂

      A friend of mine called the pee barrier shabby chic🙂 Finally I’m following a trend, that doesn’t happen often🙂🙂🙂

      It’s actually a really nice day here despite the wind and cloudy weather. No rain so far even if they say we’ll get it sooner or later.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. hi christer! your small black walnut looks healthy so i hope it makes it. i hope orvar doesn’t trample down the pee barrior! those flies would drive me crazy. i am very allergic to anything that bites me. i swell up like a balloon. i would be trapped in the house. today is our last cool day and then the heat is on again! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      It does look healthy and it made it through winter rather unharmed, not always the fact when keeping plants in the cool cellar during winter🙂 I’ll cover it lightly its first winter but after that it’s up to itself.

      This would be a hell hole for You during summer🙂 The bog is a perfect place for all kinds of biting insects🙂 I don’t think I’ve ever been at a place that has had more horse flies than this place. Not so many mosquitoes though🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. We are having a 3-day weekend here in the US, but I guess you cannot be too jealous of us as it seems like throughout the year you get many more long weekends than we do.🙂 I really liked the picture of the star flower. I wish I had those growing here.

    • Hi Charisse!

      No I’m not jeralous🙂 I’ll have a four day weekend the first week in June🙂 Besides, my vacation starts on week 28 and then I’ll be home for four weeks -)

      It is a beautiful little flower, I had it in my gaeden for a while but the Wood anemone took over instead.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Bertil can get down once he gets up there, can’t he? I have know cats to climb up and then get stuck on telephone poles..I remember one man who thought his cat would come down when it got hungry enough…and days later when the cat was dehydrated and half dead he finally called someone to come help him save the cat. Never knew how that all turned out!
    I do like that cat!
    A long weekend here..paying honor to those who have passed..rather sad day but most eat and drink and rather make merry! Strange, isn’t it? 🙂
    We are having very strange weather here in the U.S. Snow in the north east..I mean three ft. of it! 🙂
    Have a great weekend, Christer.
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!

      Yes he’s a master climber. His brother on the other hand has big problems climbing down, one day it took me several hours to talk him down from a high birch🙂 Nowdays he only climbs the apple trees in the garden🙂 Some cats just don’t get it, they try going down with their heads first and thgat’s impossible for them.

      No it isn’t strange, shouldn’t we remeber those not with us any longer with joy and laughter? and food never hurts🙂

      3 feet of snow!!! Suddenly I’m happy that we get rain here🙂🙂🙂

      have a great day my friend!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

