Have You heard about the Paper House in Rockport Massachusetts?

The clouds looked a bit strange yesterday evening.

The clouds looked a bit strange yesterday evening.

 

I had forgotten how much young dogs can destroy in a garden when having fun🙂🙂🙂 Sune and Nova have been running around like crazy and anything in their way breaks🙂 But they’re having so much fun that I really can’t get angry at them🙂 I’ll have to check the pond this coming weekend because I’m pretty sure Sune tore a hole in it when trying to get up from the water after taking his bath🙂 It is rather easy to fix if I just can find the hole, I doubt it’s tiny though because the water sank rapidly.

 

One of mine because she  just stayed there looking at us even if we were pretty close and she knew that we knew she was there.

One of mine because she just stayed there looking at us even if we were pretty close and she knew that we knew she was there.

Cherry blossoms.

Cherry blossoms.

We have lots of crab apple trees in this area.

We have lots of crab apple trees in this area.

 

The other week I read about a swede that had moved to the USA in the late eighteen hundreds. He moved to a town called Cambridge, now days a part of Boston. He and his family wanted to get away from the hectic city life so he built a house in Rockport Massachusetts, he made it from newspapers! He read three different papers every day and other people who thought this was interesting gave him even more.

 

I actually have six apple trees in my own garden :-) Five of them flowers now. Two gives tiny apples but the rest is normal sized.

I actually have six apple trees in my own garden🙂 Five of them flowers now. Two gives tiny apples but the rest is normal sized.

DSC_0014 (800x530)

DSC_0015 (800x530)

Every variety has a slightly different flowers compared to the others.

Every variety has a slightly different flower compared to the others.

DSC_0017 (800x530)

 

He glued (a glue he made himself from water, flour, apple peels and other things he thought would be good🙂  ) together 215 sheets in every sort of brick and one can still read what it says on the top sheet of every brick🙂 he sort of made a wooden frame for every paper brick and started building his house. He not only built the house this way but also every furniture except for the grand piano🙂 The furnace got a little different look because he made that from the weekend supplement that was made from a more glossy paper🙂🙂🙂 Even a grandfather clock was made from newspapers🙂

 

Trees don't grow fast here, this oak is at least 18 years old.

Trees don’t grow fast here, this oak is at least 18 years old.

DSC_0022 (800x519)

DSC_0024 (800x530)

 

The house had both running water and electricity but he never built any bathroom, they used the common toilet they had in the neighborhood.  The house still stands after 90 years and they varnish the house every year but visitors tend to make holes in the walls when they can, they try to fix it as good as they can though. So if You ever travel to Rockport Massachusetts why don’t make a visit to the Paper house?

 

DSC_0025 (800x530)

DSC_0031 (800x528)

DSC_0032 (800x530)

 

My cottage isn’t made from newspapers but I’m pretty sure I can find some behind the wallpaper if I would like to rip it of one day🙂

 

DSC_0030 (800x530)

DSC_0028 (800x530)

DSC_0029 (800x530)

 

Have a great day!

 

Ranunkulus amplexicalus, a white flowering buttercup relative.

Ranunkulus amplexicalus, a white flowering buttercup relative.

12 thoughts on “Have You heard about the Paper House in Rockport Massachusetts?

  1. hi christer! that is so interesting. i never heard of that house and we always stayed in rockport on our trips. i guess i never really checked into any rockport history though. your blossoms are so beautiful. i finally uncovered all of my plants. now it will get very hot here. i am betting things will really grow fast now with the heat. but then i will also be back to watering too. bertil looks so cute! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      I wonder if the do any PR about that house? Sometimes they think that reputation is the only thing needed. But since visitors tend to poke holes in it it might be best not to make it too well known🙂

      It’s rather warm here now and since the nights are mostly cloudy there’s no risk for frost at the moment. But we won’t be sure until after the first week in June. But I have the most sensitive plants close to the cottage wall on my patio and they made it last Friday night. Finally the ground is dry enough to sit down on here -)

      He is a cute little nasty cat🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Lovely shots of Bertil. Could you tell which doe that was or just that it was one of yours because it didn’t run?

    I used to go to Rockport all the time because it’s just up the road a piece from me. I knew about the paper house but never went there. It’s one of those things that happens when you live near tourist attractions.🙂 I didn’t know that it was built by someone from Sweden. There are a lot of weird things like that in this country.
    My house has paper lining in the plumbing addition. That’s the “new” part of the house which was put on when the old owners decided to get indoor plumbing. The walls are insulated with local newspapers from 1919.

    Cantabrigians would disagree that Cambridge is part of Boston. Cambridge is world all its own.🙂

    It’s a beautiful day here, finally. The rain has gone away and the temperature is perfect. The only thing that isn’t perfect is that I have no car. There’s lots to do around here but it’s all indoor stuff and I don’t want to be inside. I’ve poked around the growing things outside but they don’t need any more poking. If I dead head the pansies any more they will have no blossoms at all.🙂
    I will sit on the top step and soak up some vitamin D.😀
    Enjoy the rest of your day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I think this is Lotta but I’m not sure. I recognise her head but I’m still not sure. But the fact that she stayed despite we were so close shows that she’s one of the regular here at the cottage. Those that are here seldom or not at all run like crazy as soon as they see us🙂🙂🙂

      It is like that, if one lives close to something it’s most likely the last place one visits🙂 It took me 13 years to go to the littke lake north of here🙂 and I still haven’t been to the other lake in the bog🙂

      I found lots of old newspapers when I tore down the wallpaper in the first cottage I lived in here in this county. Some were from the second world war and quite interresting but there were older ones too.

      I only wrote what the newspaper said, I do hope no one from Cambridge read my blog🙂🙂🙂

      No good news about Your carv yet?

      I would just enjoy the day outside, what ever You have to do indoors will most likely not dissapear so You can do those things later🙂 It’s raining here but it’s rather warm and nice anyway🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • I haven’t seen any one here from my Cambridge so no worries. I share you on Facebook, though, so some of my Cambridge friends may have seen you.
        No news either way. It’s a holiday weekend here so no garages or car rentals are open. I won’t know anything until Tuesday or Wednesday.
        I changed a light bulb in the overhead pantry light. Then I went outside and planted an aquilegia and watered the new grass just in case. Pizza delivery guy came then so I’m done for the day.🙂

      • Well lets hope they understand it’s my morning paper that says they are from Boston🙂🙂🙂

        I hope they canb fix Your car! I hate buying another one since I tend to see my cars as family members🙂🙂🙂

        I wonder if they deliver pizza this far from any of the two closest towns here. I doubt it though, just as well because I only eat pizza once or twice a year🙂

        Christer.

  3. Beautiful apple blossoms, they must smell wonderful. I have never heard of the paper house, it sounds odd. And why do tourists have to poke holes in it! Ridiculous.
    Looks like Bertil is doing yoga!

    • Hi Robin!

      The wind blows so hard that it’s impossible to feel any smell🙂 But I did get close and yes it smelled very nice🙂

      It is an odd house but it seems to work! Perhaps it’s a good way to build a house, I mean paper isolates good tro be honest.

      Tourists are tourists and for some reason they all behave strangely🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Christer,

    I have been to Rockport several times but never heard of the paper house. Now you have me intrigued to visit. I think the next time I visit my sister, we’ll head up coast to see it. The drive isn’t all that far from her house.

    • Hi Kat!

      I’m glad I could tell You something that Ypou didn’t know about :-)You must tell me what it’s like if You go there!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. I follow a blog that the guy goes to Rockport every now and then. He’s talked about the Art there and the boats and the cool houses but never the Paper House. Hmmm how interesting. I will have to Goggle it.

Leave a Reply

