Perhaps it’s best to buy a new sheet for the pond?

Building up to become a thunder cloud.

Building up to become a thunder cloud.

 

I think we’ll get thunder later tonight, it’s a bit too warm to be honest since it has been cloudy most part of the day and I have seen clouds building up to thunderclouds. Those however are already gone because the wind is pretty strong both here on the ground and way up there in the sky.

 

Redberried Baneberry.

Redberried Baneberry. We call it Troll grape and it’s very toxic.

My newest neighbors.

My newest neighbors.

DSC_0007 (800x511)

 

The water level in the pond has sunk yet a bit and perhaps it’s best to just buy a new rubber sheet instead of repairing the one I now have? I might not find the holes if it is tiny and if it’s big it might be hard to fix anyway. But I just don’t want to take it all up again, especially not now when everything grows so good both in and around the pond. Well if I do I’ll make it bigger than it is now, both longer and deeper. Especially deeper since it has frozen all the way down to the bottom a twice now, still I had dug down as far as I should to make it safe from freezing that much🙂

 

DSC_0008 (800x519)

DSC_0009 (800x530)

A human being in one of my photographs, that doesn't happen often :-)

A human being in one of my photographs, that doesn’t happen often🙂

 

I’ve sown two different kinds of blue mountain poppies and now they have started to germinate. They are a bit tricky even if one knows how to do. Firstly they must be kept in high humidity and rather high temperature but as soon as they have started growing they must have cool nights, preferably just above 10C (50F) . They don’t like to be replanted either so I usually fail with them when doing that🙂 Today I’ll sow two species of Mock Oranges.

 

DSC_0013 (800x530)

DSC_0015 (800x530)

DSC_0019 (800x530)

 

My biggest apple tree get visited by a small flock of starlings every morning, they eat a big black fly that seems to love that apple tree. I have no idea what kind of fly it is and if it’s useful in any way. I stay away from it since it doesn’t bother me, to be honest it doesn’t seem to do anything but sit on the branches of that apple tree all day🙂 We had a starling here for many years that sounded like a cuckoo clock🙂 I always looked forward to when it would arrive🙂 But starlings don’t get that old so now I can only hope that another one comes along that sounds the same🙂

DSC_0025 (800x530)

DSC_0027 (800x530)

DSC_0029 (800x530)

 

It’s time to make a pot of tea and something to eat. My dogs are sleeping all over the cottage and not even the hammering from my neighbor is interesting enough to make them get up. Tomorrow I’ll work over time, oh how I wish I hadn’t agreed to that🙂

 

Paris quadrifolia. We call it Snake berry and it's also toxic. A relative to the Trilliums.

Paris quadrifolia. We call it Snake berry and it’s also toxic. A relative to the Trilliums.

Have a great day!

8 thoughts on “Perhaps it’s best to buy a new sheet for the pond?

  1. hi christer! what happened to the fish in the pond? i think sune needs a swimming pool! i am trying to figure out what i can plant where my good arborvitaes died. i need something which will grow tall but not need much light. this could be tricky! we finally got a bit of rain but so far not enough to make a difference. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      There are so much roots there that I can’t see to the bottom yet, but I’ll take a look as often as possible and catch them if I see them. They can stay in my aquarium until I know what to do.

      I’ve been looking at something that You can plant but so far I’ve been unsuccessful. But I’ll keep looking, sooner or later I might find something🙂

      We get the occasional shower here but not much to be honest. It’s still rather wet in the ground so the rain can stay away for sime time more🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Wouldn’t those sheep be your ewest neighbors?🙂 Sorry, couldn’t help the pun.
    That rock you keep showing always looks like a very large sleeping animal. I have to look closely every time to be sure.
    I kind of like starlings but they are not some much trouble around these parts. They will make nests in the siding of buildings but only one pair at a time. In other parts of the country they have become a huge pest because they gather in massive flocks and devastate crops. Another European species that became less than polite when transplanted to the New World.🙂
    Relatively good news about the jeep. It’s running and I can drive it. The impact broke the fuel pump inside the gasoline tank so it wasn’t pumping fuel. There’s more damage to the vehicle than I thought but nothing structural. The insurance company will probably total it anyway because it’s 9 years old and has over 127,000 miles on it.
    Sorry about the pond sheet. If you have to pull it all out, at least it’s a good opportunity to make it more the way you want. Have you looked into some kind of solar operated heater to keep some of the pond unfrozen during the winter?
    Enjoy the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      So true🙂🙂🙂 Puns are the trademark of my old home town🙂

      That rock always make me think of a bear🙂 But there’s a big juniper on my way home from work that really looks like a bear from a distance🙂 Thankfully it’s not because it would be huge🙂
      Starlings can be a pain here too but especially down in Europe. Those we have here mostly stays around the cattle eating all the flies🙂 To many European species have become pests all around the world, some even here in Europe like the Spanish forest slug. Another pest that seems to have artived to Sweden comes from the new world however, the raccoon. They have caught one with a camera in southern sweden. Hunters says they have been here for quite som time but no one has ever been able to photograph it until now.

      So it could be worse with the car but then again, it’s the insurance company that has the final wpord in this I guess.

      I really have the pond I want but it has its limities since it’s so small. A bigger pond would be easier to maintain. I do hope this isn’t a job made by a vole or mole because then there will be problems no matter what I do. Well I could place a thin layer of concrete around the pond walls beneath the rubber sheet, that would most likely stop even a vole🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Starlings are not my favorite species of birds as there are far too many of them whenever I fill the feeders. They are such hogs and so scare away all other birds…wish they would stick to eating only flies! Hope you do find out the mystery of where the fish are hiding…if they are still in the pond. Working overtime will give you some extra money to get the new liner.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      They aren’t that bad here but I guess that they are awful when they nest beside the big fioelds og wheat, rye and all those crops. I can often see them (and Jackdaws) on the backs of cattle, lots of flies to catch there🙂

      The fish mystery is solved, more about that in todays post.

      There’s no money in the world that makes it worth working over time🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

