The rescue mission went well.

DSC_0025 (800x530)

 

No money in the world is worth the part of life one loose when working over time, especially not when the weather is as nice as it is on afternoons. The days can be gloomy and rainy but the sun starts to shine around the time when we leave work. Very strange indeed since it usually is the other way around🙂

 

What I see from my kitchen. It's hard to see that it's just half the tree it was last year :-)

What I see looking out  my kitchen window. 

DSC_0003 (800x530)

DSC_0004 (800x530)

 

I took a look into the pond after we had taken our walk after I had come home in the evening, there was very little water left. It’s a bit of a lie to say that it was water, mud is a more proper word I think🙂 Roots from the irises and other plants were hanging down the walls and I guess those roots suck up a lot of water ao I can’t really look for an injury in the rubber sheet when the water has stopped sinking. But that much is clear, it isn’t Sune that is guilty of this. But if it isn’t him, what made a hole in the pond? A vole?

 

DSC_0009 (800x519)

DSC_0010 (800x530)

DSC_0015 (800x499)

 

Anyway, I tried to see the koi’s but the water was just too muddy but then I saw the water surface move a little and the rescue mission started. I have a rather fragile landing net attached to a long bamboo stick so I used that as good as I could. It’s amazing how roots can break things🙂 I had rescued the first koi when I heard the stick crack some, it cracked once again when I finally caught the second one and I didn’t think it would hold together when I finally got the third one.

 

DSC_0019 (800x530)

DSC_0020 (800x530)

DSC_0022 (800x530)

 

There wasn’t much time so I tossed the fish straight in to the aquarium, normally I take it very easy when moving from one kind of water to another but the bowl I had placed them in was too small and the water was just too muddy.  But they survived and is now swimming around with the three goldfish that I had planned to move to the pond this weekend. I’ll check what a repair set will cost and I’ll also check what a bigger rubber sheet will cost. If I’ll buy a bigger sheet I’m thinking of casting a thin layer of concrete on the soil so that no vole, mole or rat can chew its way through and make another hole in it🙂

 

DSC_0027 (800x511)

It's hard to see that my apple tree is just half of what it was last year :-)

It’s hard to see that my apple tree is just half of what it was last year🙂

DSC_0032 (800x530)

 

But by now You all know that I take my time when it comes to projects like this🙂🙂🙂 After all, this pond area wasn’t finished and I’ve been working with it for more than five years🙂 I also have to start building that green house I’ve been talking about for several years🙂 Well it’s time to make a pot of tea and something to eat. Tomorrow’s Friday and next week will be a three day working week🙂

 

DSC_0040 (800x530)

DSC_0041 (800x530)

DSC_0046 (800x530)

 

Have a great day!

8 thoughts on “The rescue mission went well.

  1. hi christer! glad you were able to save the fish. why do you only work 3 days next week? did you get my email about my big maple that they neighbor cut the roots? a lot of the new leaves are dying and lots of leaves are growing close to the trunk? do you have any idea what is happening to it? joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      I haven’t checked my mail for a while so I’ll do it as soon as I’m finished here.

      Our National Day is on Thursday June sixth and I’ve taken the day off on Friday. We have lots to do so we were only a few that were allowed to do that🙂

      I’m glad they survived but I was worried that the water change from the pond to the aquarium would be too much. But they are alive and well still🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Well, I’m glad to learn that Sune isn’t the culprit and the koi are safe. Should there be all those roots and things in the pond? The small ponds I’ve seen usually have the plants sunk in pots or staged on platforms under the water. The plants around the pond are in the ground, of course.
    Swedish voles definitely are not as polite as my voles. My voles don’t eat rubber. Squirrels and rats would if the pay off was sufficiently tasty.🙂
    There were bad thunderstorms here over night and now it is very warm. There will be a heat wave for the next few days. Not my favorite weather. I like it no more than 75ºF.
    Of course the day turned nice as soon as your overtime started. It’s a rule.🙂
    Enjoy the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I guess Sune just was unlycky that the pond broke around the same time he started taking baths in it🙂🙂🙂

      I have special pond pots and the roots are supposed to grow out from them. They have filled the platforms the pots stands on and started to grow down towards the bottom🙂

      Our voles are nasty🙂 Wu stop digging just because there’s something in the way? Just chew through it and continue. Too bad it didn’ drown because the water sank a bit too slow for the hole to be a big one. We only have the red squirrel here, no on the ground like You have so voles have no competition at all -)

      We rarely get it warmer than 75 here, round 70 is more normal to be honest.

      The strange thing is that the nice weather continued even after I had come home🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Christer,
    I see you have your own spawns of Satan with which to deal. I swear, though, that they will find a way around anything you devise to keep them out of that pond.

    I am so glad you were able to rescue the koi. They are such beautiful fish, and now I can add hearty to the description.

    I haven’t done what I expected to do but I found other things to do to fill the space. Tomorrow will be my buy the flowers day. I just couldn’t disappoint Gracie when she saw me bringing the trash outside so off we went to the dump. I stopped to buy some ice coffee so the trip was worthwhile.

    Have a wonderful evening!!

    • Hi Kat!

      I trarely have any problems with them though since I have mostly sand and gravel instead of soil in my garden🙂 But they do get in here from time to time and eat anything and everything they can find.Naturalöly they will find a way to get aroung what ever I come up with🙂🙂🙂 If not a water vole might just move in to the pond🙂 No matter how pretty they are I really don’t want them here🙂

      I would have done the same and went to the dump with Gracie🙂 Flowers can be bought just any day🙂 If I buy any it’s gia the internet now days🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

