First day of summer.

DSC_0006 (800x532)

 

It’s the first day of summer and they said we most likely would get rain and thunder today but so far we’ve mostly seen the sun all day. Clouds are however gathering around us so they might get it right eventually🙂 It has been very warm but I can’t say how warm though, the sensor on the digital thermometer was lying on the cold gravel outside the bathroom window🙂 I did wonder how it only could be 19C (66,2F) when it was impossible to even move an arm without sweating🙂🙂🙂

 

DSC_0004 (800x531)

I think we came too close to her baby because she made sure we saw her all the time and she was in no hurry to leave us. They can actually attack if they think their baby is in danger.

I think we came too close to her baby because she made sure we saw her all the time and she was in no hurry to leave us. They can actually attack if they think their baby is in danger.

I thgink this is Lotta so she knows us well and just slowly walked away.

I think this is Lotta so she knows us well and just slowly walked away.

DSC_0018 (800x531)

 

Mowing the lawn is never fun but in this heat it would have been awful if it wasn’t for a gentle breeze, it was just enough to keep me from boiling🙂 As I was mowing the lawn I suddenly saw two black dogs passing on the road outside my garden and I recognized them very well🙂 I have no idea where Sune and Hector had been but I could see that they were heading towards the neighbor farm, the farm Sune visited some time ago barking like crazy🙂 I can’t help it but I think it’s very fun to watch two dogs trying to get through a closed gate when they realize that I’ve seen them🙂🙂🙂

 

DSC_0020 (800x532)

DSC_0021 (800x532)

DSC_0023 (800x532)

DSC_0024 (800x532)

 

I must remember to buy new mosquito nets this week, the old ones was more or less ripped apart by Sune last autumn🙂 It is something with hanging things and puppies, they just can’t let what ever it is be. If they can tear it down they will or at least destroy it while trying🙂🙂🙂 I also must remember to buy that pool for Sune, now he doesn’t even have the pond to swim around in🙂 I actually watered all plants in the pond today, something I never believed I had to do🙂

 

DSC_0030 (800x500)

DSC_0032 (800x532)

DSC_0034 (800x531)

A few of the smaller tombs we have here in the village.

A few of the smaller tombs we have here in the village.

 

Tonight I’ll start counting on how much rubber sheet I will have to buy if I make the pond bigger and how much it would cost, I’m already feeling tired of all that work it will be digging for a bigger pond🙂🙂🙂 At the same time I must start building that green house of mine that I’ve been talking about these last five years🙂🙂🙂 To be honest, it isn’t that much work building it, I just need to get my thumbs out of my ass (swedish saying) and start doing it. After all, most of it is windows anyway🙂

 

We have lots of Rowan's here and the smell from the flowers is almost too much now.

We have lots of Rowan’s here and the smell from the flowers is almost too much now.

DSC_0039 (800x513)

DSC_0040 (800x531)

DSC_0045 (800x532)

 

It is time to make a pot of coffee. I’ll be sitting on the kitchen stairs enjoying the evening as long as the sun still shines. So if You’re in the neighborhood just come by, I’ll make enough coffee for all of us🙂

 

I don't think my Haberlea (Haberlea rhodopensis) ever have flowered this fantastic like it odes now. It's a realtive to the African violet.

I don’t think my Haberlea (Haberlea rhodopensis) ever have flowered this fantastic like it odes now. It’s a realtive to the African violet.

The Aquilegas are just starting to open up too.

The Aquilegas are just starting to open up too.

DSC_0050 (800x530)

My Black walnut is still standing and in one piece too :-)

My Black walnut is still standing and in one piece too🙂

Have a great day!

6 thoughts on “First day of summer.

  1. oh no…sune is getting hector in trouble! i don’t know if we have rowans here. is there another name for them? i just came back from amish country and i bought 3 more tomatoes. i have almost 50 tomato plants now. it poured here this morning for about 2 seconds so still no drought relief. i am sick of watering and there is a lot of summer ahead!

    • Hi Joyce!

      Well, Hector was pretty good in getting in trouble when he was younger🙂🙂 But it seems that Sune is number two in this pack of mine. Nova is number one still though🙂

      I think You call them Mountain Ash instead of Rowans.

      Do they have old varieties of Tomatoes in Amish country? I have only 10 tomato plants here🙂

      No rain still and lots of sunshine too but the clouds are big and dark around the village now🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Thumbs out of ass is an expression over here, too. Sometimes we replace thumbs with head.🙂
    My aquilegia is almost done. I bought it well in flower so that is not surprising. The one I planted last year is doing nothing. It came up a few inches and now it sits. I would suspect that it is not an aquilegia except that the leaves are a match.
    That mossy rock really does look like a shaggy animal all curled up in the shade. It would be some kind of ice age megafauna like a giant bison perhaps. Something that has a lot of muscle and fur on the front end.
    Sune took Hector for a walk to visit the neighbors? They must have looked a bit sheepish when they knew you had seen them.
    Rocky has been antsy these last couple of very hot days. He likes to go out and lie on the hot asphalt sidewalk and then come back inside when he gets too warm. He doesn’t understand why the door can’t be open 24/7 for his convenience. Heat is good. We must let it all in. I sent him off to doggy day care today. He can play with the other dogs, inside or out, as he chooses. They have wading pools and beach umbrellas. I should have it so good.🙂
    Enjoy the rest of your day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      We have that other part too🙂 Nice that sayings can be the same all over🙂

      If You cut off the flowers from the aquilegas before they start making seeds they will most likely start flowering again. No seeds means failiur and makes it try again to flower to create seeds.

      I like that stone but getting closer to it makes it look like an altar🙂 It was originally a stone in the foundation to a barn I think.

      They did look very guilty when I said their names out loud and just didn’t know what to do at the beginning🙂🙂🙂 My dogs are just the same when it comes to open doors during summer🙂 If it is warm outside the door should stay open all hours of the day🙂 But I don’t think I ever would see any of them on warm asphalt🙂 Thery try to stay cool for as long as possible🙂

      It would be nice with a pool🙂 At least those three days every summer it’s hot enough🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Great photos of all the flowering trees and shrubs., sheep and cows, horses and doggies. Looking forward to pictures of Sune in his pool. We are all still very grief-strickened here, so sad. The kittens and Gwennie are looking for Lexie all over. Wish I could explain it to them, but then I can barely explain it to myself.

    • Hi Robin!

      It’s heart breaking when the other cats and dogs looks for the one not with us any longer. Old CViran kept on looking for old Sickan every day until her time was over, more than five years and it was awful seeing it, I so wish I could have explained to her what had happened.

      Photo’s of Sune will come as soon as I can remember to buy that pool🙂

      Have a nice day.

      Christer.

Leave a Reply

