Finally the thunder came for a visit.

DSC_0020 (800x532)

 

It felt even warmer here this morning and there was a tension in the air that gossiped about a thunderstorm approaching. It never came yesterday but it did today. It was rather harmless though and we spent most of it sleeping upstairs with the bedroom window open. The rainfall never got any worse than a nice summer rain and it continues to stay like that.

 

I think this is a Whitebeam flowering, it's a bit to big to be a Rowan.

I think this is a Whitebeam flowering, it’s a bit to big to be a Rowan.

DSC_0023 (800x532)

 

I have a lack of spiders in my home, normally I have at least one in every corner of every room in my cottage but now there’s none. I need those spiders to eat lots of flies here and I’m wondering what’s happened to them? Did it take too long for spring to arrive so they all died of starvation? I might have one in my bathroom though, I think I saw one a few weeks back. It’s funny really, if anyone had told me, when I lived in Gothenburg; that I would want more spiders in my home I would have told them they were crazy🙂 Arachnophobia and I were best friends🙂

 

Four different deers that rather have me and my dogs looking at them than looking for their young ones.They make no effort to run away at all.

Four different deers that rather have me and my dogs looking at them than looking for their young ones.They make no effort to run away at all.

DSC_0025 (800x534)

DSC_0029 (800x532)

DSC_0033 (800x532)

 

I’m thinking of growing the peppers I have in the open this year. If the summer gets warm and sunny it might actually work but that doesn’t happen often here. I’ve never heard anyone doing that up here in the north though, I know some grow special kinds of tomatoes though that originates from Siberia but never peppers.

 

DSC_0030 (800x532)

Is that possibly a hare on the road?

Is that possibly a hare on the road?

Yes it was. Too many of those here now.

Yes it was. Too many of those here now.

 

I’ve planted a magnolia just before the thunder arrived, it’s not one of those I sowed last year (M. acuminata, Cucumbertree  that comes from North America and probably is the hardiest magnolia there is, those still have a year or two in pots before I plant them), This one I sowed four years ago I think and is the M. obovata, the Japanese big leaf magnolia. Magnolias have problems surviving here but I never stop trying. One day I might get one of those few that is a bit hardier than they are supposed to be🙂

 

The clouds did look nasty.

The clouds did look nasty.

But the dark sky did make the different greens look so much better

But the dark sky did make the different shades of green look so much better

DSC_0005 (800x532)

 

The nice summer rain has now transformed in to a nice summer drizzle and it looks as if the clouds are breaking up again. The air is cool and fresh again and I think I’ll spend some time outdoors replanting and sowing. Almost all perennials I planted last summer is dead but a few have shown their faces now but I have no idea what it might be :-)I’m hoping for the Japanese Butterfly bush and perhaps the Hardy Petunia. It isn’t a petunia at all but a Ruellia that looks much like a petunia.

 

This is the first time my Sorbus koehneana will flower. I sowed it almost ten years ago :-) The big Rowan doesn't flower though.

This is the first time my Sorbus koehneana will flower. I sowed it almost ten years ago🙂 The big Rowan doesn’t flower though.

DSC_0003 (800x532)

The flowers on the Wolf willow is anything but showy but they smell very nice.

The flowers on the Wolf willow is anything but showy but they smell very nice.

 

But before I’ll do anything else I’ll make myself something to eat and a pot of tea after that. All my pets are about to get their food too so I better stop here🙂

 

The Turkish rhubarb is about to flower.

The Turkish rhubarb is about to flower.

The Aronia started a few days ago.

The Aronia started a few days ago.

This Oxalis sprreads like crazy here. Started out as a pot flower and now it grows everywhere here in Sweden :-) Nice red leafs though.

This Oxalis sprreads like crazy here. Started out as a pot flower and now it grows everywhere here in Sweden🙂 Nice red leafs though.

 

Have a great day!

14 thoughts on “Finally the thunder came for a visit.

  1. hi christer! i swear it is raining everywhere but here. we had big storms headed this way this morning but they all missed us. all i do is water! this is the driest spring i can remember. i am having my roof replaced starting on tuesday so i guess it is a good thing! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      I’m guessing that the moment they start working on that roof storms and rain will come🙂 That’s just how things work, isn’t it🙂 I think we might get more thunder and rain here soon, the clouds are getting darker and the air cooler again.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    I set one of my spiders free this morning. Perhaps she will go to your bathroom instead of mine.🙂
    It’s a bit less hot here today and there is a lovely breeze that makes the house even cooler. I can take this kind of summer heat. The weather report says it is either 84ºF or 87ºF but feeling like 91ºF. I think I will go with the first one. It feels better.🙂
    I have planted two tomatoes this morning as well as a spicy oregano and a basil plant. The woodchuck will leave them alone and won’t steal the tomatoes until just before I think they are ripe enough. Evil beast.
    I still have some parsley and orange scented mint to plant. I bought two hanging baskets for the front steps thinking that they would be okay for my tall brackets. Nope. They are so heavy that they bend the post forward. I upended some decorative planters and put the baskets on them. I cut the hanger hooks off but the plants look very unhappy out there in all that sun.
    One peony bush is mostly in flower. All the buds just popped open yesterday, I guess. The other one will probably open tomorrow or next day. I’ll stick the pictures up on FB.
    The oxalis is interesting. Is the red the flower or the leaf color? Oxalis in my yard is the yellow flowered kind.
    Enjoy the rest of the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Who knows, the thing is that an American spider seems to love this country so we have lots of them in our homes now. I think all my Charlott’s I’ve had here was the American spider🙂 To bad I can’t remember it’s name.

      I think we’ll get more thunder here soon, the clouds are getting darker again and the air cooler too. Or it might just pass os further west but as long as it gets cooler I won’t complain🙂

      Could You perhaps fool the woodchuck by planting garlicaround the tomato plants? It can actually work on our voles but it takes a lot of garlic though🙂

      I tend not to plant in pots, firstly I forget to water them or cover them from all rain we get and they tend to fall when things have grown too well🙂 I only have my small trees in pots and the fun thing is that I usually remeber to care for them🙂

      I have some bigish buds on my peonies but they won’t open up for some time yet, I’ll keep my eyes open when I visit FB.

      It’s the leafs that are red and the flowers are yellow like Yours. No one even thought they would survive here in the beginning🙂🙂🙂 But I kind of like them because they don’t push anything else away when spreading. I even have them in my lawn🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • I googled American spiders in Sweden. The Swedish museum of natural history says that the Black Widow Spider is well established in parts of Sweden. They are venomous so don’t poke them if they show up in your bathroom.🙂
        Here’s the link.
        http://www.thelocal.se/14306/20080912/

      • Hi Caryn!

        Well I must admit that I didn’t know that!!! The one I’m talking about is quite harmless. Strangely enough I know how a Black Widow looks🙂 but I wonder if I would have thought of that if I actually saw one here, probably not and with a most likely painful result🙂🙂🙂 I’ll check that link after this! Thanks!

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

  3. You are right about all the shades of green in your photos of the dark cloudy skies…really nice contrasts.
    I am way behind in my planting of course, so who knows what might grow for me this year.
    I love that oxalis! Have only ever had it in pots.

    • Hi Robin!

      Yes the dark sky really brings out the best in the different green shades.

      I would be surprised if You weren’t behind in Your planting! It must have been an awful time these last months!

      We too had only had them in pots🙂 Who could have guessed it would thrive in our climate -)🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. We have had summer arrive here too this week in the form of unseasonably hot weather, which is not unusual here, but not so early. I am not fond of spiders so would gladly give any found to you, Christer, but then I am also not a fan of flies and kill any that managed to get indoors. Good luck with the pepper plants. Ours are still small but surviving, so far, as are the tomato plants. We downsized a lot and only have 2 plants of each now.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      It’s unusual warm here too but from what I can remember it’s always unusually warm for the season every year at this time of year🙂

      I prefer spiders befor flies so anything that eats flies is welcome in my cottage🙂

      I doubt that the pepper plants will give any peppers unless I plant them towards a south heading wall but I’ll try it anyway. I might get lucky and get a warm and sunny summer🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. How could one not have a nice day after visiting Joyce, Beatrice P. Boyd and now you! 🙂 You all make me smile and make me glad to be alive.🙂

Leave a Reply

