That was something I didn’t know!

DSC_0002 (800x531)

Up till now I’ve always thought our most poisonous spider was a water spider that was as dangerous as a bee sting, but Caryn gave me a link to an article that tells us that the Black Widow spider now is established here, our climate fits it well and it seems to thrive here. That was something I really didn’t like to know🙂🙂🙂 I actually know how a Black Widow looks and so does most probably every spider interested kid here too but would anyone of us actually realize what it is if we found one🙂🙂 :-)So far most that have been bitten only have had milder symptoms though.

DSC_0006 (800x532)

DSC_0008 (800x531)

I've always been intrigued by this trailor. I guesse it comes from the army in the beginning but now I think it's used by the ones cutting down the forest every now and again.

I’ve always been intrigued by this trailer. I guess it comes from the army in the beginning but now I think it’s used by the ones cutting down the forest every now and again.

I have always been more worried about poisonous snakes coming here, I think a rattle snake would manage the climate in southern Sweden without any problems, perhaps the summer is too short and cool for its eggs though. The laws on what animals are allowed to import changed a lot when we joined the EU and for the worse I’m afraid. We now have the Garter snake living here and they reproduce well. We also have water turtles in many lakes, they manage the climate but the summer is too short and cool for any eggs to develop.

The forbidden forest.

The forbidden forest.

I had decided not to go to the creek any more this summer because of all ticks that loves that place. But I didn't know where else to go today.

I had decided not to go to the creek any more this summer because of all ticks that loves that place. But I didn’t know where else to go today.

DSC_0014 (800x532)

We now also have proof of raccoons living here, a surveillance camera photographed at least one rather far from Denmark where they to their surprise have a big population close to Copenhagen. They were looking for evidence that the Raccoon dog had come to Denmark and put out cameras all over. Not a single Raccoon dog was found but plenty of raccoons🙂🙂🙂 Copenhagen and Sweden is separated by water but that close so a raccoon without any problems can swim over if it so wishes. We also have the raccoon dog and that’s also a problem since our birds, toads and frogs aren’t afraid of them, they aren’t natural here and the raccoon dogs can wipe out entire populations of them here.

DSC_0017 (800x532)

DSC_0020 (531x800)

DSC_0023 (532x800)

DSC_0024 (800x531)

I guess we should be happy that skunks aren’t seen here at all🙂 I know that my dogs would run to it and then I would have to bathe them all in tomato juice🙂🙂🙂 Several time too because it seems my dogs never learn anything from that kind of experience🙂 They would probably love the smell🙂🙂🙂

DSC_0025 (800x532)

DSC_0027 (800x521)

DSC_0028 (800x531)

The sticky flypaper I’ve put up is doing its job well, I think I’ll have to replace them all by the end of this week. The sun is shining but it is much cooler today and will stay like that all week they say🙂 Now it’s time for something to eat and naturally I’ll make a pot of tea too🙂

The road was blocked by electric fences and it's easy to unhook them, if there are no cows there that is :-) They stopped when they saw us and just didn't know what to do so we had to back a long way until they decided it was safe to pass :-)

The road was blocked by electric fences and it’s easy to unhook them, if there are no cows there that is🙂 They stopped when they saw us and just didn’t know what to do so we had to back a long way until they decided it was safe to pass🙂

Some were of course very curious too. We had to wait almost ten minutes until we could pass ourselves :-)

Some were of course very curious too. We had to wait almost ten minutes until we could pass ourselves🙂

It's very important to hook those wires properly again, it's no fun to have hundreds of cows and calves waking around in the village :-) :-)

It’s very important to hook those wires properly again, it’s no fun to have hundreds of cows and calves waking around in the village🙂🙂

Have a great day!

In my garden, Welsh Poppy.

In my garden, Welsh Poppy.

12 thoughts on “That was something I didn’t know!

  1. Hi Christer,
    I know what Black Widows look like because they live here and I have had one or two in the cellar over the years. I’m not on the lookout for them though. Brown Recluse spider is more of a worry because they look like the ordinary kind of spiders that normally hang out in the house.
    Timber rattlers live up into southern Canada so they might do fine in your country especially since the garter snakes are thriving. Rattlers give birth to live young so the cool summer would not be a factor.
    I’d rather have skunks than raccoons. Raccoons are nasty. Skunks are seldom nasty. They just smell bad when threatened. Also, tomato juice doesn’t really work that well on skunk smell. I used a quart of it on one tiny kitten and only got the worst of the smell out. You would have to have gallons of it to do your dogs.🙂
    Today started out rainy and cool but the sun is back now. It’s warm but not like the past few days. It’s liveable.🙂
    My refrigerator is dying. It’s 40 years old so not surprising but I really didn’t enjoy starting a Monday by spending over $1,000 USD on a fridge. But it’s done and it didn’t hurt too much. Yet.
    Enjoy the rest of the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      It turns out that they now think the widows have died out because of the unusually cold winters we’ve had. But it’s just a matter of time until they come back since it is getting warmer here too. People tend to toss out their snakes and other animals when they get tird of them so I wouldn’t be surprised if rattlers soon are here too. So they give birth to live ones, just like our vipers. Not good🙂

      I’ve read about raccoons and their temper so I guess You’re right🙂 Even though I think both are cute I’d rather not have any of them here. If skunks come I might just fill my pond with tomato juice, it’s better than nothing🙂🙂🙂

      My refrigerator is dead too and I use a coolbox with extra freezer packs and it works perfect. I can’t buy too much food and forget about it🙂 But I do need a new one soon. I think ours are cheaper than Yours, strange really! I never thought we could be cheaper on anything here🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. I think if you filled your pond with tomato juice you might attract more varmints than you want.🙂

    I don’t have a separate freezer so I couldn’t freeze the freezer packs to use in the coolbox.

    • 🙂🙂🙂 I can just imagine the smell when the juice starts to ferment too🙂🙂

      My refrigerator is attached to the freezer that works perfectly, really annoying because I can’t buy a separate refrtigerator🙂
      Christer.

  3. Usch – att det har kommit en massa giftiga och obehagliga saker till vårt land! Jag gillar inte otäcka kryp!!😦
    Fast här på Gotland har vi än så länge lyckats klarat oss från det mesta – förutom rådjur och rabbisar förstås! Båda dessa arter togs hit “en masse” av jägare. Rådjuren “importerades” i hundratal av jägare för inte allt för länge sen. Dom gick ihop och skramlade ihop pengar. Vilka idioter!! 😦 Det är aldrig vettigt att importera djur eller växter, det blir alltid problem!😦 😦
    Igår hade jag två fästingar på mig. Den ena på armen, den andra på handloven inuti min arbetshandske! Fy 17 – och då jobbade jag i trädgården. Har aldrig hänt förut, måste vara ett stort fästingår i år.😦😦😦
    Santos har också ett antal med han har bara haft två som satt sig fast – fast väldigt löst och väldigt små. Att dom inte blivit flera beror på att vi tidigt köpte ett fästingshalsband åt honom!. Och det fungerar!🙂🙂🙂

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Jag har i och för sig inget emot spindlar, men just det att jag kan dö av ett bett är ju lite trist🙂 Men det verkar som om de kalla vinrarna vi haft tagit kål på dem, i alla fall har ingen blivit biten på ett bra tag🙂

      Så sant, det blir alltid problem när man tar in främmande arter och bara släpper dem lös. Jag kan inte riktigt förstå hur de jägarna tänkte?! Antagligen har de väl inget som tar skada av deras framfart. Då hade de nog tänkt annorlunda.

      Jag skulle nog säga att vi har lite fästingar här i år, har inte behövt plocka så många från mina hundar. Hector tål inte vare sig droppar eller halsband mot fästingar så jag plockar dem hellre än att skaffa till de andra, vet ju inte hur Nova och Sune skulle reagera på det heller. Men det är fantastiskt bra när de tål det.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  4. hi christer! i only saw a black widow once in my life and it was in duck, south carolina. i put a big distance between it and me very fast! some snakes are really good because they eat so much bad stuff. i would take a skunk over a raccoon any day. raccoons are just nasty! still no rain here! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      I really don’t mind spiders but since we aren’t used to deadly animals here many of us would get bitten🙂 I don’t mind snakes either but the deadly ones can stay where they are🙂 Well if they ate all our voles I’d welcome them🙂🙂🙂

      I’ve come to understand that raccoons are anything but nice🙂 All hunters now have a standing order here, shoot any raccoon and raccoon dog You can find.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. I wouldn’t like black widows just because they are lethal but otherwise I’m not really scared of spiders.
    Snakes? now those I’m terrified of. even the harmless garter snakes. I totally freak.
    Love that 1st photo of Bertil.🙂
    and thanks for your comment over on my blog. It did make me feel better.
    and maybe someday I could travel also. Poppy is small enough to stick into my pocket!😀

    • Hi Cindi!

      That’s the reason I don’t like that they like it here either🙂 But since they eat flies I might say welcome anyway🙂 I love snakes🙂 But that doesn’t mean I want rattlers here anyway🙂 That sound would just make many of us curious and then we would get bitten🙂🙂🙂

      I think we mantally prepare for the time when we’ll get fewer pets, after all it costs a fortune to have many of them🙂 We’re getting older even if we don’t admit it🙂 so it’s just natural to think like that sometimes🙂 It’s not like we walk around and wish the lives out of them🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Christer,
    Early on Gracie had an encounter with a skunk. She just wanted to play and kept pushing it with her nose. Naturally the skunk responded and Gracie got it in her face. Tomato juice doesn’t really work. It just masks the smell, doesn’t remove it, so it will reappear. I use a product called Nature’s Miracle Skunk Remover, and it is a miracle. I used it on Gracie, and the smell was gone. I’d suggest you use baking soda, hydrogen peroxide and a little bit of dish soap. That will get rid of that horrific odor.

    Since I put up the 6 foot fence, other than tree climbers, like the possum, my yard hasn’t had critters. Im glad as Gracie loves to go after them.

    • Hi Kat!

      I’m glad we don’t have skunks here and it seems we don’t have them in Europe either, strange because if an animal can be a nuisance we usually get it here sooner or later🙂🙂🙂

      I do have a badger walking around here and foxes pass regularely but that’s it more or less. Well at winter I have the deers of course.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

