130 letters in one word!

DSC_0002 (800x530)

 

No one has been bitten by a Black Widow for quite some time now so they think they most possibly have died out during the latest cold winters we’ve had. But just because no one has been bitten doesn’t mean they all are dead🙂 As long as I know they might be here I’ll be careful when ever I might see a spider suspiciously like a widow🙂 As the expert said: It’s getting warmer here too and all kinds of shit comes to us via containers so we’ll soon have plenty of new animals here anyway🙂🙂🙂

 

Longhorn taking a nap.

Longhorn taking a nap.

DSC_0010 (800x530)

DSC_0011 (800x531)

 

It’s Thursday evening for me right now, tomorrow is the last working day of the week and then I’ll have a long weekend. June sixth is our national day and a holiday now days. We haven’t had a national day for that long time and most people don’t know why we celebrate it🙂 We really don’t know how to celebrate it either to be honest🙂 But I’ll tell You more about that on June sixth.

 

DSC_0012 (800x530)

I thought this was Rune at the beginning but he hes two healty eyes and look at those antlers! I guess we have a new kid on the block :-)

I thought this was Rune at the beginning but he hes two healty eyes and look at those antlers! I guess we have a new kid on the block🙂

DSC_0018 (800x530)

 

The longest word in German is no longer, it had 63 letters and was Rindfleischetikettierungsüberwachungsaufgabenübertragungsgesetz. It had to do with testing on cattle for mad cow disease but since they no longer requires to test the animals the word is now removed from the dictionaries. But that was nothing compared to the longest word in Swedish which has 130 letters in it🙂🙂🙂 It’s:

“Nordvästersjökustartilleriflygspaningssimulatoranläggningsmaterielunderhållsuppföljningssystemdiskussionsinläggsförberedelsearbeten” I won’t even try to translate it and I doubt that google manages it either🙂🙂🙂 But it has to do with preparation work for something in the coastal artillery🙂🙂🙂 But this is still nothing compared to the longest word in the world, that has something around 1700 letters in it🙂🙂🙂 Unfortunately I couldn’t find it, only that it had around 1700 letters. I do wonder what it means🙂🙂🙂

 

DSC_0022 (800x530)

Sune going down into the green muddy water.

Sune going down into the green muddy water.

DSC_0023 (800x530)

 

Swedish unlike English tends to put many different words together to one word, like for instance mad cow disease, in swedish we would make that one word to madcowdisease. Yesterday I saw an ad on the internet they sold longhaired miniature dachshund’s ( in our way of writing it should say longhaired miniaturedachshund’s but we call them longhaired dwarfdachshund’s). The writer of that ad was unfortunately very influenced by the english language and wrote it in three separate words instead of writing it as two words. So the ad told us that they sold a longhaired dwarf and dachshund’s🙂🙂🙂 I wonder if one could buy the dachshund’s separately or if the dwarf came along🙂🙂🙂

 

DSC_0026 (800x530)

DSC_0027 (530x800)

Wild goose berries, tiny but delicious.

Wild goose berries, tiny but delicious.

 

It’s time for something to eat and today I think I’ll have coffee instead of tea otherwise I won’t have any tea for breakfast tomorrow🙂 The evening is a bit chilly and the wind is stronger again. So we might get frost tonight if the wind calms down. That would most probably be the last frost until autumn arrives.

 

In the garden, Globe flower. We call them Butter balls.

In the garden, Globe flower. We call them Butter balls.

I don't mind wildflowers in my garden or weeds like most would call this. It's a Geum urbanum.

I don’t mind wildflowers in my garden or weeds like most would call this. It’s a Geum urbanum.

 

Have a great day!

18 thoughts on “130 letters in one word!

  1. hi christer! i love gooseberries. i planted mine in the wrong place and they died. i need to get more and try again. when i was taking german, we used to tell the joke about the student that put his car window down and the last 30 pages of his paper flew out the window. he said, there go all my verbs! when mcdonald’s first opened in germany, they were trying to invent the german word for milkshake. it came out so long that they just shortened it to McShake to keep it simple. it is after 2:00 and no sign of the roofers!

    • Hi Joyce!

      No roofers yet?? Strange, very strange! I do hope they turn up at all!

      That was really funny🙂 I did read german for three years in school, I understand it if reading but really can’t talk it.German is a hard language, just think of the word butterfly, it sounds like one is saying the name of a machine gun🙂🙂🙂

      I thought gooseberries was immortal🙂 I have two with red berries and a wild one I brought home from a walk but that one has big green berries and they are delicious🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    “North West lake shore artillery reconnaissance flight simulator facility equipment maintenance monitoring system discussion The insert for preparatory work”
    That is what Google Translate gave me. Eventually. When I pasted that loooooooonnng word into the Swedish side the English side remained completely blank. It was stumped. I had to break it up into its component parts. And while I was doing that, the Swedish side kept offering me suggestions as to what I might have really meant. I love Google Translate.🙂
    A word with 130 letters is not a word; it’s an entire sentence. 1700 letters is approaching a short story.🙂
    A couple of hundred years ago Noah Webster, of Webster’s Dictionary fame, decided that English spelling was illogical so he simplified it by spelling things the way they sounded. Some of it caught on and some of it did not. This may be one reason why Americans can’t spell. We iz hooked on fonicks and have been since Colonial Days.😀
    An elderly Nederlander friend of mine once told me that Nederlansk used to have genders like French and Spanish but they decided that was inefficient so they dropped it. I applauded that decision. I had six years of French lessons and still can’t remember what sex any noun is.😀😀😀
    It’s sunny with a cool breeze here. It’s a perfect day.
    Enjoy the rest of your day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      That is more or less correct! Funny that nothing went wrong when separating all those words, it usually does🙂 Google translate has become so much better now days, I tried Bing and it was like stepping back five years🙂🙂🙂
      I do wonder what word that is, the one with 1700 letters🙂

      I have to admit that english spelling sometimes is illogical🙂 but since that is the way I’ve learned it I really don’t like it when they spell like it sounds🙂🙂🙂

      We have four genders in Swedish, or three but the third can be said in two different ways🙂 I’ve heard that swedish is very hard for foreigners to learn, it’s sort of illogical they say🙂 I had five years of french and didn’t know about sex any noun at all🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Interesting subject today, Christer of the long long long words.
    I bet there are going to be some battles between Rune and the new guy!
    Definitely be watchful for those black widows!

    • Hi Robin!

      I was surprised that we actually had such a long word in swedish even if some get really long just because we don’t divide them in shorter parts.

      I think You might be right about Rune and the new one because I think Rune is the big guy here at the moment. This one had magnificent antlers!

      I’ll look out for them from now on🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. I tried to find the 1700 letter word but no luck. Instead I found the longest technical English word. It’s the chemical name for titin, which is 189,819 characters long and takes 3 1/2 hours to pronounce. There’s a video of a man pronouncing the word. The comments note that you can see beard growth as the video winds on. I didn’t watch it. Teal deer as they say on the intertubes. Though I suppose this would be TL;DL, too long; did not listen. Teal Deal.😀

    • Hi Caryn!

      I found that too🙂 but I didn’t feel like sitting listening to that for such a long time🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Spiders are not creatures I am fond of seeing, so you keep any you might find, Christer. Good thing that lone word was retired because it was too hard to pronounce.

  6. *Fniss* Min gubbe är “ordfreak” vilket betyder att han kan reta sig vansinnigt på att någon använder fel ord eller uttalar ord fel, mig bekommer det inte ett dugg. Bara jag förstår vad man menar! :- ) Men det här nya sättet att avstava ord fel eller att dela upp ord i flera – det gillar inte ens en gång jag!!😦
    Inatt har vi haft väldans (ett hemskt ord enligt min gubbe – så för att retas lite använder jag det ofta) kallt, dock inte frost och jag som var tidigt uppe tänkte kasta mig ut och rensa lite på södersidan. Men…när jag öppnade dörren och märkte hur kyligt det var så avvaktar jag nog någon timme till. Annars är det en strålande vacker morgon!🙂🙂

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Särskrivningar är något jag går igång på! Fast vi har väldigt roligt åt dem på jobbet när vi läser Blocket annonser🙂 Man blir ju lite sugen på att ha en långhårig dvärg i närheten🙂🙂🙂

      Frost här i natt och jag hoppas det var det sista för denna sommaren. Fast inget tog skada av vad jag kunde se nu när jag kom hem efter jobbet.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  7. Christer,
    I love the length of the Swedish word and I love your translation of the dwarf and dachshund when written as individual words. I’l guessing Swedish has many long words as you combine. Having taught English, I find words quite interesting and the source of words is amazing to me.

    Every year I check out the lists of new English words added to the dictionary and obsolete words dropped. I feel a bit bad for the dropped words.

    Have a great evening!!

    • Hi Kat!

      We have lots of fun reading ads at work🙂 It can become so wrong when separating a word like You do in English🙂 But sometimes even I get confused if a long word should be separated or not🙂

      They publish all new words in the newspapers here and I never miss to read them🙂 Google made a fool of themselves this year, they didn’t like that we now have a word that is ogooglebar (ungoogleble) They protested against it (they only want positive things connected with the name Google) and now we all use it🙂🙂🙂
      I think that they can save those words that they now drop even if no one ever would use them again🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. I think its always a good idea to put the past behind us, we can’t change it so we might as well celebrate the good and move on from the bad, enjoy your day, I celbrate today as well, its my birthday today, ha ha, beautiful photos, so refreshing and summer like, we are a bit behind you in the season but catching up!!

    • HI Laurie!

      We must never forget what once happened! If people forget things like this will happen again and lots of people all over the world tries to change history! Todays nazis are unfortunatley good at denying the holocaust and since many don’t know ther history they believe them. We must never forget!

      Happy Birthday!🙂

      You should be ahead of us though! But spring did come late this year over at Yours, didn’t it?

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Cindi!

      Yes that’s a good word🙂 and I can’t understand how she’s able to sing it without getting it wrong🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

