June sixth.

DSC_0004 (800x530)

 

June sixth, our national day. A day most people don’t know why we celebrate and really don’t care about it either, it’s a day free from work for most of us and that’s enough🙂 Until this date was the Swedish flag’s day (actually the second oldest nation flag in the world, only Denmark’s flag is older) and it still is the flags day here.  We really don’t know how to celebrate it either to be honest, most people just go out to their summer houses or have a picnic somewhere.

 

DSC_0027 (800x530)

DSC_0028 (800x530)

DSC_0029 (800x530)

 

It has been a bad thing loving ones country here since the second world war. We’ve never really dealt with our shady behaviour during that war to be honest. The nazis were quite active here and the royal house showed their support quite openly. Si we ended up helping both sides to stay out of the war. It’s our fault the war kept on for such a long time here in Europe, we kept on selling iron to the german bomb makers till the end. Thousands of lives could have been saved if it weren’t for Sweden. At the same time we did help the resistance in the nordic country and we were amongst those saving people from the concentration camps.

 

DSC_0034 (800x530)

DSC_0037 (800x530)

DSC_0039 (800x530)

 

So after the war they did anything to stop nationalism, or perhaps patriotism is a better word. Some schools went so far that they celebrated the UN instead of Sweden on June sixth so that no one would feel bullied??!  The ones really celebrating on June sixth were nazis and immigrants, an odd combination🙂🙂🙂 But one day they decided we should stop being ashamed and start celebrating this day and made it our national day. But they didn’t go that far to make it a holiday in 1983, that didn’t happen until 2005.

 

DSC_0044 (800x530)

DSC_0045 (800x530)

The grass is so high now that Sune must jump around to see where he's going :-)

The grass is so high now that Sune must jump around to see where he’s going🙂

 

So why are we celebrating this day? there are two reasons for that. They changed the constitution 1809 so the king got less power and the parliament bigger. The second reason is that the founder of Sweden (well he’s called that anyway) Gustav Vasa was chosen to become king of Sweden. The Danes had power over Sweden and killed a lot of people of importance in Stockholm (Stockholm’s blood bath), one of them Gustav Vasa’s father. He himself was chased by the danes when he started fleeing towards Norway. He asked the people living in Dalarna for help to get the Danes out of the country and they weren’t too interested at the beginning but changed and helped him.

 

DSC_0051 (800x530)

DSC_0052 (800x530)

DSC_0054 (800x509)

 

Gustav Vasa was a tyrant and didn’t hesitate to later slaughter those that helped him to the power, he actually slaughtered a lot of people during his days. He got lots of children and three of his sons became kings of this country, one more insane than the other🙂  The most insane was Eric the 14th, he married his mistress which wasn’t especially popular at all and in the end he was imprisoned and killed with poisonous pea soup.

 

DSC_0055 (800x529)

DSC_0058 (800x525)

DSC_0057 (800x530)

 

Personally I think it would have been better to celebrate something fun and happy. Something we all could think was a good idea and preferably in autumn when we don’t have any holidays until Christmas. Why not when Ingmar Stenmark won his first world cup event in slalom? Sweden stopped when he went down those hills and won🙂 But I could take any reason to be honest, any but celebrating a tyrant that got totally insane sons🙂🙂🙂

 

The deers let me have two buds left on the rhododendron "Nova Zembla".

The deers let me have two buds left on the rhododendron “Nova Zembla”.

I have absolutely no idea what this is :-) I might have got it on a plant swapping day.

I have absolutely no idea what this is🙂 I might have gotten it on a plant swapping day.

DSC_0020 (800x530)

 

We’ve had a wonderful day with lots of sunshine (but both today and yesterday had frost during the night) and just enough warm to be enjoyable. I’ve replanted my tomato plants and several of them have small tomatoes now. It’s time to make something to eat and a pot of tea of course.

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0019 (800x530)

10 thoughts on “June sixth.

  1. Hi Christer,
    Close ups of shaggy horses! Yay. I so want to comb out that bay’s mane, though. Snangles everywhere.🙂
    Lovely snail.

    I checked my tomato plant yesterday and found one flower. It’s a start. The rest of the crops are just hanging tight except for the orange scented mint. It isn’t even in the ground yet and is trying to take over the yard.🙂

    Sometimes I get a little uncomfortable with patriotism and nationalism. The problem is that when we back away from celebrating our countries, warts and all, it leaves the field open for the super-patriotic, ultra-nationalistic crazies to make a lot of noise and claim that they are the only true patriots. They don’t have anything good in mind for the rest of us so if we want to keep our freedoms, we have to get out there and overwhelm them with our middle of the roadness. I’m a patriot and I’m a moderate! Freedom!😀😀😀

    Today is breezy and cool. Another lovely day. I took pictures of puffy clouds but am loathe to download them to my computer because I’m annoyed with iPhoto. For some reason it now wants to load every photo on my memory card every time instead of just the newest ones. When there are a thousand photos on a card it gets tedious. There have been no updates and I haven’t changed any settings so I don’t know what’s happening. I can’t find anything in the literature for iPhoto or my camera, either. Arrrgh!

    Enjoy the rest of your day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I thought Yoiu should have some close ups today🙂

      Even the tomatoeplants that has been standing outside have small tomatoes now🙂 The good thing with most tomatoes is that it’s enough to shake the plant some when flowers open up and one will get tomatoes🙂

      I’m very uncomfortable with patriotism and nationalism to be honest and over here we’re slowly taking back a lot from that kind of people🙂 They have ruled this day for way too long now (since it was the flag day).

      Windows photo program behaves strangely too and I haven’t had an update or anything else either! I hate it when computers starts changing things themselves!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • It’s a bad sign when computers start changing things on their own. Pretty soon they’ll want a 36 hour week, paid sick leave, health benefits and 5 weeks of paid vacation. We’re doomed!🙂🙂🙂

  2. hi christer! well that is some interesting history about sweden. i knew very little of any of that. your tomatoes look great! will they actually ripen? that unknown plant looks a lot like my rhubarb except that the stems are not red. right now it is pouring here and thunder and lightning. i am so very happy! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      Interesting and not something to be too proud of, our behavior during the second war and insane kings🙂

      Yes these tomatoes will ripe and all produced until late July if summer gets reasonable warm and sunny🙂

      I was thinking of rhubarb too but it’s different in many ways, I’ll show You what it becomes later on🙂

      Good thing those roof guys never came then🙂🙂🙂 congratulations to the rain I know You need it🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Wow, lots of great photos! I’m gonna pin some of them! they would be great to paint!
    not that I’ve been painting anything, not even stuff that I’ve been commissioned to do…..
    too busy doing outside stuff.
    very interesting stuff about Sweden. I don’t know as much about my country as you do about yours.
    and what I know, might not be too accurate as I get most of my info from movies.😀

    • Hi Cindi!

      No movies aren’t that accurate🙂🙂🙂 But I have always loved history so that’s one of the things I feel I can say I know something about.

      I’m always glad if someone likes to pin my photographs🙂

      Yes lots to do outside as long as the weather is this good🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Favorite photos today are the first one of your little tomatoes and last of the snail out of its shell. And, the horses come in second. We don’t yet have any flowers let alone small tomatoes, but of course, our plants were planted outdoors only a few weeks ago, and they are growing taller. We have been enjoying a lot of strawberries from our 2 little patches, but they will be coming to a quick end. Interesting to read about your country’s history.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      Those are my two favorites as well🙂 Especially the snail.

      The tomatoes are cuttings and grown indoors so they are rather early to flower and give fruit, the ones I’ve sown will perhaps give a few tomatoes but I sowed them more to have cuttings during the winter to start early next year🙂 The wild strawberries have just started flowering and the ones we can buy in the stores comes from Spain and Belgium. Not the same thing at all, it’s like eating apples with strawberry flavor🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

