Magpies.

DSC_0003 (800x530)

 

The Magpies have decided that my garden is a great place to let their young ones start their lives outside the nest, I mean I have four dogs and two cats! Ok, they have chased away even Bertil so they know how to protect their younglings but if my cats decided to cooperate? I doubt they would stand a chance. The small ones can barely fly to be honest, they jump around while flapping their wings, sometimes they land on their backs๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

 

DSC_0005 (800x530)

DSC_0006 (800x530)

DSC_0010 (800x530)

 

The forest flies have started their lives in the air too now, they aren’t that many yet but more will come every day now. They decided that Orvar was the one to circle around and that was a good choice since he really doesn’t care. I usually go insane after just a few minutes๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ Tomorrow I’ll bring my mosquito hat, I just hate it when they try to get in my ears and in my nostrils! Not many horse flies yet though but they are out there already.

 

DSC_0012 (800x530)

The Portal.

The Portal.

DSC_0015 (800x531)

 

I replanted the last of the big tomato plants today and placed it on my patio, all the cuttings already have small tomatoes hanging on them and I saw it was the variety Gardener’s Delight, I found the old seed packet this morning. I did sow a striped one rather late and those plants are still rather small, I might get a few tomatoes on them but these were sown mostly because I want to take cuttings from them for an early start next year.

 

DSC_0016 (800x529)

DSC_0021 (800x530)

This one is so tiny that I could have five on my thumb nail :-)

This one is so tiny that I could have five on my thumb nail๐Ÿ™‚

 

I also planted a cutting I took from a Frost Grape vine the winter two years ago. I planted it by my fence towards south and I hope it will grow well there. I have one by my patio as well but I don’t get any grapes from that one. The flowers just fall off after flowering and noo grapes are produced. I have no idea why, perhaps it’s because the plant is fairly young yet? ย I’ve been unlucky with frost all years before this one too, it hit just as the flowers were opening up, this year there are only buds so far and I hope we’ve had the last night with frost.

 

These are taken through the kitchen window and a bit blurry I'm afraid.

These are taken through the kitchen window and a bit blurry I’m afraid.

Here comes the parents, look a bit helpless now :-)

Here comes the parents, look a bit helpless now๐Ÿ™‚

Or even more helpless if it helps :-)

Or even more helpless if it helps๐Ÿ™‚

DSC_0035 (800x529)

 

Our second princess is getting married today, exactly right now actually๐Ÿ™‚ I can’t say I’m especially exited about it though๐Ÿ™‚ Royalties are more exiting for those not having them. But at least this time it isn’t us taxpayers that pays for the wedding, it is our king. Talking about kings, perhaps I should tell You some about our history and the kings walking hand in hand with it?We’ve had three or four odd ones but most of them have been much like most tyrants have been. Yes most kings have been tyrants, some more some less but if it hadn’t been them some other nut head would have been just as worse to be honest.

 

The flower stalk on the Turkish rhubarb.

The flower stalk on the Turkish rhubarb.

This one only grows where it's extremely dry.

This one only grows where it’s extremely dry.

DSC_0004 (800x519)

 

It’s time to give all animals their food and then something for me too. I still have lots of fruit and custard left so I think I’ll make myself some fruit salad today too๐Ÿ™‚ Naturally I’ll make a pot of tea too๐Ÿ™‚

 

DSC_0005 (800x531)

DSC_0007 (800x530)

May lily or False Lily of the valley, Maianthemum bifolium. Beautiful and invasive if one gets it in the garden. We call it Squirrel berries, it's toxic so I wonder if one killed squirrels with it?

May lily or False Lily of the valley, Maianthemum bifolium. Beautiful and invasive if one gets it in the garden. We call it Squirrel berries, it’s toxic so I wonder if one killed squirrels with it?

 

Have a great day!

10 thoughts on “Magpies.

  1. I have never saw the false lily of the valley, its very pretty, we don’t have Mag pie here, I think they are a beautiful bird although I know they can be a nuisance, hope they escape the cats, beautiful photos , the rabbit in the field is so cute, do you suppose it thinks its invisible, we did hear about the wedding in your country today on our news, lots of celebrations!Enjoy your day, sounds like a good one, the mosquitoes and black flies are horrid here, no one goes out without protection, nasty things!

    • Hi Laurie!

      The false lily of the valley is common here in Sweden, further north it’s more common when the Lily of the valley.

      Magpies are beautiful, fun and devilish๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ But I wouldn’t want to be without them.
      The hare realised it wasn’t invisible at all and ran like crazy when we came too close๐Ÿ™‚

      Our princess is marrying an American/Brtish man and he will continue to stay American/British so he won’t get any title.

      Our black flies, the midges, don’t like me at all๐Ÿ™‚ I get a few bites and then they leave me alone๐Ÿ™‚ Unfortunately no other species of fly treats me like that๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. hi christer! i don’t have many bugs here and i think it is because of how many birds i have. too bad birds didn’t eat stink bugs when i had them! and i am glad that they seem to have moved on to warmer climes. those birds are so pretty. i don’t think teddy would tolerate them but rather consider them a fun new hunting game! she has smashed her share of pigeons with her big paws. hope you are enjoying your weekend! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      I have lots of flies and a swallow couple nestiung beneath the tiles but I live beside a bog and that is paradise for all those flies. I also always felt like that the further north one lives the more flies there are.

      Old Erna took a few magpies so when they realised that she was gone they came back. I think they must keep an eye on Nova because she will take one if she gets the chance.

      I always enjoy my weekends๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    Would your cats co-operate to get a magpie? Mine never would have. “All for me and me for myself”, was their motto.๐Ÿ™‚ Rocky would probably want a close inspection of any magpie chicks that were floundering about. He is fascinated by birds but I’m not sure if he has good intentions towards them. The English Sparrows love his fur. They fight each other for the stuff I shed off him every day. It makes a cozy nest lining.๐Ÿ™‚
    False Lily of the Valley grows all around here but it’s a different species; Maianthemum Canadense. The common name here is Canada Mayflower. It likes to grow under the oaks.
    Some of peonies appear to have survived the downpour. I had removed all the overblown blossoms because those are the ones that hold the water and drag the stems down. I left the just opening buds and the blossoms that weren’t open all the way. They look a bit bedraggled but none are beaten into the mud. There was a lot of rain. Even the vicious rose flowers look battered.๐Ÿ™‚
    Hope you find something to watch besides the royal wedding. Enjoy the rest of your evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I’m not sure if they would but I’ve seen them sort of start cooperating but then one of them has given up or been disturbed by the dogs๐Ÿ™‚ I know Nova would kill any bird she would catch, I think Sune would play with them poor thing until it died and the old ones would just look at it๐Ÿ™‚

      I think the different Mayflowers are very common all over the northern hemisphere, they all look very much the same too. I had one from siberia growing in my garden for a while and the only thing different with that was that it didn’t spread that much, in fact it died out๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ I like them though.

      Still only buds on my peonies so they can still take any rainfall, they are a bit late this year.

      It was an early evening, it seems none of the other channels even tried competing with the wedding๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • HI Guillaume and welcome to my blog๐Ÿ™‚

      I’m afraid that rian soon will come to us too but for once it would be nice if it didn’t. It rains or snows so much here anyway so a summer without it would be a nice change๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day and welcome back๐Ÿ™‚
      Christer.

    • Hi Cindi!

      I’m not a big fan of them either๐Ÿ™‚ But I can stand a few ones like it is now. But I really can’t say anything since I live beside a bog๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

