Still no rain.

The Hungarian lilacs (syringa josikaea) starts to flower some time after the common lilac. They don't smell that awfully strong either.

The Hungarian lilacs (syringa josikaea) starts to flower some time after the common lilac. They don’t smell that awfully strong either.

 

I had almost hoped for a rainy day so I could stay indoors doing nothing🙂 But so far it has been rather nice, a bit cold perhaps but that doesn’t matter.  It has mostly been sunny but now dark thick clouds gather in the sky, they look like thunderclouds but it doesn’t feel like we’ll get any. The flies are reasonable calm and that’s something they never are if thunder is approaching.

 

DSC_0006 (800x530)

DSC_0007 (800x530)

I pass these three horses every day either on our walks or on my way to work.

I pass these three horses every day either on our walks or on my way to work.

DSC_0010 (800x530)

 

Finally I’ve planted the two squash plants I have and the eight or so pepper plants in my tiny vegetable garden. I’m not sure pepper plants will make it outdoors here but I just don’t have any space for them elsewhere. I guess that if summer gets warm and sunny they will make it though but I can’t remember when we had a sunny and warm summer the last time.

 

I think this weather vane is home made but I like it.

I think this weather vane is home made but I like it.

DSC_0012 (800x531)

DSC_0016 (530x800)

DSC_0017 (800x530)

The dew drops are sparkling like little diamonds in the grass.

The dew drops are sparkling like little diamonds in the grass.

 

I still have two hardy grape vines to plant but I just don’t know where🙂 All other spaces are already taken by other hardy grape vines so I must build some kind of  espalier for them but where🙂 That’s how it goes when buying something before planning where it should be, something most gardeners do🙂 Perhaps I should take a day of from work to buy stuff for this espalier and the green house to be too🙂

 

DSC_0024 (800x530)

DSC_0028 (530x800)

DSC_0029 (800x530)

DSC_0033 (800x529)

 

Most perennials that I planted last year died as I’ve told You before but a few things survived and now I know what it was because I found two more living in pots that has been standing on the ground all winter🙂 It’s the Japanese Butterfly bush (Buddleia japonica, click on the name and a google picture search will open up)). It is perhaps not as beautiful as the B. davidii but at least this one survives in my garden🙂 I love butterflies and all butterfly bushes attracts butterflies.

 

Beautiful little beetle and it looks like we'll have plenty more next year :-)

Beautiful little beetle and it looks like we’ll have plenty more next year🙂

We walked down to the creek in the afternnon but we never folowed it. Too many ticks there now I'm afraid.

We walked down to the creek in the afternoon but we never folowed it. Too many ticks there now I’m afraid.

DSC_0018 (530x800)

DSC_0021 (800x530)

 

Sune has more energy than a nuclear power plant🙂 Not even Nova can keep up with him🙂 They have just been chasing each other for half an hour and Nova is now sleeping by my feet but Sune just keeps on playing (at the moment with an empty plastic bottle) in the garden. He and Orvar were out walking earlier today (all by themselves) as well and they got the hardest of punishments, they were forced to stay in the cottage by themselves for fifteen minutes while Hector, Nova and I were out playing in the garden. I had the most obedient boys with me on our walk after that🙂🙂🙂 I bet they won’t remember that on our next walk🙂🙂

 

In my garden, Rosa rugosa.

In my garden, Rosa rugosa.

Clematis flowered aquilega.

Clematis flowered aquilega.

Geranium pyrenaicum, a geranium that will thrive anywhere. From the sunniest spot to the darkness below bushes and trees. It has spread from my garden out into the forest now.

Geranium pyrenaicum, a geranium that will thrive anywhere. From the sunniest spot to the darkness below bushes and trees. It has spread from my garden out into the forest now.

Nova and Welsh poppies.

Nova and Welsh poppies.

 

Have a great day!

12 thoughts on “Still no rain.

  1. so nova likes to smell the flowers! who would think that hector could get in trouble like this at his age..haha!!! i love the white clematis you showed. i always buy too much stuff and then have trouble finding places to plant it. glad you are getting nice weather christer! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      No, she was actually eating the grass straw behind the flower🙂 At first I thought she would eat the flower itself🙂🙂

      It’s actually an aquilega and they are called clematis flowered aquilega. I’m more for the traditional ones though but have a few of this kind too.

      Yes the problem of buying to much is world wide🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Having to buy supplies for an espalier and a greenhouse is a legitimate reason to take a day off from work. Go for it. But pick a nice day.🙂

    I wish I passed those three horses every day on my way to somewhere. I really like the shaggy brown one. He looks very friendly but looks, of course, can be deceiving.

    Nova’s nose goes very well with that poppy.🙂

    Poor Orvar probably doesn’t even realize he is being led astray by juvenile delinquent Sune. He’s just going for a nice walk.

    It’s a beautiful day here. Sunny with a few clouds and a cool breeze. Rocky is off playing with his day care friends. We’ve been housebound with the deluge for a few days so I thought he could use the extra exercise.
    I spent a few minutes drilling holes in a large plastic planter that I thought had adequate drainage. I went out yesterday morning and saw that the plants were drowning in rainwater. Maybe a few dozen extra holes will fix that.

    Enjoy the rest of the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I’m just wondering if my work place think the same way🙂 I have the hours so I might as well ask since I won’t have to work at the neighbor factory this week🙂

      All three horses are very friendly and so are the two other ones on the other side of the village. THey always come to greet me when walking by🙂

      I thought Nova’s nose fitted perfect in that photo🙂 But I actually thought she was about to eat the flower🙂 but she wanted the grass behind it🙂

      I hope the new holes do the job! Small holes can actually keep the water in the pot as well as if there were no holes at all🙂

      I can imagine how much fun Rocky has at that place, noo need for my dogs though since they are so many as it is anyway🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Härlig bild på Nova och vallmon!🙂 Vi har precis haft en liten kort störtregnsperiod med åska, vilket var bra för det behövdes verkligen – jag var tvungern att vattna hela dagen – och så var det kvalmigt varmt tidigare. Och typiskt nog så skulle man göra en massa i solen då. Jag undrar varför jag är så dålig på att planera in trädgårdsarbetena vid rätt tidpunkt på dagen!?😦 Fast man får nog göra dom som kräver fyra händer när gubben min ställer upp…..*fniss* Den här gången gjorde vi ytterligare en piedestal av ett CD-ställ.🙂🙂
    Har precis skrivit om hans “arbetslista” där jag placerat görmålen i rätt ordning. Han har lite svårt för det, han börjar alltid med det “roligaste” som att måla eller göra något tekniskt. Han hade dock bara 7 saker på sin lista över saker som ska vara klara till den 19:e då jag har visning. Ikväll blev det återigen 7, trots att han utfört en massa av dom tidigare 7 – det har liksom tillkommit en del!🙂🙂🙂

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Det blev varken åska eller regn här och idag skiner solen mest hela tiden. Jag har bara vattnat det allra minsta än så länge, det stora har ju redan rötter som når långt ned till vattnet i marken ändå. Att bii vid en mosse har sina fördelar🙂

      Men så är det nog för de flets av oss, det roligaste först🙂 Fast det är inte bdumt att ha sin lista, om man följer den vill säga🙂🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  4. Wonderful photos, Christer. That is such a pretty picture of Nova and the poppy.
    Count me in too, with the gardeners who buy too much every single year. I just want everything, that is all there is to it. I so look forward to the day you post photos of the beautifully built greenhouse; I just know someday that will happen.

    • Hi Robin!

      Pure luck that Nova put her nose there just when I was taking that photo🙂

      I wonder if people with other interests than gardening also buy too much every year🙂🙂🙂 We are many that look forward to that green house, me too🙂🙂🙂 I really don’t need much stuff, still I don’t seem to be able to bring it home🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Laurie!

      It is a beautiful rose and it grows wild here too. The ones I have however are sown by me and sometimes I wish I never done that🙂 They try to sp0read like crazy and I always cut down shots from their roots🙂 But the bees and butterflies love them so who am I to complain🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Whoa, what a beautiful post! I especially like the one with all the clouds. All your flowers are so pretty. I was going to do the “minimalist” thing as far as gardening this year but have failed. I have flowers everywhere! I can’t help myself.
    Also, this year for the first time ever, I’m going to have a vegetable garden! I bought a ton (32) of cinder blocks and built a raised bed and filled the bottom with cardboard and newspapers and then potting soil and cow manure. Now all I need are some plants! I plan on getting some tomorrow.
    Love the horse photos and hate that damn beetle. I had a bunch of those last year but they seem to be gone (along with the trees they lived in!)

    • Hi Cindi!

      Still, lots of perennials have died here this winter and my dogs have killed some too🙂🙂🙂
      But I’m leaving perennials and annuals for bushes and trees instead, so much easier to care for🙂

      Both the magpies and my cats do their best to destroy my vegetable garden🙂🙂🙂 The cats pee on my plants and the magpies pull them up from the ground🙂

      I like those beetles and since they do no harm to anything in my garden I hope there will be plenty more🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

