A rainy day.

WordPress just refuses to let me download any photographs today!

I’m much better today so tomorrow I’ll go back to work again. I started to feel a bit bored and that’s the surest sign there is that the health is coming back🙂 But I’ve taken a couple important decisions today because they called me from my internet and telephone company. It was time to renew my subscriptions on bot the computer and my mobile phone.

They also wanted me to buy a new computer and a new phone but I said why get something else when the things I have work as they should? Besides if I would need to buy new ones that company is the last I would buy them from🙂 They are good internet and phone companies but useless to buy things from because they never take responsibility for anything they sell.

I also got a package with some plants that I’ve ordered via internet. I know there’s no risk of getting the Spanish forest slug via them otherwise I never would buy anything from them. The plants are rooted cuttings and therefore rather cheap. I bought one blueberry plant ‘Emil’, two (one male and one female) hardy Kiwi vines and one female Sea Buckthorn (Hippophaë rhamnoides), I already have a male one. I’ve already planted the blueberry but the others have to wait until I find a good place for them. Have anyone of You eaten Sea buckthorn berries? I love them but they are a bit tough to pick since the bushes are so thorny🙂

But mostly I’ve been sleeping and looking at tv because the rain has been falling since yesterday evening. Now I have enough water in my water barrel to let the gold-fish and my koi’s in to it. They’ll be much happier there until I can do anything about the pond. They’ll have plenty of food there too since every mosquito in the neighborhood will lay eggs in that water🙂

It’s time to make a pot of tea and perhaps something to eat too. The rain has stopped falling and all the animals are going in and out through the open kitchen door. One of the things I miss when moving from the coast is the seagulls and luckily for me we have the largest colony of Black-headed Gull’s in Scandinavia here in the lake. Yesterday they started flying around the cottage and I’m happy🙂

Have a great day!

16 thoughts on “A rainy day.

    • Hi Guillaume!

      This looks like it is a windows update problem though. I had to do a system restoring and I think I need to do one more. I got two windows updates the eleventh and twelfth and nothing worked as it should after that. I restored it to before the twelfth this month and now it works at least some like it did before🙂🙂

      No rain today but we’ll get more on Sunday for sure and perhaps some tomorrow too. I’m hoping for dry weather since that will kill most mosquitoe larvaes and horse fly larvaes in the puddles and ponds around here.

      I always crave tea🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  1. hi christer1 glad you are feeling better. you just gave me a good idea. i should put some gold fish in my cistern and fountains so they will eat the mosquito larva. however, i’m not sure what i would do with them if they get big. it’s worth a try. i guess i could always release them in the river. we had big storms last night which i slept through. i won’t have to water the gardens for a few days at least! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      Some fish get stressed by the pouring fountain water though, You’ll notice if they do because the water will get foamy🙂 But it does help a lot against all those nasty insects.

      No watering here either but if the sun would start to shine this rain will soon have dried up.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. your words painted beautiful pictures for me today, I have never eaten those berries, I will look them up, glad you’re feeling better, still curious as to how the fish will live in a barrel, lol,

    • Hi Laurie!

      They sort of taste tropic, a bit orange, a bit passion fruit and a bit pineapple too and they are bright orange🙂

      The barrel is really big and the fish will thrive in there because they’ll have lots of insect larvaes to eat🙂 and I’ll get perfect water to use as fertilizer too🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    The seagulls came to cheer you up. They knew you would appreciate them.
    There are plenty of seagulls around here. I’m under the main flyway from their night roost at the landfill to wherever it is that they spend the day. Twice a day they are sailing over head. There is one species so common around fast food places and malls that is often referred to as Parking Lot Gull. We don’t appreciate them so much because they drop lots of guano all over our cars.🙂

    Here’s a photo of Rocky for you just for the heck of it.🙂
    DSC01933

    It’s raining here again. And it’s cold, too. Everything is soaked and all the plants are just sagging with rain. Some of the peonies survived the first couple of deluges but this will finish them off for sure.

    Enjoy the evening and may feel good at work.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Thankfully they would have come anyway but I do love seeing them here🙂 We have lots of another kind of sea gull at work and they aren’t loved at all🙂 I’m the only one that likes to hear their sound during the day🙂 And my car is one of the few never covered in their guano🙂🙂🙂

      I had to do a system recovery because it seems it’s a windows update, or two really, that gives my computer problems. It works now but very slowly so I’ll do it one more time after answering all comments here. After that I might be able to actually write a post today, yesterday I barely could get in to any site at all.My computer is trying to download the Rocky photo but I’m not sure it will be successful until I do that second system recovery.

      No rain here today but weäll get more soon, the lowpreassures are standing in line over Great Britain🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Good news that the illness seems to have passed. Lots of rain here too and a bit cool. My little dog Gwennie hates to go out in the rain, she will just hold “it” for as long as it takes to stop raining.
    Never heard of those berries. It is so nice to have your own berries to pick and eat!

    • Hi Robin!

      I’m still very tired though but it worked fine at work.

      My dogs do get outside even if it rains but they usually hurry in as soon as they have doen what ever they wanted to do🙂 Only Sune seems to like rain though.

      I love those berries and hope to get lots in a few years🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Ibland blir man bara galen på vad som händer med elektronik och internet och telefonbolag och…..😦
    Jag vet inte om jag berättat vad som hänt med vår bredbandsanslutning. Vår lokala fiberförening har informerat och lobbat i ett år nu och så kom “gubbsen” hit för att sätta ut märkpinnar för grävarna. Då säger “idioterna” att det ska in en 4,5 m bred maskin på 6 ton med släp för att dra matarkabeln på vår otroligt långa, men smala, tomt. TROTS att vi blivit lovade en pytteliten både muntligt och skriftligt.😦😦
    Alltså så drog jag omedelbart tillbaka utbetalningen av dom 17.000:- det skulle kosta oss (sen tillkommer ungefär 5.000-8.000:- inne också) och så hoppade vi av. Men då kom genast fyra olika ur styrelsen för att övertala oss. Och – oh nej – det skulle minsann inte alls komma en stor maskin, utan en liten som vi blivit lovade. Snacka om efterkonstruktion när dom märkte att vi hoppade av. Men har vi bestämt oss, så har vi – och det kändes underbart skönt!🙂
    Jag klarar mig alldeles utmärkt med ADSL + mobilt bredband – tack! Vi har ju ingen firma längre så vi har inget krav på att allt ska gå jättesnabbt!!

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Denna gången verkar det vara två uppdateringar från Windows so skapar stora problem. Jag fick två uppdateringar den elfte och tolfte och sedan fungerade ingenting. Jag gjorde en systemåterställning till den tolfte och då fungerar det delvis, så att jag åtminstone kan svara här. Så efter detta skall jag göra en ny till den elfte också så kanske det blir helt bra igen🙂

      Jag hade reagerat precis som ni och avbeställt alltihopa! Jag är ju bara på bloggen och på facebook, om jag inte beställer fröer och plantor förstås🙂 så jag behöver definitivt inte fiberoptik.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  6. Sometimes these blogging sites can get temperamental it seems as blogger often tells me a post has not saved. That’s why I dislike composing my posts online in blogger. Photos also sometimes will not upload. It can get very frustrating. Glad you are feeling better. It seems that your Siberian iris bloom much later than ours.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      This time it seems as if it is two updates from Windows that creates chaos in my computer, I’ve done one system recovery but I think I need to do one more to the eleventh this month. I did one to the twelfth and now things works at least some🙂🙂🙂 I rarely have problems with WordPress otherwise thankfully.

      Spring comes later here and is cooler too so that’s why they are so late here but I’m happy as long as they show up at all🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Cindi!

      It was my internet comapny’s fault, well my own too to be honest so everything is ok again🙂

      I don’t like Google Chrome since Google puts a lot of tracking cookies in Your computer. It follows You everywhere and these cookies can also save all poasswords and codes You use when using the internet bank for instance. Google has too much power and does like the owners wish.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

