In between thunder storms.

DSC_0009 (529x800)

 

The weather during the night  didn’t get that bad as they had predicted, we got one shower and that’s it. I looked in the ditches and creeks by the bog now on our latest walk and the most of them are all dried out. As You know that’s something I like🙂 But the weather today is rather wobbly. Lots of wind, some sun, some rain and some thunder. The wind just started to blow even harder now so I guess more thunder is on the way soon. The sky just turned dark lead grey right now.

 

The Magpie photos are taken through a window and are a bit blurry.

The Magpie photos are taken through a window and are a bit blurry.

DSC_0006 (800x530)

DSC_0010 (800x530)

DSC_0011 (800x530)

 

Normally flies go crazy when thunder is near but they didn’t even bother me when we were by the bog. One or two flew around me and I got one or two mosquito bites but that’s it. I soo hope the rain will stay away from us for quite some time more🙂

 

Things back to normal again, Bertil followed us today.

Things back to normal again, Bertil followed us today.

DSC_0015 (800x530)

The grass sparkles like it was covered in little diamonds.

The grass sparkles like it was covered in little diamonds.

It's Dog bisquit season and they smell rather nice.

It’s Dog biscuit season and they smell rather nice. All the white flowers further down the road.

 

The magpies are still hanging around in my garden and the parents protect their young ones with their lives. That will soon change though, there are few animal parents that are so evil towards their kids when they get tired of them as magpies are. They can even injure them so bad that they die if they insists on staying close to home. When they leave here they will also get hunted by all other old magpies in the area until they can find a place to stay. I guess there won’t be many survivors every year. Their cosines the Jackdaws on the other hand keep their young ones close and next year those one year old ones will help raise their new siblings.

 

DSC_0024 (800x530)

DSC_0026 (800x529)

DSC_0028 (800x530)

DSC_0032 (800x509)

 

I just got a text message from my phone company suggesting I would pull out all power plugs since thunderstorms were approaching my area. Nice of them to warn me but it is a bit late since thunder already has passed by a couple of times🙂 I wonder if thunder has any effect on bread fermentation? I’m just about to bake a bread and I wonder if things will work as usual or perhaps the fermentation will work better or worse?  Thunder do affect my head though and my stomach can’t take any head ache pills but it can take coffee and I’m drinking lots of that today🙂

 

A walk in between rainfall.

A walk in between rainfalls. Not much rain as You can see on the dry road.

DSC_0010 (800x519)

DSC_0011 (800x530)

DSC_0013 (800x530)

 

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0003 (800x530)

Rosa glauca.

Rosa glauca.

My Cinnamon rose.

My Cinnamon rose.

Rosa multiflora. Barely makes it here but I know that many states in the USA is forbidden to grow since it spreads like fire and suffocate all the native roses.

Rosa multiflora. Barely makes it here but I know that many states in the USA is forbidden to grow since it spreads like fire and suffocate all the native roses.

 

18 thoughts on “In between thunder storms.

  1. Hi Christer! Such beautiful photos! We too had a bit of thunder yesterday but it was mainly wind. Everything was blowing around, I don’t like it when it is windy all day long. Makes hard times working out of doors. I hope your head feels better – that is typical for some to get a headache with thunderstorms. Bye for now!

    • Hi Dianna!

      I’m glad You like them🙂

      Mostly windy here too, the occasional brumble but that’s it. Here the wind keep all the flies away so I don’t mind (even if we’re having much fewer flies so far than normal).

      My head is better but now it has moved down to the neck. Not too bad though, just irritating.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Rosa multiflora AKA vicious roses. I have them all over the place. They are lovely when in bloom. They are evil at any time. They don’t just suffocate native roses. They take over everything. The ones in my yard have almost chocked out the wild grapes and those things can be like the blob that ate Chicago.🙂

    I googled dog biscuits. Mostly I got dog biscuits for dogs. Then I saw the phrase linked to hund kex which led me to Cow Parsley (Anthriscus sylvestris). Also called Queen Anne’s Lace in some countries but different from what we call Queen Anne’s Lace (Daucus carota) in the USA. I think we have cow parsley here as well. If it had any use at all, the European settlers would have brought it over with all the other “weeds” they lugged here.🙂

    The resident woodchuck needs to die. Soon. I got home from an afternoon with friends to find that the greedy thing had eaten most of the flowers in one petunia planter, all the petunias in the other, all of the parsley and he had dug up the smaller aquilegia and eaten all of it. The only reason he left any petunias in the first planter was because he knocked it over and couldn’t get at the rest. He left the orange mint, the basil and the spicy oregano alone. This morning I saw him across the street at the neighbor’s house eating their new plantings.

    The weather is perfect here. Sunny and mild now but starting to cloud up. There might be thunderstorms later on. Enjoy you in between the T-storms afternoon.🙂
    Beautiful head shot of Nova.

    • Hi Caryn!

      They are much nicer in my climate🙂 The ones I have are also almost thorn less and that helps liking them🙂 I thought they had died this winter and big parts had but as You can see some survived. I would have dug them up though but the root system is just too big🙂

      Hundkäx is used to color yarn green but I doubt anyone brought seeds with them to do that🙂 But we have plenty plants that looks very much the same but they don’t smell as wonderful.

      Yes the woodchuck needs to die or moved elsewhere. But I guess a new one pretty soon would move in and take over. But I guess a trap with lots of things it likes to eat would be effective. It’s so irritating when they just eat everything one wants for oneself. Here plants kan look fine and suddenly just die in front of our eyes because the voles have eaten all the roots🙂🙂🙂

      The clouds now cover the entire sky and it is a bit cold so I have turned on the radiators. Tomorrow the sun will shine again so they’ll just work tonight🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. hi christer! we are getting rain here today and it is very very humid. all of my windows are fogged over. teddy has hardly gone outside. we are going to be in the 90’s by the end of the week. my worst kind of weather! i can’t believe summer equinox is next week. time to start counting down to fall! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      I’m glad we almost never get it as hot as that! If the humidity is high at the same time it’s just awful🙂

      We haven’t gotten that much rain, the showers that pass only last for a minute or two. It will get warmer later next week but I hope it stays reasonable cool anyway.

      Time just fies by so fast! It’s already turning again and I’m not happy about it!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Jim!

      It’s a bit cold perhaps but we haven’t gotten especially much rain after all and that’s how I like it🙂

      It is like walking around in some old fairy tale sometimes,especially early in the morning weh no sounds natures can be heard.

      Have a great day my friend!
      Christer.

    • Hi Deanna!

      Everybody loves that little cat but he only loves his dogs🙂 Humans better stay away from the little monster🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Christer,
    I never see Magpies around here. They are beautiful birds.

    Your world looks so green and lovely. Even the cows look happy.

    A fox has been spotted walking down my street. That makes a fox and a coyote close. Gracie has her intruder bark so I’ll know if anything is around. I’m hoping the 6 foot fence will keep out most critters though we know the possum just climbs the tree.

    Have a wonderful evening!

    • Hi Kat!

      I think Magpies are one of the most beautiful bird we have, especially when the light comes from the right angle, then the tail feathers turns green and blue.

      It’s amazing how many different varieties there are of the color green🙂 I think we must have them all🙂

      I haven’t seen the fox for a week or so here and no badger at all so far. But I’ve talked with a neighbor and he sais it walks by his barn every night. I’m påretty sure a 6 foot fence will keep the fox and coyote out of Your property, they must be desperate if they would try climbing that, possums however is a totally different thing🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Cindi!

      They are really funny and beautiful birds but can change quikly and became nasty and evil too, especially towards their young ones and other magpies. Over here magpie would be a awful nick name, it means that one is either hideous or a thief🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

