A short working week, again :-)

DSC_0010 (800x530)

Scientists have always told us that when the carbon dioxide lever rises warm and dry places like deserts will get even more warm and dry and that places with lots of rain will get even more rain and we have believed them. Well it turns out they only seem to be half right. Studies now show that it is raining more than ever in desert areas🙂🙂 :-) and it’s all because the carbon dioxide level rises🙂 They have checked the amount of rain that has been falling in all deserts and how the CO2 level has risen during that time.

DSC_0001 (800x530)

DSC_0003 (800x529)

DSC_0004 (800x530)

DSC_0005 (800x530)

So if this continues the Sahara desert will become a savanna instead but for us living in already rainy places it seems it’s time to get webbed feet instead🙂🙂🙂 Well no rain here today though, mostly sunny and warm but we had only 5C (41F). not unusual here and I have to admit that it was kind of nice when standing in the sunlight before going to work.

DSC_0008 (800x530)

DSC_0012 (800x530)

DSC_0014 (800x529)

The sun went up at 4 am this morning and will go down at 10:14 pm. But since the angle towards the sun is in our favour it will be light already shortly after three am and it will continue to be light until after 11 pm at night. It’s no use trying to look at stars here at night during summer🙂

It has rained much more down by the creek and here the flies were nasty. But as soon as we came closer to home and my part of the bog most flies disappeared.

It has rained much more down by the creek and here the flies were nasty. But as soon as we came closer to home and my part of the bog most flies disappeared.

DSC_0017 (800x530)

DSC_0018 (530x800)

 

It’s a short working week once again because on Friday we celebrate Midsummer. It is as big or possibly even bigger than Christmas, or Yule as we call it here and it is all pagan even if the Christian church tried to take over this holiday too. They have never even been close to be successful with that🙂🙂🙂 But more about that on Friday, I hope I can find any local tradition I still haven’t written about here.

DSC_0019 (800x530)

Another photo taken with my elbow :-) I like it though.

Another photo taken with my elbow🙂 I like it though.

Ferns comes in all varieties.

Ferns comes in all varieties.

 

It’s time to make something to eat and another cup of tea. The Magpie parents are still nice to their young ones and all is well in the little village at the outskirts of the world.

 

Teodors new favorite place to sleep, in the grass collector to my lawn mower :-)

Teodors new favorite place to sleep, in the grass collector to my lawn mower🙂

Geraniums are like weeds in my garden :-)

Geraniums are like weeds in my garden🙂

Iris setosa, I think.

Iris setosa, I think.

Have a great day!

 

Lime flower.

Lime flower.

 

12 thoughts on “A short working week, again :-)

  1. hi christer! is midsummer when they build those icons? teodor looks like he is coming out of a litter box. sunny, humid and warm here today. the magpies are beautiful birds! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      Yes Midsummer is when we put up those Midsummer poles and then we dance around that big phallos🙂

      Teodor was asleep in it when we came home🙂 but I wouldn’t be surprised if he gets tired of it and then use it as a litter box🙂🙂

      I do like Magpies even if they are noisy and scares away all smaller birds.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. lots of rain here, beautiful photos,I have never saw a blue geranium, I look forward to reading what you will write about midsummer, cats surely do find the strangest places to sleep don’t they!!!!

    • Hi Laurie!

      Thankfully it looks like we’ll miss most of the coming rain but that can change quickly I’m afraid🙂

      We have lots of different blue geraniums but this is not the ones You call geraniums in English. The flowers You call geraniums in English are really pelargoniums, the ones we have in pots. They are closely related though and once upon a time they did belong to the same family. Geraniums like it a bit too much in my garden🙂

      Cats seems to love really tiny boxes that they can’t fit in to🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    Sometimes our photographer’s elbow knows best.🙂
    The magpies are pretty. I hear they are clever little thieves of shiny things.
    Don’t forget the very big moon that will be very much closer on June 23 than it has been in a very long time (like about a year).
    If I had a cat, it would probably be sleeping in my grass catcher, too, since I don’t use it on my mower. It sat in the hallway for a year before I finally took it down to the cellar. Emptying the grass catcher is just one more onerous aspect of lawn mowing and I chose not to add it to the list.🙂
    It’s sunny, breezy and warm here today. There may be thunder storms later on. Or not.
    Enjoy the short week.

    • Hi caryn!

      Yes elbows have been known to take some of the best photographs ever🙂

      Magpies are huge thieves🙂 They steal anything shiny and/or brightly colored. Never forget keys or anything shiny outdoors because it will be gone the next day🙂

      I use the grass catcher every time now because I use all the grass to kill weeds🙂 The layer is so thick that nothing can grow through it. I guess he just like the smell of cut grass🙂

      The evening is quite nice but it’s already cooling down now, it will be a cold night once again🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Nothing wrong with another short work week, Christer. Of course, since we are both retired every week is like a holiday. I am not familiar with the one you mentioned so also look forward to learning more.

  5. Hi Christer..I’m sorry I haven’t been around lately. Life gets in the way of blogging now and then.🙂 Really nice photo’s… Cats are so great…sometimes I wish I had one again…but this late in the game I guess it’s not a good thing to do. I thing Mele is my last animal. I don’t want to leave my pets for the children to have to take if I can help it.
    I can’t believe it stays light so late at night. How interesting.
    Enjoy your tea.
    Mona

    • HI Mona!

      I haven’t been around much in Blog land either since I’ve been under the weather for some time.
      I like cats but I love dogs. The only reason I have my cats is because of that rat my dogs didn’t care to chase🙂 No such problems since they moved in though🙂

      I think the same way You do and even if I think I have plenty of time left I still have started to think about when the last pet will move here. A dog needs around ten good years from me but we tend to become rather old so I’m guessing that I’ll get my last dog when I’m around 70-75🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

