When it hits, it hits hard.

DSC_0045 (800x530)

 

It’s one of those days when we’re having one hour sunshine, one hour cloudy and one hour cloudy with rainfall. It’s one hour cloudy with heavy rainfall at the moment and both pairs of working trousers are hanging outside to dry after I have washed them🙂🙂🙂 I wouldn’t have mind the rain if it wasn’t for the fact that it brings out more flies, we’ve been lucky so far this year and I’m afraid that luck has run out with the rain this time.

 

DSC_0003 (800x530)

DSC_0004 (800x530)

DSC_0005 (800x530)

DSC_0006 (800x530)

 

It’s a bad day for me today, I have a disease called Bechterews disease and it comes and goes as it pleases and today it has arrived with full strength. It is a rheumatic disease that mostly hits the muscle attachments and inflames both the muscles and the ligaments. It can also attack the cartilage in mostly the hips but it can pretty much hit anywhere in the body. It is my immune system that attacks my body and when it does it hurts like h..l!

 

DSC_0009 (800x530)

DSC_0010 (800x530)

DSC_0011 (800x530)

DSC_0018 (800x530)

 

Don’t feel sorry for me, it’s not that bad in me when comparing with others that have this and normally it’s far between these attacks. It does help to move around and exercise, or  to not stand still too much. So while writing this I sort of is rocking on the chair even if it isn’t a rocking chair🙂🙂 The problem is that when it hurts that bad that it is a problem to get out of bed one usually prefers to stay in bed🙂 The first walk this morning was anything but fun but I know I have to walk around to make the pain go away.

 

DSC_0021 (800x530)

DSC_0025 (800x530)

DSC_0028 (800x530)

DSC_0007 (800x530)

 

So between showers I’ve been walking around and I have also planted some perennials in one of my flower beds. It’s easy to get down and it doesn’t hurt while working, it’s getting up that is the tricky part🙂🙂🙂 After this I’ll lay down for a while with a heat pad towards my back, that can help some if I’m lucky. It’s raining again so the small plants I just planted will have a good start on their new life. It’s time to eat some too, both for me and my dogs. One of the side effects of having this disease is to lose ones appetite, not so for me I’m afraid🙂🙂🙂

 

DSC_0039 (800x530)

They are always playing🙂

DSC_0034 (528x800)

DSC_0035 (800x530)

DSC_0036 (800x530)

 

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0042 (800x530)

18 thoughts on “When it hits, it hits hard.

  1. I still feel bad for you even if you say not to.
    But it’s good that you are forcing yourself to move around.
    Hope your day gets better.
    Love ALL the cat photos!
    Take care of yourself.🙂 – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!

      No use in feeling bad about this, I seems to have a mild variety of this.

      Sitting still would just make it worse and the pain goes away faster if I do move a lot🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Aj katten har du Bechterews, det har både vår bäste kompis och hans son så jag vet att det inte är något vidare:( Men som du säger det “lindrar” att röra på sig:) Vi har likadant väder hos oss idag som ni har. Hoppas att du snart mår bättre i ryggen -KRAM/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!

      Då vet du hur det kan vara ibland. Men det är sällan som jag kommer in i ett skov som detta tack och lov.

      Vi får väl se hur länge det håller i sig denna gången, det lär sitta i ett bra tag i vilket fall som helst.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  3. geeze christer! i hope you feel better soon. can you take any medication for this? who is that first cat? we sure could use your rain. none in sight here and 90 degree weather! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      I had a great medicine but my stpomach can’t take it, so now I’m testing different liniments. But moving around is the best no matter what even if it is a bit hard in the beginning🙂

      Thank god we don’t have it that warm here🙂 That heat and this back pain would kill me🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer,
    I kind of know how you feel as I have arthritis in all the parts that I need to use to get around. Some days I have to hobble around in pain a lot longer than is usual before I limber up enough to move better. And if I stop for any length of time I have to unstiffen all over again. Groan!
    I hope your flare up goes away quickly and doesn’t come back again for a very long time.

    It’s hazy sun here today and in the upper 80’s Fahrenheit. The house is comfortably cool with just a fan so I’m not complaining.
    Rocky and I went down to the lake very early this morning while it was still cool. Not much was happening. I found a very tiny bee which had an iridescent emerald thorax and a black and white striped abdomen. I assume it’s a bee, could be a fly. There was also a small tombstone with Mother carved on it. The stone was almost entirely engulfed in the trunk of a very large tree that had grown up around it.

    Enjoy the rest of the day and keep moving.🙂

    • Hi Caryn!

      It does take some time to come back after sitting still for a while🙂 But this can also give the kind of pain that feels like someone puts a knife in the back. It hurst so bad that it is hard to breathe. It usually stays for a while I’m afraid but if I only can be moving around a lot it wioll feel better. The problem might be lifting 55 pound sacks with paint powder🙂🙂🙂

      I guess that’s a relative to the bee, there are plenty of them and many live on other flies and bugs. It sounds as if it was rather beautiful.

      How intrueging with that tombstone! I wonder what history lies behind it? That’s the kind of finding that starts the imagination🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • I looked the bee up. It’s some kind of male agapostemon but mine definitely had white and black stripes instead of yellow and black that I keep seeing online. It was gathering honey and had white pollen sacks on the legs just like a honeybee. It’s a native American bee. It was very pretty. I’ll stick a photo up on FB.
        The tombstone is intriguing. Nothing else can be seen on it because the tree is there. That particular graveyard is a combination of 19the century cemetery and a group of graves from the 17th and 18th centuries that were moved from their original place some time ago. This one looks like a 19th century stone. I’ll stick that picture on FB, too.

      • Hi Caryn!

        Are Your sure it’s a male? They usually never participate in bringing up the young ones and are usually killed by the females if they live in some kind of bee community. Try to find photos of a female one. I’ll take a look at that photo at FB🙂

        It is intrueging with that tomb stone! and only because nothing can be seen I really want tyo know who’s berried there🙂🙂🙂

        Christer.

  5. I am sorry to hear about the disease and hope it will be a very short flare-up. Thank goodness for dogs and walks! That first kitty is very pretty…where does he/she live? Always great to see pictures of Bertil and Teo. The pictures of fields and cow look and say very much Summertime. Here today is 95 degrees F. ugh so hot.
    Take care, and feel better SOON!

    • Hi Robin!

      It usually stays for a while but the more I can move around the easier it gets.

      It’s one of the cats that have moved in to the farm next door. No cat coming to this village is homeless for any longer period of time, they just move in to a barn and then they’ll get food. The farmers don’t want to use poison so they let any cat move in instead🙂

      I’m pretty happy we don’t have that heat here🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. AStackare – det är jobbigt att ha ont! Och det är naturligtvis ännu jobbigare att veta att det är kroniskt!! Men det hjälper ju inte att ömka dig….bättre då att puscha dig att röra på dig mer, även om det känns lite underligt. :-(Här har vi haft ett otroligt fint väder hela helgen, just nu är det sol och 22 grader så man kan inte klaga. Fast…det har blåst lite dagtid vilket gjort att man får vattna som en galning. Alla små krukor torkar ut under dagen, så det är BÅDE morgon och kväll som gäller.🙂
    Just nu håller jag på att vattna baksidan med vattenspridare, det är ett favoritjobb! *fiss*

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Det är inget jag går omkring och tänker på direkt, man vänjer sig konstigt nog vid värken en hel del. Det är bara när det blir som värst som det är svårt att släppa det.

      Solen visar sig rätt mycket nu sent på kvällen🙂 Men det gjorde inget att det regnade trots allt, fick ju lite planterat mellan skurarna och det kunde ju inte bli en bättre start för de små plantorna🙂 Ingen vattning behövs här nu🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  7. the first cat is so pretty, not yours I don’t think,

    Have you ever tried a liniment cream called Volatren, it works great, I hope your pain eases soon, that sounds like a nasty disease, take care of yourself,

    • Hi Laurie!

      No not mine but I garee, it’s very pretty.

      I have it at home but unfortunately it doesn’t help as much as one could think. But I’ll use it tonight and tomorrow while I’m working. I’m not that badly hit by it but it can be a truly nasty thing to get.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. I hope you are feeling better today! who is the visiting kitty? Bertil and Teodar are looking handsome as always. Take care of yourself and I hope the pain is easing.

    • Hi Deanna!

      Can’t say that it feels much better and this will stay for quite some time. But I feel better when working since I do move around a lot.

      That cat lives up at the farm next door. There are a few that looks very sumilar to this one and they are all siblings🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

