The water barrel isn’t full yet :-)

It seems I have planted a blue colored iris long ago but it has never flowered. It grew very close to a white flowered iris and it looks as if it's the same plant with two very different kinds of flowers :-)

It seems I have planted a blue colored iris long ago but it has never flowered. It grew very close to a white-flowered iris and it looks as if it’s the same plant with two very different kinds of flowers🙂

 

My back has behaved rather kindly all day since I’ve been moving around all day while working but I know I’ll pay for that now and all night. Tomorrow morning will be fun too but this is what I have to do to make my back better. I never know for how long this will stay but it usually stays a couple of weeks or more. I’ve also been feeling it in two of my fingers and both my feet and that’s normal too. But as I’ve said before, I know people who are hit much worse than I am so this is nothing compared to them.

 

DSC_0019 (800x532)

DSC_0021 (800x531)

DSC_0022 (800x532)

 

It rained rather heavily at work today but not especially much here at home, there was a shower when I came home but all dogs were almost totally dry so I think that was what we got here. The water level in the rain water barrel still has some way to go until it reached the top of the barrel and I’ve placed the water-lily in it too with the fish. It will look nice when it starts to flower. The fish loves to hide under the leaves too and snap an insect or two if they come too close🙂

 

The two crows comes back daily and today it looked like they had their two ypung ones with them.

The two crows comes back daily and today it looked like they had their two young ones with them.

I doubt we'll get any blackberries this year, they have just started to flower.

I doubt we’ll get any blackberries this year, they have just started to flower.

DSC_0029 (800x530)

 

My cats have killed one of my squash plants and a couple of my pepper plants too. They have used my vegetable garden as their outdoors toilet I’m afraid. My dogs then tries to dig up what the cats have been hiding but I can at least tell my dogs not to go there, it’s harder with the cats🙂🙂🙂 But they hate the smell of coffee beans so I usually pour out some where I really don’t want my cats to go so I’ll do that later today🙂

 

The rest of the photographs shows what's flowering in my garden right now.

The rest of the photographs shows what’s flowering in my garden right now.

DSC_0006 (800x530)

DSC_0003 (800x530)

 

It looks as if this will be a good fruit year despite the fact that we have very few bumblebees. But we do have lots of other insects that helps pollinating the flowers. I hate to admit it but male mosquitoes are great with that since they drink nectar instead of blood and the same goes for male deer flies and most other male flies where the females loves our blood🙂 But I’d rather have more bumblebees🙂

 

Beauty bush or as we call it Paradise bush.

Beauty bush or as we call it Paradise bush.

DSC_0034 (800x530)

DSC_0038 (800x530)

 

It’s time to make a pot of tea and something to eat. I might go out to weed some flower beds because I can feel my back getting a bit cranky🙂 But I need a new weed hacker with a long handle, it’s easy to go down on my knees, it is a bit worse to get up again🙂🙂🙂

 

DSC_0036 (800x530)

Have a great day!

14 thoughts on “The water barrel isn’t full yet :-)

  1. the feral cats were using my raised bed behind the green house as a littler box. i had to put cat repellent down. no rain here today though my roofers assumed some was coming. they cancelled yet again!

    • Hi Joyce!

      My cats hate the smell of coffee beans so I’ll pour out some of that instead. It doesn’t matter if I used the coffee or not so I can do it after I’ve made a pot🙂

      We’ll get up to two inches of rain tomorrow they say, I do hope they are wrong even if it will help my newly planted perennials🙂

      I would start to look after some other roofers if there are any🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Nice shots of the black headed gull and the crow.

    I’m glad your back behaved some today but sorry that you will have to pay for it later. I guess if you have to hurt, it’s better to hurt at home than at work.

    Regarding the green bee from yesterday: I called it a male because all the descriptions said the male has a striped abdomen and the female is solid green. However, they also said only females collect pollen and this bee clearly has pollen stuck to the parts of the leg where a female would collect it. Males nectar just like male mosquitoes and they cruise the flowers looking for females. Maybe this one is transgender.🙂

    If the cats are using the vegetable plot for a toilet, does that mean the voles won’t eat the roots?🙂

    It’s very hot here and I have no AC in the house. Bleh.

    Enjoy the evening as best you can.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I did have to brighten up the crow one though and it gave it a sort og grindy look🙂

      It is like it is with my back so no use complaining🙂 Now it started in my fingers and ancles too but not that bad thankfully.

      Perhaps Your bee is a hybrid of some kind or a very rare one🙂 A transgender would be very exclusive so lets hope for that🙂🙂🙂

      I’ve never thought of it that way🙂 But the vegetable garden is placed far away from the voles at the moment so I’ll take my chanses and pour out some coffe beans anyway🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Well, if it’s a very rare bee or an exclusive transgender bee, it will profit me not. The little guy (?) has flown off into the wilds of Lake Q never to be seen no more.🙂

  3. Hi Christer, gorgeous variety of colors in all your blooms. Too bad about the blackberries, I have a great recipe for blackberry cake! Those cats of yours need stern talking to! Good luck in the garden weeding and standing back up again. Still hot hot hot here!

    • Hi Robin!

      Those blackberries lives on the border of what they can manaf´ge so it isn’t especially often they give berries that get the chance to ripe. Only in hot summers and we have those once every tenth year🙂🙂🙂

      I managed to stand up but it took its time🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. I wish my cats could go outside for 2 reasons.
    1. so that they could enjoy the sunshine and run in grass and play.
    2. so that they would poop outside and then I wouldn’t have to clean their boxes constantly.😀

    • Hi Cindi!

      My two reasons too, especially the second one is perfect🙂 but they don’t have to do it in my vegetable garden🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

