Now it’s full.

 

DSC_0001 (800x533)

 

I had to turn on the radiators and close my bedroom window last night, the temperature never rose to any higher level and the humidity was around 100%. Perhaps good for nature but I can’t say I like it especially much🙂 Today it’s warm, raining and with almost 100% humidity, I’m not sure I like that much more either to be honest🙂

 

DSC_0005 (800x532)

DSC_0009 (800x532)

For a while it looked like I was going to have two cats with me on our walk :-) But Teo changed his mind when it started to drizzle.

For a while it looked like I was going to have two cats with me on our walk🙂 But Teo changed his mind when it started to drizzle.

DSC_0011 (800x532)

 

I’ve always wondered how people managed to survive back in the days. They worked ten hours a day and six days a week. They had one week of vacation every year if they were lucky. After work they often went to their allotment and worked there some and very often they studied some in the evenings too, often with the help of the unions. When did they sleep? In small villages they also were more or less forced to go to church early on Sunday mornings, I guess many slept nicely there🙂🙂🙂

 

DSC_0013 (532x800)

DSC_0014 (800x531)

DSC_0015 (800x532)

DSC_0019 (800x532)

 

I work eight hours a day five days a week and do little after work except walking with my dogs and perhaps do something in the garden. I have five weeks paid vacation and often I get two weeks away from work during Yule and New Year and I have absolutely no energy left at all🙂🙂🙂 Everyone at work just longs for vacation and it doesn’t help when the first one at my department starts his vacation already next week🙂 I still have to work one more week before my starts🙂 I guess just knowing that it’s so close makes it harder to go to work.

 

DSC_0017 (800x531)

DSC_0018 (800x533)

DSC_0022 (800x531)

DSC_0025 (800x533)

 

 

When I lived in the big city the last day at work was the best of the year🙂 I had already packed everything, except for pets then🙂 so I just went home and packed everything in my car and drove to the cottage I used to lease. One year I had two parakeets, two dogs, one cat and one rat to bring with me🙂 I didn’t care if I worked the late shift or the early, as soon as I had finished for the day I went away. That first night at the cottage was heavenly, I slept like a baby🙂 Four weeks away from the city and I couldn’t think of anything better than that. I knew I had to go home after two weeks to check the mail and perhaps buy some extra things that I didn’t think of bringing with me.

 

DSC_0027 (800x530)

DSC_0006 (800x530)

DSC_0008 (800x530)

DSC_0011 (800x532)

 

Now I live in the countryside and I sometimes miss that feeling I had when driving away towards the cottage. But it can actually hit me without warning sometimes when driving home from work, when I suddenly realise that I actually live in a place like I always dreamed of when living in the big city and those days nothing can bring me down🙂

 

DSC_0013 (800x530)

DSC_0016 (800x530)

DSC_0019 (800x530)

DSC_0022 (800x530)

 

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0002 (800x530)

My water barrel is full now. The water lily found a new home in it together with the koi and goldfishes.

My water barrel is full now. The water-lily found a new home in it together with the koi and goldfish.

DSC_0005 (800x530)

DSC_0026 (800x530)

 

21 thoughts on “Now it’s full.

  1. Hi Christer,
    I don’t know how our forebears did it either. Especially the wives. They didn’t work outside the home but then again their work at home was never over. Even if they were on vacation they weren’t on vacation.

    Years ago I learned to spin wool on a drop spindle. It’s not the spinning wheels that you see in old photos. It’s a top-shaped thing that you twirl with your hand and then feed the unspun wool onto it. Just to see if I could do it, I got some fleece off a friend’s sheep and prepared it for spinning myself. Filthy and smelly do not begin to describe fleece from a sheep that lives outside. Long story short, I got the fleece skirted, cleaned, carded, spun into usable yarn and knit into a decent scarf. I did it! And I’m very glad that I do not HAVE to do it to clothe myself or my family. If I had to do all that to put clothes on my body, I would move to a very warm climate and wear leaves. There’s a lot to be said for modern manufacturing.🙂

    It’s always a joy to realize how fortunate one is to live where and when one does.

    I was cruising around Nat Geo My Shot yesterday. I was pleasantly surprised to see that I got a comment on one of my pictures. I saw that your photo of the two dogs playing with the football got a Published.
    I still can’t figure that site out despite its improvements. There’s a clicky to notify you if you have new followers but there’s no place to actually Follow anyone or see who is following you. It’s as if someone had a neat idea and stuck a button on the website but didn’t get around to programming the neat idea.

    Enjoy the rest of the evening. Vacation is coming.

    • Hi Caryn!

      They didn’t live as long as we do nowdays though🙂 We might have goptten weaker of course even if we live longer🙂

      I do feel lucky that I don’t need to produce my own clothes🙂🙂🙂 So You didn’t cut Yourself on that spindle? Sleeping beauty wasn’t that lucky🙂 I know whatb it is but I’ve never tried that or a spinning wheel but my grandmother had one and I used to live maiing that wheel go round and round🙂

      It is a speciaöl feeling when realiseing how good life actually is, I tend to forget that 4:30 in the morning when getting up to go to work🙂🙂🙂

      I didn’t understand much of the nre NG site either🙂 I’ve been lucky with three photo’s but not the ones I thought I would be🙂 I must see if I can find You there too🙂 but as You say, it is a difficult site to understand🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • You have to do a search for my name but it doesn’t always work. I tried your name three times with the correct spelling and it kept saying zero results. Finally on the fourth attempt success! I favorited the photo of the dogs so it will be easier to find you again.

        If you ask the site people how to do something the answer is usually that you can’t yet but stay tuned.🙂
        Well, I know how to upload photos to it. That’s what it’s all about, I guess.🙂

      • Aha! I did try your name but NG couldn’t find You. I wondered if You might have a pseudonym🙂 I’ll try it again then!

        I hate answers like that🙂 Why can’t they just do the site properly from the beginning and not start with something half done?
        Yes uploading is the important thing🙂

        Christer.

  2. hi christer! is that your pond in the first photo? i always wanted to see it. so, you will be off for 5 straight weeks. do you have any plans? we are finally getting rain here today and we sure needed it. i have to remind myself all the time how lucky i am to live the life i enjoy living. sometimes i get caught up with things and i forget how happy i actually am. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      yes it is but without any water🙂

      No I’ll take four weeks now in the summer and save one week for later. Most probably I’ll use that week around Yule together with compensation hours and perhaps get three weeks of then🙂 No plans though but I’ll most likely get a visit from friends. They have three dogs (one is old Ernas daughter🙂 ) so then there will be seven dogs running around here🙂🙂🙂

      I too tend to forget how fortunate I am to be able to live where I want to live, all that I miss now is a big winning on the lottery🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Robin!

      I didn’t notice that until You wrote it🙂🙂🙂 I wonder if they all look like that or if they have individual patterns? Must check that🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. This post makes me happy.
    Happy to know how much easier I have it than people did years ago!
    Happy that I’m an independent woman of today and not someone’s servant of yesterday.
    Happy to know that you are happy and you are wise enough to know it!🙂

  4. So annoying, Christer, because I had a nice comment done, but WordPress is being stubborn about letting me publish. Seems it does not recognize my password so I will have to start over again😦

    • I wouldn’t have recognised You either since You call Yourself scenenotspoken today🙂 I saw the e-mail address and understood who Yopu are🙂
      Christer.

  5. OK, so NOW it remembered me. Your comment about the 100% humidity struck me because here we get over that number most hot summer days along with heat and haze. The local weather forecasters report the forecast in terms of the heat inde which often can be well over 100% when the temps get into the 90s as they have this past week. I don’t know HOW I got everything done when I was still working. I do envy your vacation time as the most I ever got was 2 weeks. Of course, now that I am retured, it is always vacation.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      It rarely get that hot here but we often have around 100% humidity. I know they show chill index during winter here but I’m not sure if any show heat index. No use for it I guess🙂🙂🙂

      Everyone that have been working for one year have five weeks paid vacation here in Sweden and in Europe it’s law that everyone should have at least four weeks of paid vacation. I’m not complaining🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

