Typical Swedish summer.

The cows are on tha pature just outside my cottage now. The old ones avoids cows because they are afraid of them. Sune however can just hear the sound and guards the property like crazy :-)

The cows are on tha pature just outside my cottage now. The old ones avoids cows because they are afraid of them. Sune however can just hear the sound and guards the property like crazy🙂

 

The day started with an intense drizzling and it was so bad that none of the dogs wanted to go outside for more than it take to do what they needed to do. Nova was a bit cranky even after it had stopped, I threw her favorite toy out the kitchen door, she loves to fetch it again but isn’t perhaps the easiest one to get the toy from🙂. She went out and stopped after a few steps, she lifted her paws and shook them and went indoors again leaving her toy. Sune went out instead and if this had happened in the cottage she never would have allowed that to happen🙂

 

A young Wagtail.

A young Wagtail.

 

But as the day passed the weather improved a lot. We’ve had sunshine all afternoon but it never got especially warm. I haven’t done much to be honest, replanted lots of small magnolias and walked around trying to find small pots for them. I’ve also prepared a flowerbed by turning the soil in a flowerbed where most perennials died this winter and weeds had taken over. If the weather permits it tomorrow (or if I feel for it later today) I’ll be planting lots of small Butterfly milkweed (Asclepias tuberosa) in it.

 

DSC_0016 (800x532)

 

Tomorrow will be the first day of the last week before vacation starts. I do hope we’ll get some summer this year and not like it has been the last couple of years with cold days and lots of rain all the time. I think it must be four or five years since I last had a vacation when it didn’t rain all four weeks. As I remember it I had two sunny weeks that time and the rest just rained away. Last year all four weeks rained away, perhaps good for nature but not for me🙂

 

DSC_0008 (800x532)

 

It’s time to make a pot of tea and something to eat. This morning was so cold that I made cocoa, something I usually only have when winter arrives. It’s so nice that the typical swedish summer finally has arrived🙂🙂🙂

 

DSC_0015 (800x532)

 

Have a great day!

DSC_0006 (800x532)

8 thoughts on “Typical Swedish summer.

    • Hi Joyce!

      yes You would love our weather🙂 and there’s almost no flies in the cities and only a few mosquitos as well.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  1. there are many who would love to have your weather, our days have been in the 60’s (18 Cecilius in Canada) and we rarely get 80’s if we do its never for long, lets all keep positive thoughts for your holidays to be warm and rain free, your photos are lovely, I know I say that everyday but they truly are,

    • Hi Laurie!

      I’ve read about how hot it is in some places in the US right now so I guess they would love this cool rainy weather. We rarely reach that high too, we usually stay around 20-22 degrees here. I wouldn’t mind if we had those temperatures for a longer period though🙂 Especially during my vacation🙂

      I’m glad You like them🙂
      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Poor Nova, too bad she doesn’t have rainboots!
    The raindrops are nice on the peony. I will hold my thumbs for good weather for you during your summer holiday!
    And even though he has a cross personality, Bertil is always photogenic!

    • Hi Robin!

      Life is tough, she better get used to it living in a rainy country🙂🙂🙂

      THey predict an unusually warm July here but I’ll believe it when it happens🙂

      Yes Bertil sure knows how to pose when he see the camera🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    Nova sounds like Rocky in the rain. Doesn’t want to get his feet wet. Doesn’t like it if it blows in his face. So particular, these dogs.🙂

    I think I should move to Sweden for the summer. You have the weather I like during that time. Not hot. No bugs (except for forest flies). Cows next to the house. I could enjoy that. I’d have to move back for the winter, though. I wouldn’t enjoy that.🙂

    It was sunny and warm here today. The house has stayed relatively comfortable but, then again, I’m not doing any strenuous work. Eating pizza and drinking iced coffee is not going to break a sweat.🙂

    I just went out to bring in Rocky and discovered that the woodchuck has eaten the parsley again. I’m hoping the neighbors across the street will do him in for eating their very expensive foundation plantings.

    Enjoy the rest of your day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I’m not sure about the wind though, it brings smells of hares and they seems to be very exiting🙂

      I guess one likes what one seldom get🙂 We could trade homes during summer🙂 I get the warm summer I want and You the cold one🙂🙂🙂 But there would be a risk of me getting a home on Your side of the ocean since I think I would like Your winter too🙂

      The evening was really nice yesterday! Today it looks like clouds will cover the night sky.

      It’s so annoying when an animal one really don’t like eat the flowers like Your woodchuck and our voles. I’m not half as annoyed if a deer does it🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

