When one least expects it.

DSC_0001 (800x534)

 

We walked to the bog when I came home and Bertil decided he wanted to follow us like most times but he complained the whole way. I thought that maybe wild hogs were nearby but at the same time I was pretty sure they would disappear since I shouted a lot after Sune and Orvar. They thought we walked way to slow and if there were any hogs nearby they better stay close.

 

DSC_0007 (800x532)

Bertil the hunter.

Bertil the hunter.

DSC_0010 (800x532)

 

I noticed that even if we have lots of flies right now it’s still much less than we usually have this time of summer and very few deer flies and horse flies. I guess it’s the late and dry spring that is responsible for that and I’m grateful. I haven’t even brought my mosquito hat when walking to the bog. Come to think of it, we have very little mosquitos too. Normally I keep the fly swatter close all day by now but there’s just no need for it right now. That however will change after the rainfalls we’ve had lately. I guess there are lots of midges too but they don’t like me anyway so I never notice if we have any.

 

DSC_0011 (800x532)

A very irritated cat :-)

A very irritated cat🙂

So there I stood taking a photo along the little creek thinking of nothing special.

So there I stood taking a photo along the little creek thinking of nothing special.

 

We stopped at the peninsula like we always do and neither I nor the dogs noticed anything but Bertil complained loudly. I turned around towards him and that was when I looked in to the eyes of a big moose🙂 It stood perhaps twenty meters away from us (much the same in yards) and I think he wasn’t sure if he should run away from us or perhaps scare us by running towards us🙂 Thankfully I catched Sune before he saw the moose because when I later let him go he was so interested in all places the moose had walked that I thought of putting the leash on again🙂

Then I turned around and saw this :-)

Then I turned around and saw this🙂

DSC_0018 (531x800)

I could see that he wasn't completely happy to have us there, the ears were laid backwards. But he decided to run away instead of attacking.

I could see that he wasn’t completely happy to have us there, the ears were laid backwards. But he decided to run away instead of attacking.

 

It’s time to make a pot of tea and something to eat. Those warm sandwiches I made yesterday was so delicious that I think I’ll make the same today, perhaps I’ll add some curry to them. Now it’s only three more days before vacation🙂

 

DSC_0026 (800x532)

DSC_0030 (800x531)

DSC_0029 (800x531)

 

Have a great day!

18 thoughts on “When one least expects it.

  1. what excitement christer! i don’t ever remember you showing a moose before? that’s good news so far about the flies. i haven’t had many here either. i have so many birds that i get few bugs. only the stink bugs since birds did not eat them but they have moved on to warmer climates. we are stuck in the same humid, damp weather here for at least another week. i am battling slugs now! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      I have actually shown on blurry photo with two moose calves but it’s at least one year ago. We used to have lots of moose in this area before but diseases have killed a lot of them.

      It’s the bog that makes this a fly paradise and no matter how many birds we have here it’s still not enough🙂

      We’re also stuck in the same weather weäve had since midsummer. No slugs but lots of snails here and they are kind of nice towards plants.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Chister,
    Wow. Good shot of the moose. Lucky he decided retreat was the better part of valour.🙂

    Bertil is one angry looking cat. He definitely looks displeased. I suppose he was thinking that he’d been telling you the whole time that moose was there and you were willfully ignoring him.🙂

    Up until last night there weren’t many mosquitoes around. The weather has brought them all out now. I got bitten on my kneecaps while I was sitting on my front steps. They itched all night.

    It’s another dull, humid day like yesterday. Hope there are no tornado warnings. We are not used to them in this part of the country.

    Enjoy your warm sandwiches and the rest of the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I forgot to thank him for standing still for such a long time🙂

      The strange thing with Bertil is that he lately actually has been nice??!! I was even alloowed top lift him up one time🙂

      Yes all this rain both You and we’ve gotten will bring those mosquitos, thankfully the itching stops after a while when too many have bitten me🙂

      I’ll hold my thumbs so You won’t get any tornados!!

      I had cold sandwiches but hot cocoa instead🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Oj, vilken grej:) Vilken tur att du han att koppla Sune, inte roligt om han försökt att “fånga” älgen:) Älgar är så himla mycket större än man tror. Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!

      Jo det kändes allt bra att få tag i honom innan han hann att få tag i älgen🙂
      De är fruktansvärt stora och rätt så elaka älgarna🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  4. Wow what a sight to see on your walk, and it sure beats seeing wild hogs, Christer. We are also having rainy and very humid weather here and of course that means the mosquitoes are breeding at a fierce rate. I do not usually stay outdoors in the evenings any more than necessary because they “like” me far too much. Your countdown will be over soon and then the vacation fun starts.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      Well, I’m not sure it beats seeing wild hogs but Those I never even believe I will see, thankfully🙂

      Mosquitos loves me but the itching stops after being bitten very often so I don’t mind them that much. But this is the weather they have been waiting for.

      Only two more days now🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. How wonderful to be able to photograph a moose so close up! I am very glad he ran away though. That photo of Bertil is funny, he does look really angry. If he let you pick him up, I’d be careful; he maybe plotting something evil. I bet the next three days will go really slow as you countdown to holiday time!!! Very very humid and hot today; the weather people forecasted heavy, severe thunderstorms for today….nothing at all happened. Typical.

    • Hi Robin!

      It was fun to finally get some good photographs of a moose and I’m sure glad he ran the other way🙂 A moose can be truly nasty, it can kick really good at all directions and they can bite too.

      Yes I’m pretty sure Bertil has an evil plan and I will be the only victim I’m afraid🙂 Unless he remembers who’s feeding him🙂

      Friday will be a nasty long day even if we always stop wiórking an hour earlier but today passed very quickly🙂

      Thinder nearby here and i think it’s heading our way.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Now THAT would have scared me! Yep..gotta listen to Bertil!🙂 LOVE that cat. Nice or not I think he is just great! He may not be cuddly..but he is the perfect outdoor cat. OR indoor. whatever the case..he is neat!
    Still hot, hot, hot here. We could at least stand it outside today and I tried to work in the yard but I didn’t last long.
    Take care out there.🙂 Mona

    • Hi Mona!

      I really didn’t like it when his ears went backwards, that means he’s aggressive. They can kick really good in all directions and they have a nasty bite too.

      Bertil is a great mouse catcher so I haven’t had a mouse running around here since he moved in🙂

      Still no real heat here but I still hope for some sun so my tomatoes ripe🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Cindi!

      So far he’s always been right when complaining. Now I’m hoping to see hogs too but that’s very unlikely I’m afraid.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

