It’s getting quiet.

I've tried to figure out what kind of predator bird this is but can't find it in my bird book.

I’ve tried to figure out what kind of predator bird this is but can’t find it in my bird book.

 

I bought a tick repellent spray the other day, it could be sprayed on the trousers instead of the skin which I thought was a good idea since the last spray against flies and mosquitos gave me eczema. I’ll never use it again, it smells like a really bad cheap perfume one usually buys when abroad on vacation🙂 It’s awful and the stench is impossible to remove, not from my trousers but from my cottage. It makes me sneeze and I think it’s melting my brain too🙂

 

DSC_0009 (800x532)

DSC_0010 (800x531)

 

We were supposed to get sunshine today but it’s been cloudy all the time, it’s warm though and the humidity is high and it’s just nasty🙂 I think thunder is near because the lights have been blinking quite often and the flies are behaving crazy too. We did get a lot more flies after this rain but it’s still fewer than normal but I’m pretty sure that’ll change. Few mosquitos still though.

 

DSC_0016 (800x533)

DSC_0018 (800x531)

 

Hector has gotten this idea that he must jump over the fence at least one time every day now. I don’t know exactly what it is he want to do up by the farm next door but he runs there as soon as he can. I had blocked the hole in the hedge but he found a new one. I just can’t let him stay in the garden any longer if I’m not out there too🙂 No one gets angry when he’s walking around by himself and he doesn’t do anything he’s not allowed to but I’m afraid that one day someone will drive too fast and hits him with the car.

 

DSC_0002 (518x800)

DSC_0004 (530x800)

 

Very few birds are singing any longer now, it’s time to wrap things together because most of them won’t get a chance to lay any more eggs anyway. There’s simply no reason for the male birds to put any energy in to singing any more. Blackbirds still sing in the tops of the trees and the smaller birds that will stay over winter sort of chirps too but they always do that. It’s still two months until autumn comes but those that will fly south may not have that much time before they move.

 

DSC_0006 (800x530)

DSC_0007 (800x530)

 

It’s time to make a pot of tea and something to eat. Only one more day before vacation comes🙂

 

DSC_0013 (800x530)

DSC_0015 (800x530)

 

Have a great day!

10 thoughts on “It’s getting quiet.

  1. Hi Christer,
    I love the photo of the window. It’s so cozy. I want to sit there and read or knit.🙂

    Your bird looks like a kite to me. Maybe a red kite? I can’t see details of color but the shape is right.

    Bertil always looks like a cat on a mission.🙂

    Rocky and I took our walk very early today. There were lots of dragon flies around the neighborhood. One even landed on the leash while we were walking along. Another one bagged a bug right in front of my nose.
    I checked out the burdock. It has already bolted and has tiny green burrs starting to form. It’s not growing in my yard so I’m not worried about lots of them showing up in the lawn next year.

    It’s hot and muggy here. There’s a breeze but it’s rather like the breeze from the oven door. At least it won’t rain on
    our Independence Day parades.🙂

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      That was once a glassed in porch but the owners made it a part of the hallway instead and removed all but two of those windows. Everyone tried to change his mind but he only saved those two windows.

      It does look like a kite but I think it’s at least 1,5 yards wide🙂 Unfortunately I never come close enough to see this bird any better than this. It’s a couple that nests in a pine beside the gravel road.

      I’ve seen a few dragonflies since early spring but today I saw one of the biggest we have. It was busy catching flies so I didn’t want to disturb it🙂 They are so beautiful!

      Our burdocks are still without flowers and we have them here and there and I will get more of them next year, but the ones we have here are much smaller than the one growing in my flower bed, so I guess that’s another species.

      It has cooled down here and we have a very weak breeze right now, can’t say it helps much though🙂

      Have a Happy 4th of July!
      Christer.

      • If it’s just the wingspan that is off, perhaps yours are just small for their species. Everything else that is similar either doesn’t have the forked tail, doesn’t have enough white in the wings or has way too much white in the wings.

        Wiki says Swedish red kites often winter in Spain. If yours are reds, maybe they can learn to eat Spanish snails as appetizers.🙂

      • I can of course estimate the wingspan a bit too short🙂 I wish they could fly a bit closer and in a better light :-)I can see from where they fly out from the forest but I have never seen their nest.

        The new pet, the slug eating Kite🙂🙂
        Christer.

  2. Hi Christer, that is an interesting bird, but no idea what it is. I wonder if it is just passing through.
    That bug repellant sounds horrific, most of them are too smelly to use. They repel people too.
    Hurray for last day of work Friday!!! I hope the holiday won’t rush past! Take care!

    • Hi Robin!

      It’s one of two that nests in a pine close to the gravel road. But I never come close enough to actually see how it looks.

      It still reaks of that awful repellant. It might be a great tick repellant but it’s also a great Christer repellant🙂

      Oh, it will just speed away that vacation of mine🙂

      Have a Happy 4th of July!
      Christer.

  3. hi christer! the tick repellent would do me in. i hate strong smells. i love that last pic of bertil! i wonder what has gotten into hector? joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      Like You I hate strong smells and this is truly strong and awful🙂🙂🙂 I do hope the smell will be gone by tomorrow morning!

      I can’t understand whay’s up with Hector. He has always been the dog I know will do the right thing🙂 His brother is slightly senile, so is his sisters so it might be something like that. I can’t let him stay outdoors if I’m not there too.

      Have a Happy th of July!
      Christer.

  4. I understand the strong smell thing. I can’t handle it anymore. In fact I just sprayed a painting with a protective finish and I had to move it out to the front porch because it was giving me such a headache.
    You really have some great photos today. I love the one of the flower in front of the window and also of Bertil of course.
    Hmmm. I wonder why Hector continues to try to get out. How odd for him to start this now.
    My Nora is cowering under my chair right now as several neighbors are setting off fireworks.
    the rest of the dogs seem ok, In fact Ruby and Louie didn’t want to come inside when they heard the loud pops!
    They kept looking around wondering what was going on!

    • Hi Cindi!

      I wonder if it has to do with age🙂 I never was bothered with strong smells back in teh days, as long as it smelled nice. Now days I can’t stand any strong smell no matter how nice it smells.

      I think it might be some kind of senility. One of their sisters has come in to a second childhood, one has suddenly turned aggressive towards children, she has always loved children all her life. Orvar is “gone” long periods so I wouldn’t be surprised if things starts to happen to Hector as well.

      Sune loves anything that sounds a lot, especially machines and tractors🙂 If he had been a boy he would love to check engines on everything🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

