Perfect summer weather.

Yesterdays sunset.

Yesterdays sunset.

It has been a rather nice day today, 25 C (77 F) as warmest but just for a short time the rest of the day has been a few degrees cooler and we’re having a strong breeze to cool us down too. Still, it was a pain to mow the lawn but that’s usually the case anyway. Swallows flew close to my head taking most of the deer flies but some of them reached me anyway, especially on my back where I couldn’t reach them.

DSC_0003 (530x800)

DSC_0004 (800x530)

DSC_0006 (800x530)

I’ll drive to town tomorrow morning to buy new mosquito nets and sticky fly papers, deer flies are usually that big that they can manage to escape from the stickiness but a few sticks in the wrong way, I have a couple that got caught in their wings and those are trapped for good.

I thought I saw something brown walking around in that ditch back in the photo.

I thought I saw something brown walking around in that ditch back in the photo.

I wished I had brought my old Nikon this morning so that I had had autofocus because tired morning eyes have problems focusing as it is without a camera :-)

I wished I had brought my old Nikon this morning so that I had had auto-focus because tired morning eyes have problems focusing as it is without a camera🙂 So the photos became a bit blurry.

It was a brown fox, don't think I've seen that one before.

It was a brown fox, don’t think I’ve seen that one before.

The only photo that got sharp and then the fox head is behind a tree :-)

The only photo that got sharp and then the fox head is behind a tree🙂

The grass was really wet even if it hasn’t rained for several days here, so I had to stop mowing quite often to get rid of the green mess that built up around the cutting blades, I know it’s just grass but it’s still sort of gross🙂 I must remember to buy a new electric cord as well since I forgot that this week. But my hopes are that we’ll have very little rain the coming days and that the grass stops growing for a while🙂

Bertil, grumpy as always never realized that the fox was that close :-)

Bertil, grumpy as always never realized that the fox was that close🙂

That beetle is just too big for the crab spider.

That beetle is just too big for the crab spider.

DSC_0021 (800x530)

I can’t see any cows in the pasture any longer, I think they finally brought them inside because they were so badly bitten by the deer flies that they just kept running around in the field. This last rain certainly made this a paradise for those flies. I guess all the birds are happy though, now they have lots of food for their young ones. No use in complaining though, I live right beside a bog and bogs are perfect places for all kinds of biting insects. Still, this is not the worst year by far, one of the first summers I lived here was so bad that we had to wear thick sweaters, jeans, socks over the jeans and preferable rubber boots, gloves and mosquito hats to be able to walk around at all🙂 Those that lived here all their lives said that it never has been that bad before or after as it was that year.

DSC_0010 (800x529)

DSC_0014 (800x530)

DSC_0009 (529x800)

It’s time for a cup of coffee and to check on Hector. He’s leashed outside the kitchen door where the wind is as strongest and shadow rules. Today it was Orvar that walked around but that I’m used to. Can’t say I liked it more than when Hector walks away but I’m used to him wander around by himself🙂

Not always the best of friends.

Not always the best of friends.

DSC_0002 (800x530)

I've never sown this poppy but it comes back every year.

I’ve never sown this poppy but it comes back every year.

Have a great day!

10 thoughts on “Perfect summer weather.

  1. i swear, i would have to move if i had flies like that. they would drive me crazy. that photo of teodor and bertil is too funny! that sure was a big fox!

    • Hi Joyce!

      Thankfully their season is rather short, both the biting and the annoying flies. But they are rather disgusting at the moment!

      That might be a child of the really big fox we had here before. They don’t hunt foxes here so they can become as big as they possibly can. The old one, the one Hector played with as a puppy was almost as high as Nova, but they are so thin that they look like they are starving when all winter fur is gone🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    I really love that window. I might just have to figure out how to make one and use it as a picture frame. I don’t have any place to use it as window.🙂

    Nova looks so comfy sleeping in the sun on the doorstep.

    Right now I’m having an infestation of house flies. I hate house flies. Perhaps I need to get some fly strips, too, but I’m not sure they are all that easily acquired around here anymore. Fly strips would be more useful than a rolled up newspaper and the lazy spiders that I have hanging about the ceilings.🙂

    It’s hot again. Really hot. Rocky and I were at the lake very early this morning while it was still cool. We’ll be sticking close to the AC unit for the rest of the day.

    Enjoy the rest of your day.🙂

    • Hi Caryn!

      I only wish they had saved all of thosw windows! I have one on each side of the door and would have loved to have the other four too.

      That dog just loves the sun and the heat🙂 I’m always afraid that she will be over heated but I guess she’ll notice that herself and move away if it gets too hot.

      Not so many house flies here, just those annoying smaller forest flies and those deer flies of course. I finally have spiders in my cottage again but I can’t say they are working especially hard🙂 They rarely take those big deer flies anyway since they are too big and too strong.

      Stay close to that AC!

      have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Jim!

      And it would be perfect if it wasn’t for all those flies. Even though we had our summer cottage when I grew up I still am a city boy🙂 We had very few flies in the city so I never got used to them. Now they tend to drive me crazy🙂🙂🙂

      I still wonder why I didn’t take the other camera since I still was a bit tired🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. That fox has a very long tail, great photo anyway!! I love the pale yellow flowers in your first photo (columbine?) Nova is so sweet, I love that picture too. The cats definitely look a little fierce! Happy first Monday of your vacation!!!

    • Hi Robin!

      Our foxes have long tails, I guess we have different species of red fox. You also have the grey fox, we don’t.

      Yes it’s columbines and some light yellow Aaron’s rod.

      Thankfully the two brothers rarely fight, only when they are bored🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. I can not handle flies. I just don’t know how you do it.
    Sounds like everyone was acting up except Nova.
    Such a good girl, love that photo.

    • Hi Cindi!

      I’m not that good either🙂 but one survives with mosquito hats and nets🙂

      They all have their moments, even Nova🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

