Busy morning.

Morning haze.

Morning haze.

 

The new mosquito nets are up and not a second to late, one of those nasty deer flies bit me in my elbow just when I was putting them up. It didn’t hurt that much but oh how the itching drives me crazy🙂 I know I shouldn’t scratch there but it’s impossible not to🙂  We’re having much the same weather as we did yesterday but the clouds are thicker, yesterday we could see the sun through the clouds but not today. Doesn’t matter really, it’s warm and that’s enough for me🙂

 

DSC_0013 (800x530)

DSC_0018 (800x530)

DSC_0020 (800x530)

 

I’m freezing though but that’s just because I woke up from a three-hour nap! I didn’t even know I was that tired🙂 We were up early today, a bit earlier than I had expected so I guess it was just to expect that I would be tired. I drove to town as soon as they opened the stores. First I went to the super market and bought some food. I was thinking of getting some bacon but happened to drive just after the slaughter lorry and saw some of the pigs. I didn’t get any dinner at all after that, only milk and müsli.

 

DSC_0016 (530x800)

DSC_0017 (530x800)

I doubt this hare was especially worried about us since it still showed its ears :-)

I doubt this hare was especially worried about us since it still showed its ears🙂

 

After that I drove to the pharmacy to get some hydrogen peroxide. Hector has gotten a hot spot and I called the vet but their answering machine just told me they didn’t have any phone hours today and that the day was fully booked. I really don’t care if it is vacation time for them too, they should never close the phone hours! Also, the message said that if there was an emergency one should call the animal hospital in Gothenburg and I can tell You that much that hell freezes over before I do that even if this had been an emergency.

 

DSC_0025 (800x530)

DSC_0028 (800x530)

DSC_0030 (800x530)

 

Then I continues to the low price store and finally found some mosquito nets (they didn’t have any at the super market and only four packages left in this place) I also bought a coffee machine, the old one is long gone and even if I rarely drink coffee it’s nice to be able to do it from time to time. At the moment I’m drinking instant coffee and that’s just not the same even if it is brown and contains caffeine🙂

 

DSC_0031 (532x800)

DSC_0032 (800x530)

DSC_0034 (800x528)

 

The last thing I did was to buy three goldfish, the fantail kind. To be honest, the fantails are actually deformed fish with two cadual fins (most often grown together at the top) and would never make it in the wild, normally I never support breeding of something that deformed but I just can’t help it, I like those fantails🙂. Well it was actually two fantails and a regular goldfish with extra long tail and they are now happily living in my second water barrel. May they grow big by eating all insect larvaes that grows up in that water barrel🙂

 

No haze on the mountain, they had thick fog.

No haze on the mountain, they had thick fog.

DSC_0036 (800x533)

Can You see the flies around Hector and Sune? They are like little grey dots around them and this is still early in the morning and the air is still cool.

Can You see the flies around Hector and Sune? They are like little grey dots around them and this is still early in the morning and the air is still cool.

 

It’s time to take another walk with my dogs. hopefully the wind will be strong enough to blow away most of the flies, unfortunately that also means most butterflies blow away too. We have lots of them here now, especially those blu small ones that are my favorites. I guess one can’t get it all, if I don’t want the annoying and biting flies around me I guess it isn’t more than fair that I won’t have any butterflies either🙂

 

DSC_0007 (800x530)

This is a good year for gooseberries. These will become red when ripe. I also have a wild gooseberry bush that gives slightly smaller but oh so delicious berries.

This is a good year for gooseberries. These will become red when ripe. I also have a wild gooseberry bush that gives slightly smaller but oh so delicious berries.

DSC_0009 (800x530)

 

Have a great day!

14 thoughts on “Busy morning.

  1. Christer,
    Oh, those flies! I remember the green flies were all over Shauna, my first Boxer, as we were walking so I kept swishing the leash so she wouldn’t get bitten. The flies bit me instead. By the time we got back to the car, I was nearly in tears.

    The humidity is worse than the heat. We are supposed to get some rain tonight so it will get humid in the afternoon and we’ll all be uncomfortable.

    We have beach plums which are delicious berries used mostly to make jelly. It’s delicious. Anyone who makes the jelly has secret spots they won’t ever tell about where they find the beach plums.

    I’m having a lazy day today!

    Enjoy your evening!!

    • Hi Kat!

      Thankfully those flies are just the annoying ones, the biting ones rarely are that many at a time. Well except for that awful year when nothing living could stay outdoors for more than ten seconds if not more or less covered in protection🙂 Midges however are tiny and thousands at a time and they can actually kill a moose, thankfully they don’t like me at all🙂

      Now I want beach plums🙂 Never heard about them before but they grow much like our sloes. Now I must search the net for someone selling kernels🙂

      Yes the humidity is much worse than the actual heat. It isn’t that hot outside now but still it’s kind of awful to walk around by the fields. Better in the shady forest and most flies seemed to be elsewhere today🙂

      The rest of my day will be lazy and most likely tomorrow as well🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. hi christer! do the deer flies bite the dogs? that would be awful for the pups. your gooseberries bush is loaded! do you eat them? do you make anything with them? i just bought a couple bushes and need to get them in the ground. we are still hot and sticky here. it is supposed to get better by this weekend. are you enjoying your vacation? joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      Deer flies bite anything with blood, even frogs! Awful insects! But Hector and Orvar have a really thick fur so they usually manages not to get bitten, it’s worse for Nova and Sune.

      I love gooseberries! I eat them straight from the bush or withmilk or in pies and I usually make some jam too. Gooseberry cream with a bit of ginger and cinnamon is delicious too🙂 Not great i lemonade though🙂 Just remember to water Your plants a lot now since it is that hot over at Yours!

      I am enjoying my vacation, it’s warm and alsmost sunny🙂 Even the flies were calm when we were out by the bog an hour earlier?! I didn’t even need to use my mosquito hat🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    I remember horseback riding in the woods and seeing the deer flies cluster at the base of the horses’ ears. The poor animals would be shaking their heads and flipping their ears back and forth trying to get the flies off. We used to stick leafy branches in the tops of their bridals to try to help. Eventually we got those fly net bonnets that go over the top of the head and ears and we put the fly blankets on the horses too. It helped a bit but it wasn’t much fun riding in the woods in fly season.
    Are your deer flies the yellow and black striped ones that are shaped like very tiny arrow heads?

    I am battling the invasion of the house flies. I have fly strips hanging in the bathroom and the kitchen. I’ve sprayed and cleaned and sprayed some more. The smell of insecticide is making me ill. I have no idea where the little beasties are coming from. Arrrgh!

    It’s not as hot as it has been but it’s still pretty hot. It’s supposed to rain but it’s taking it’s time.

    Enjoy the rest of your day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I know my old neighbor used some kind of smelly stuff that he sprayed on the horses, they smelled strange but it seemed to help a bit. But that was trotting horses so he sat in a carriage behind them, I doubt it would have been nice to sit on them🙂

      We have one kind that is arrow head shaped but it’s mostly black and white. Then we have the horse flies that looks much the same as You gree head flies, almost the same color of their eyes too. Nasty critters no matter what they are called🙂

      Here I have the forest flies instead, slightly smaller than the house fly, I guess they both are just as annoying🙂

      It will be slightly warmer tomorrow but a bit cooer with rain on Wednesday after that a high preassure will move in and we’l get it warmer again. Well I guess we know better if they are right on Thursday🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer –
    I”m sorry to hear that seeing the slaughter lorry ruined your plans for buying bacon. I love bacon, but I hate cooking it. When I use a frying pan the grease splatters eveywhere and takes an hour to clean up all the grease and the house smells like bacon for days (some might think this is a good thing, I do not). I have tried cooking it in the oven on a rack and this is less messy, but the oven usually needs to be cleaned or it will smoke every time I use the oven for a few times. Someone suggested microwaving it, but I don;t like the idea of nuking meat. Something creepy & unnatural about it. I usually only use the microwave for rewarming my coffee. I fight my bacon cravings and usually only give in a few times a year. Here the bacon is usually packaged in 16 oz. or you can buy whatever you want at the butcher. I cook the whole package, just to get the mess over. Then I wrap 4 slices of cooked bacon and put them in the freezer. Then when I get a craving I can pull a few slices out and reheat them quickly. They keep in the freezer for several months and taste just like you cooked it. It is the best way for one person to live with their love for bacon, but their hate for the mess it creates when cooking it. Maybe I could rid myself of the craving for bacon if I saw the pigs being processed into bacon, but I have raised pigs and we had them slaughter and I still ate the meat even though it bothered me.

    I have been reading about your terrible horse flies since the last snow melted. I know that Bev of Bee Acres Farm or Deb at Priscilla(you know, the spokesgoat), well one of these goat liking ladies had a blog about 6 weeks ago that talked about all these different fly traps used around the farm to keep the flies from bothering the animals & people. I think they just looked like small buckets hung on poles around the barn and house. The chemicals used were non-toxic and environmentally safe as I recall. I was thinking that you might want to look at these fly traps and order some for next year. At least when you were at home or in your yard working you would not be bothered by these horrible flies. it must be awful for the dogs & cats to be pestered by them too. Flies are such awful soures of disease and all. I took some epidemiology classes in college and the only thing I remember from them is the fact that fly constantly vomit as they fly around. They live to eat and as soon as their digestive systems are full, they throw-up so they can start eating again. I guess I git my moneys’ worth out of those classes right? Now that I think about it, I pretty sure it was Beverly’s blog at Bee Acres. I use Octoberfarm’s blog to link to Bev’s sight. The traps must be pretty inexpensive to place them all over a big piece of land, she said they were very effective in keeping the flies from driving everyone crazy.
    Sorry to hear your coffee machine died & you had to buy a new one. I don’t think they make them to last very long anymore. I bet the coffee machine companies know that if they make junk machines that coffee drinkers wull be so desparate for their caffine fix that they will not delay in buying a new one because of their addiction. I never drank coffee until I was about 45 and now at 55 I cannot function well unless I have my morning cup of coffee. My sister gave me one of those Keurig K-cup machines and it works fine for one person who drinks one cup per day. If you drink a lot of coffee those cups are too expensive. Almost $1 per 8 oz. cup. I find it on sale for about half that price on sale, so not so bad for one cup. I also add enough water to make a 12 oz. serving and the coffee is still strong enough. My brother-in-law comes form Swedish ancestory and he and all the men in his family drink very strong coffee all day long. They say it is a Swedish thing, but I am not so sure when I hear you say you mostly drink tea or cocoa. My brother-in-law ended up going to the doctor (which he avoids at all costs) because he thought he had heart problems. After the doctor listened to his heart he asked Mark how many cups of coffee he drank per day. Mark told him he drank at least a dozen large mugs between the time he got up until he went to bed. The dictor said the amount of caffine he was taking had caused caffine toxcity and his heart was constantly racing at 3 times the normal amount. The doctor told him to gradually cut back on the coffee because he was addicted so badly to the caffine. So Mark did what the doctor said and got down to several mugs a day. He was very surprised that he could now sleep at night and wasn’t shaking all the time. He was totally clueless about the side-effects drinking gallons of coffee could create. Next time I see him, I will try and remember to tell him not to blame his coffee addiction on his Swedish ancestory. Is your new coffee maker a swedish product? Wouldn’t it be funny if I were using a Swedish coffee maker and you were using an American machine.
    We had a week of 90+ degree heat, but this week is beautiful and about 80C. It is supposed to be sunny for the next 10 days. so I will cross my fingers that we don’t get too many hot days. Can’t do anything but sit around on the super hot days and I have a lot to do around the house. I am trying to get rid of all the clutter and things I no longer need. I am donating them to a charity that helps homeless families get set up in an apartment and they need everything for running a home. I have lots of sheets that no longer fit the beds I have and tons of household stuff that is perfectly good. I want to get everything I don’t need out of the house so I can set up the 2nd bedroom as a sewing/quilting room for me. I wish there was a business that would just come to your home when you are out and know exactly what you don’t really need . They could take everything away and give it to charity and you would never even miss the stuff. It is awful to have to make hard decisions about items we are sentimentally attached to. When my Mom dies a few years ago, I brought a lot of her things to my place, just because I did not want to think of giving all of her things away. Now, I can see that most of it was stuff that really had no special meaning to my Mom and I have no use for it. Those are the hardest kinds of decisions to make. but I am determined to declutter and then the house will be easy to clean and take care of since I am an “old person” at 55. Do you have much storage space in your cute cottage?
    Last thing is about you fantails. When I was in college I had 2 female orange fantails and a male red cap. The started out in a 5 gallon tank and grew to need a 10 gallon and soon, a 20 gallon. They grew at an amazing rate and I was no overfeeding them. I named the fish Sphen & the goldie girls. One morning I came down and noticed that only Sphen was in the tank and there was no sign of the girls. I asked my room-mates about what had happened to the goldfish? They told me that Sphen had grown 2X as big as the girls and that there was a horrible fight where Sphen attacked the girls and killed them. I said then where were the bodies? They finally told me that Sphen had eaten both of the girls after killing them. I went to the fish store where I had bought the fish and asked if he had ever heard of such a thing as goldfish canabalizing. The shop owner said that it is far more common than people think. He said that when finsh are in a tank or any container of limited size and they continue to grow, the biggest fish kill smaller fish to keep the environment non-toxic. Apparently, as the fish per water ratio changed, the toxins they excreated into the water can reach a point that threatens everyone survival and so the bigger fish kill & eat the smaller one to try and keep themselves alive. And yes, they do eat their fellow fish. I gave Sphen back to the fish shop owner and said I just did not enjoy looking at him knowing what he had done. So keep an eye on your fantails, if they grow very quickly you may need to think about a larger environment for them or seperating them into different water. A sad, but true, tale of Sphen the Redcap & how he murdered and then ate the Goldie Girls, just so he could survive. The moral of the story is – You can never tell what a fish is planning.

    Have a good day – Ellen

    • Hi Ellen!

      I must start with the coffee🙂 Your brother-in-law is right! Only the Finns drink more coffee than us Swedes in the world and our coffee is much stronger than what You drink in the USA. I guess You could make twice the ammount of coffee with the same ammount of coffee beans🙂 I almost never drink coffee at home but I do drink a lot at work (thankfully we don’t have to pay for coffee at work🙂 ). I also have to admit that most people over 50 never drink coffee after 6 pm because they tend to stay awake all night otherwise🙂🙂🙂 I have no idea from where this little machine comes, I haven’t opened the box yet :-9 But my guess is that it’s made somewhere in China.

      I’m not bothered by the smell of frying bacon but I know how things works in a sloaughter house. Now according to laws the pigs should be much better cared for before the slaughter here in Sweden than in any other country but unfortunately not even the biggest slaughter houses always follows the laws, something they showed us too many times in the news. I would prefere to find a farm where they do their own slaughter but the rules and paperwork to allow it here are so rediculus that most farms can’t afford doing that.

      I tend to become a bit fanatic when it comes to horse flies and deer flies🙂 We have all kinds of traps but many of us have realised that many of those traps attracts flies so that it can be even worse🙂🙂🙂 and then we have the problem with filled traps🙂 They are usually so disgusting that I leave them in the trees until winter and they freeze, then all the birds comes and eat the frozen flies🙂 No toxics are allowed in those traps so I guess it’s a good protein source for the birds🙂 Thankfully the season for these biting flies is short but it’s a bit longer for those harmless but oh so annoying forest flies. But I either use my mosquito hat or ear plugs if they get too annoying🙂🙂🙂

      I have absolutely no storage space at all in my cottage🙂 I have one wardrobe and that’s it🙂 I’m not especially sentimental either so I rarely save things for that reason and thankfully I’m not a collector either🙂 I can start colleting something but usually get tired of it after I’ve gotten a few things🙂

      I’ve never heard that about goldfish and fantails! But I guess the aquariums I’ve had in my life has been big enough. The water barrels are over 54 US gallons each and my aquarium is almost 30 US gallons. They will all live in my pond when I’ve made that bigger, too bad that voles made a hole in the pond I have now otherwise they would have lived there already🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Usch, blinningar är bland det värsta jag vet men tack o lov brukar de inte komma in. Men jag tycker att det varit ovanligt mycket i år av dessa vidriga insekter:( Är till råga på allt överkännslig mot bett också, det svullnar upp något så in i vassen att skulle jag bli biten till exempel i kinden så ser jag helt vanställd ut efter bara en liten stund ;( Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!

      Ja inte vill man ha dem som sällskapsdjur direkt🙂 De är antagligen väldigt intressanta om man studerar flugor annars tycker jag nog att de kan dö ut för gott :-)Men vi har haft ovanligt lite av dem, tills nu. Fortfarande inte så illa som det kan bli men illa nog.
      Lustigt nog svullnar jag nästan inte alls längre, förr kunde betten bli hur stora hur som helst.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  6. well…..I’m glad you didn’t get any bacon.
    I could go on and on about why.
    but you know what I would say, so I won’t….
    though I’d be glad to send Ellen some photos if she needs them.🙂

    • Hi Cindi!

      I wouldn’t mind getting some if I only could find one of those smaller places where I knew they treated the pig good all the way till the end.🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • yes, I’ve come to realize that people will always eat meat but if only we could always do it humanely….I guess I’m a dreamer.:/

      • Hi Cindi!

        Our bodies are made for eating meat, even if most of what we got was more or less rotten remains from what other animals had killed🙂 The less meat one eats the more beans one must eat! Meat contains a proteing we need to survive and so does beans and one needs a lot of beans to replace that meat.

        I wish the animals were treated better when arriving to the slauhter house but this is big business and it costs too much to be humane.

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

Leave a Reply

