To the vet we went!

I have this Aralia in my garden and have no idea what kind it is :-) It doesn't fit any description on those that would make it here in this climate. Doesn't spread either so I like it a lot and the birds loves the berries.

I have this Aralia in my garden and have no idea what kind it is🙂 It doesn’t fit any description on those that would make it here in this climate. Doesn’t spread either so I like it a lot and the birds loves the berries.


Hector had one of his good days today, in fact it was so good that he could run around with the others chasing things I trew away. Everything went well until he happened to stand in the way of all the others. They ran over him like a bulldozer and he started shouting loudly. I could feel that his shoulder were dislocated so there was nothing else to do than to call the vet.

I just took a few photographs when we were out walking this morning but thankfully I took some yesterday too.

I just took a few photographs when we were out walking this morning but thankfully I took some yesterday too.

DSC_0009 (800x530)

They always take cases like this as soon as one gets there, emergencies always comes first so it can take some time if one has an appointment🙂 I always say that it’s best to take the day of when going there just in case many emergencies comes in. I remember one day long ago when I had to wait four hours🙂 But they managed to save those emergencies so who would I be to complain, I would want that service if it was any of my pets that needed the care that badly.

DSC_0010 (530x800)

DSC_0002 (800x530)

Anyway, the shoulder had gone back to its place but we (I write we since I helped🙂 ) took some x-rays and it turns out that Hector’s left leg is badly affected by osteoarthritis both in his elbow and ankle. I knew his back legs were affected but this was news to me. His ankle is also a bit swollen after the hit but nothing was broken or in the wrong place. He’s already on Metacam and that works very good so they didn’t give him anything else this time. But if the pain continues after some days he will get a shot of something stronger.

DSC_0004 (800x530)

DSC_0005 (800x530)

So now I’m thinking of solving the problem with walks. I could go out with the others for longer walks and leaving him at home but I know how sad that would make him. I could bring him with us but it would become very short walks in a speed that will drive the others crazy. They can run around in the garden all day though but I’m not sure that would be enough, they are used to long walks and all then scents and smells out there.  The third alternative is to just walk with Orvar and Hector and when we come home take Nova and Sune for a walk. Well I would get a lot of walking anyway🙂

DSC_0006 (800x530)

DSC_0008 (800x530)

Yesterday was nasty cold, rainy and windy. The temperature stayed around 10C (50F) until late afternoon when the sun came and defrosted us all. I even wore my winter jacket when we were out walking. Today is sunny and warm and the wind still hangs around. I don’t mind the wind right now because it keeps the flies away. It’s strange but there are very few flies of any kind down by the bog?! It’s much worse on the way there and by the fields, normally it’s the other way around :-)The new mosquito nets have helped a lot though, very few flies indoors except for when I have the bathroom window open, I always have after I’ve showered. Still very few mosquitoes which is very odd🙂

I had to cough loudly to make her understand we were close.

I had to cough loudly to make her understand we were close.

She kept an eye on us all the time but she's one of "mine", she didn't even bother to move when Orvar came very close to her.

She kept an eye on us all the time but she’s one of “mine”, she didn’t even bother to move when Orvar came very close to her.


It’s time for something to eat and I already have a cup of coffee by my side. Today I feel that I can leave the door open and not have an eye on Hector all the time, I doubt he’ll run away today. He’s still groggy after the examination and he limps rather badly too. Orvar stays by his side most of the time so I don’t think he’ll try anything either.

DSC_0011 (800x530)

DSC_0010 (800x530)

Have a great day!

DSC_0013 (800x529)

DSC_0024 (800x530)

15 thoughts on “To the vet we went!

  1. Hi Christer,
    Well, you had an interesting day.

    You need to find some way to keep Hector from jumping over that fence. That is not good for him.

    Although I bet he won’t be jumping much for a while.

    Walks would be good for him because movement keeps things moving and less painful. Maybe you could take everyone out for longer walks but keep Hector leashed so he can’t wander about taking all those extra steps that dogs always manage to get into a walk.🙂

    It would be sad not to be able to have all four out together.

    I expect that Orvar will be getting to the point where he won’t be able to do long walks either. It’s probably not too early to figure out a “walk plan”.

    It’s still early here so I haven’t figured out what the weather is doing. It’s muggy and grey.

    I hope Hector recovers quickly and fully.
    Enjoy the rest of the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      So true🙂

      I’ve come to this vetstation for so long and sometimes very often now so I only have to say Hi it’s Christer and they know who I am🙂

      No no jumping for Hector today and my guess is (like Yours) that he won’t be jumping for quite some time. But he insisted on following us on the walk just now. We didn’t go far and we walked very, very slowly but it went fine🙂 But he was unleashed all the way so that he could walk in his own pace and he didn’t wander of even once🙂 Sune did however so I had to leash him after a while🙂🙂🙂
      But I think it will take quite some time until Orvar needs to slow down, he has the same problems but not even close to as bad as Hector. Sune and Nova will most lieliý not get this, they are so much smaller and lighter.

      Muggy and grey is never fun, but I did watch some dvd’s yesterday, I wouldn’t have if it wasn’t for that bad weather🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Stackars Hector:( Hoppas att han snart blir bättre, det låter som en god idé att gå med dem i olika omgångar då får ju alla det de vill ha:) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!

      Ja, det är riktigt synd om honom nu, men han insisterade på att få följa med på eftermiddagspromenaden. Vi gick inte långt och vi gick riktigt sakta men vi kom i alla fall ut🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  3. poor hector! you sure have your hands full with the pups lately. i am still here and did not get washed away. i’m not sure that i have ever seen rain like this. i have lots of cleaning up to do! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      It’s always something🙂 I also got a recipe for that hotspot he got last week. I’ll go in to tiown tomorrow to get that ointment because I couldn’t leave him in the car while I went in to the pharmacy and I never leash my dogs by themselves any longer, now days they steel every dog they see by themselves.

      So it was that bad! How did the plants and vegetables manage? I hope You didn’t loose anything!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Christer,
    Massage sometimes helps dogs so maybe you could look into how to do that yourself. I figure you’ll have the strongest legs around with all the walking. I hope the ills quickly make Hector feel batter.

    I am so sick of the weather here with all the humidity. At least today we have some rain. I would love to be as cold as you were for a day or two.

    This has been a bad summer for me with the surgery and all. I haven’t done much. I hope things get on track soon!

    Have a great evening!!!

    • Hi Kat!

      I just read about dog massage this morning🙂
      He insisted on following us on the walk, we didn’t walk far and we walked soo slowly but at least he could follow us🙂 After that he wanted me to throw his toy so he could fetch it and he got rather annoyed when I refused🙂🙂🙂

      It was nasty cold yesterday but I guess it sounds nice when one has the weather You’ve had lately! I can imagine how much You miss sitting on the deck!
      Yes this has been a really bad summer for You! Do You feel that the surgery did anything positive?

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Christer –
    Poor Hector! Dislocating that shoulder really must have been painful. I have a 20 yr. old cat who is in excellent health other than really bad osteoarthritis in her hind legs. I noticed that she was in much more pain on cold & rainy days. I bought one of those animal heating pads that are kept at a temp. just the right amount of heat for cats & dogs. A few days after she started sleeping/napping on the heating pad, she had a lot of improvement. She was less stiff, ate better and rarely needed the pain killer the vet had prescribed. I was wondering if you had considered using a heating pad for Hector . He might really benefoit with this kind of heating pad when he is laying down & sleeping at night. Some thick padding would also cushion his joints & relieve pressure. They sell very expensive orthopaedic beds for dogs with arthritis, but a piece of upholstry foam the size needed would serve the same purpose. Just cover the foam & the heating pad with a blanket. The headting pad cost a lot than the pain meds & I was surprized at what a difference laying on direct heat made. I had to get a second heating pad for the bedroon where Toby sleeps at night. If I forget to turn the heating pad on when we go to bed, she will make a fuss until I remember to turn the switch on. She even checks the on light to make sure I started heating her blanket up. I also have been giving her some kind of treat with glucosimine, but from what I have read, dogs seem to benefit from this much more than cats, but it can’t hurt.
    It sounds like you will be getting more walking yourself to accommodate each dogs physical abilities. What if you took a short walk with all the dogs, returned Hector to the house & then continued walking with the other dogs. Hector may be very sad at first, but don’t you think he will adjust over time and resign himself to not going on the second longer walk? I’m sure you will come up with some kind of walking schedule were Hector won’t over do the activity, but everybody else gets the right amount of exercise. You could always buy each dog a treadmill & just shut Hectors off when he has reached his limit. Not funny I know, but you have to be creative about solving such problems.
    Make sure you take care of yourself with all those animals counting on you. I loved the photo of the hare in the field. How did you manage to get a good photo without the dogs immediately chasing after it?
    I hope Hector heals up quickly and there are no more vet emergencies for a long time.

    • Hi Ellen!

      It sure did, he screamed out loud. Hector is a big part Newfoundland so any temperature above 55F is too warm for him, so I wouldn’t be able to use a heat pad on him. I think it would be concidered cruelty if I tried🙂 and I’m pretty sure he wouldn’t allow me to even try🙂 He also hate sleeping on anything soft, he prefers the cool floor. He doesn’t really help me helping him🙂 Nova would love it though🙂 She loves to sleep in nthe hot sunshine on the kitchen stairs. Nothing can be too warm for her🙂
      But I can happily say that he’s much better today, I let him decide where to go to this morning and in what pace we should walk too. He took the half long one and walked pretty well all the way. He’s a bit sour now though but I guess walking by itself helps him a lot. It was much the same for me before my hip surgeries and implants. It helped walking even if it was a bit sour afy´terwards.I would use gluc osimine but they have lowered the strength on it so much that it really doesn’t help that much any longer. I can’t remember why but there was some kind of sdie effect that wasn’t especially good.

      So we will continue walking together but it’s Hector that decides where we’ll go and it what pace. He turns back home when he think it’s enough🙂

      It’s only Nova that get crazy if she sees a hare🙂 The others really don’t care that much about them. It would have been a totalöly different thing if it had been a squirrel🙂🙂🙂 I don’t know what it is but all dogs I have and have had goes crazy when seeing a squirrel🙂🙂🙂

      I too feel that it is enough with vet emergencies for a while now🙂

      Have a great day.
      Christer.

  6. Hi Christer! Poor Hector! I feel bad for him and hope he’s feeling better soon! 2 of our 3 dogs are senior and after a good run or walk they limp the next day. I am sure they have osteoarthritis too. Be well and hugs to Hector!

    • Hi Dianna!

      I too feel sorry for him but he is already better. He limps a lot but he decided what way to walk and how fast to walk it this morning and everything works fine afterwards. He walks around in the garden complaining about how how the world is treting him, a good sign actually because when he’s really bad he sits still completely quiet.

      I too guess Your dogs have osteoarthritis and there are good medicines when it gets too tough. But I think one should avoid medicines for as long as possible because they always have side effects that can be nasty too.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Poor Hector, it’s Hell getting old.
    I noticed my Ruby has been having some issues. I described them to Doc and apparently she’s been having little mini-strokes. I am now adding 1/4 baby aspirin to her list of daily meds. (She’s on heart and thyroid pills too.)
    Really, it’s Hell getting old

Leave a Reply

