I knew it was something I wanted to remember.

Don't know what bird this is but it's beautiful.

Don’t know what bird this is but it’s beautiful.

Another just wonderful day, even the flies seems to think so because they hardly bother me at all. We had loads of them for a while but it seems they’ve moved elsewhere and I’m not complaining. But that can change I’m afraid so I’m just happy for the moment🙂

She stood almost in the same spot this morning. I don't know who she is because she has no white on he neck.

She stood almost in the same spot this morning. I don’t know who she is because she has no white on he neck.

Reflections in a ditch.

Reflections in a ditch.

DSC_0023 (800x530)

Hector limps but he is much better than he was yesterday. He was in charge of our morning walk and he decided we should go the usual route and pass the mailbox so I could fetch the news paper before we went inside again. It took it’s time but the morning was just wonderful so who could complain. Sunshine and 5C (41F), the temperature had dropped to 3,5C (38,3F) as coldest. A bit too early for my taste and a bit too close to frost. We usually get our first frost night the first week in September here in the village.

DSC_0024 (800x530)

DSC_0027 (800x531)

DSC_0029 (800x530)

I drove to Skara rather early in the morning, at first I decided to go to Falköping but I just couldn’t remember why I wanted to go there. It wasn’t until I came home I remembered, I need new glasses and wanted to get an appointment to check my eyes and find new glasses🙂 Well I can go next week too🙂 I did remember the camera so I’ll show You some photographs from the town and I think I’ll show some every day for at least three days.

I always try to avoid photographing people when possibel. One never knows when someone lives with a protected idenentity and even if the risk of someone seeing anypone in my blog is slim to none I still don't want to risk any person. So our towns aren't lifeless it just looks that way :-)

I always try to avoid photographing people when possibel. One never knows when someone lives with a protected idenentity and even if the risk of someone seeing anypone in my blog is slim to none I still don’t want to risk any person. So our towns aren’t lifeless it just looks that way🙂

DSCF1003 (600x800)

But sometimes it's just impossible :-)

But sometimes it’s just impossible🙂

Sune is bored, he wants to play in the garden but none is willing to do so. Nova sleeps on the kitchen stairs and the two old ones in my livingroom. But he has a great imagination, he can toss around what ever he finds and run around like crazy for hours🙂 Every now and again he comes in and wants me to toss his favorite toy so he can fetch it and sometimes he just sits out there watching when my neighbor fixes his cottage. He seems to be fascinated with machines and carpentry🙂

Skara is filled with parks and flowerbeds like this.

Skara is filled with parks and flowerbeds like this.

DSCF1010 (800x585)

DSCF1011 (800x600)

My slow cooker is cooking slow and will continue to do so until 8 tonight. I have pork chops in it today and I’ve tossed in a bit of this and that in it too🙂 Tonight is Grimm night and the food will be ready just in time so I can have a late dinner in front of the tv, if I’m hungry that is🙂 Finally Nova gave up the idea of sleeping and now both of them are out playing in the garden🙂

Skara Cathedral.

Skara Cathedral.

I was a bit surprised when I saw that it isn't filled with gold and staues like the cathedrals in the big cities. This was one of the most important churches in the country back in the days.

I was a bit surprised when I saw that it isn’t filled with gold and staues like the cathedrals in the big cities. This was one of the most important churches in the country back in the days.

DSCF1007 (800x600)

Have a great day!

Skara is over a thousand years old like most towns in the county and this county was the ce´radle of Sweden. This is a small gallery.

Skara is over a thousand years old like most towns in the county and this county was the ce´radle of Sweden. This is a small gallery.

That building in the back looks interresting and You'll see more of it tomorrow. I've never walked around in that part of town before.

That building in the back looks interresting and You’ll see more of it tomorrow. I’ve never walked around in that part of town before.

DSCF1015 (800x600)

16 thoughts on “I knew it was something I wanted to remember.

  1. Hi Christer,
    It’s nice that Sune can amuse himself.

    Lovely photos of Skara.

    When you wrote about frost in the first week of September it hit me how short a summer season you do have. It brought to mind something that happened many decades ago when one of my California cousins was on this side of the country for her first visit. We drover her all around the area and up into the mountains.
    She comes from a sun-kissed land where things can be kind of dry most of the time. The forests are sparse with not much undergrowth. Here the trees are very close with thick undergrowth.
    At one point she commented that she couldn’t believe how green everything was. One of my friends agreed and said, “It’s like the trees know how little time they have to grow before winter hits and they have to sleep.”

    Anyway, all the flower beds and trees in Skara and your village brought that back to me.

    It’s beautifully cool here this morning. Strong wind. No bugs. It was almost cold at the lake shore when Rocky and I took our walk. It’s cloudy and will probably rain later on. After that they say the high heat will return.

    Enjoy the rest of the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I think Sune must be the easiest dog I’ve ever met. Never any bigger problems to be honest and always happy, happy, happy🙂

      Yes we do have a very short summer season, something most peiople don’t know. So I’m already thinking of topping my tomatoes so they start concentrating on growing the tomatoes I have instead of trying to get more. I think Your friend said it right, the season is so short that they need to do what they can before it’s too late.

      We’ll get cooler on Sunday again but it will change towards warmer already on Monday🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. What a lovely town. I think though you are pretty safe with the photographing of people unless your town is famous for being a refuge for people in the witness protection program.😛

    • Hi Kerry!

      I do like that town but just remember I only show the beautiful parts of that town. But even the the not so good looking parts are better than how it looks in the big cities🙂

      Well, the thing is that one never knows where these people lives. It might be women hiding from aggressive men and things like that and I really don’t want to destroy anyones life by being careless. We aren’t that many people in this country so it’s easy to find people if one really wants to.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. While your nature photos are always wonderful, Christer, it was nice to see glimpses of Skara even without people being shown. I understand your reluctance to take photos of people. Admittedly that issue has not concerned me as the local events we attend are public events. I would never display someone’s photo for ridicule or profit. But when we attend a parade, book sale, etc. it would be hard to show the event without any people.
    Glad to read in a previous post that Hector is doing somewhat better and hope that continue to be the case.
    Weather here is still hot and humid with rainstorms today so lawn cutting is postponed until the weekend.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      It’s fun for me to show something else too, it’s hard to remember what I’ve photographed or not around here now🙂

      I agree, it’s totally different at local events. If one attends such a thing one has to be prepared to be photographed.

      Yes he is doing better🙂 But he tells us otherwise all the time🙂 He “talks” more than ever now, he used to before but have gotten quieter with age. Not so any more and I like it🙂

      Cool mornig here now but the sun is shining and it will get warm again today.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Robin!

      Skara is my favorite town here when it comes to how it looks.

      Yes he’s doing better already but it will take time until he’s ok again.

      A bit warmer here this morning thankfully. So we’ll get out on our walk now before the flies starts to fly around.
      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. hi christer! skara is beautiful. i would love to see more of it! cold already? i lived in the snow belt up north of here for several years when i was in my early 20’s. most of the people that lived there were swedish. my college had a rope tow because most of the students came to school on skies. our summer lasted from june until early september. back then i liked summer a lot! joyce

    • HI Joyce!

      It is a beautiful town and they saved most of their old houses in the 60′ and 70′ when most other towns and cities tore everything down and replaced the beautiful old houses with concrete blocks.

      Much the same summer there as here then🙂 We do love summer and I guess it’s because it’s so short and not often especially hot. Winter however is another thing, most of us tolerates it but that’s it🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. I love the colors of the buildings.. Here most of the buildings are a drap color or if colored, they are a terra cotta color..most are plain. Your Village is lovely.

    • Hi Mona!

      It’s just a few years ago when lots of different colors started to appear, before that houses looked very dull here too. Well except for houses in the countryside, those have always had colors🙂 But I do like that town especially since they have saved so many old houses.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Dianna!

      I do think Skara is a beautiful town and those parts of the big cities where they have saved some houses from destruction during the seventies here are also beautiful but way to man places got destroyed during that decade and the houses were replaced with concrete block (I refuse to call them houses🙂 ).
      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. love this post. a little tour in Sweden. Cool.
    My Louie is like that with his toy. He throws it around and plays with himself.
    He has a grand time until Jimmy decides to get off the couch and take it away from him.
    Louie will just look at him and then go get a different toy.
    Of course Nora, being a Border Collie, Jeez! She’d be happy if I threw her toy all day long!

    • Hi Cindi!

      Nova being half border collie is just the same. Unfortunately for her she really doesn’t like giving the toy to me when she has fetched it🙂 But I think that she actually wants me to chase her but those days are long gone🙂 I did that twenty years ago when Sickan and Viran still were alive🙂

      Sune works that way too, if Nova takes his toy he just find another one and continues🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

