We didn’t get any rain.

DSC_0017 (800x530)

We never got any rain last night and it didn’t get especially cold either, in fact it’s more or less the same temperature now when the sun peaks through the clouds every now and again. But a cool almost strong wind makes the day rather nice because the humidity is rather high. I really don’t mind us not getting any rain, that just slows down the speed the grass grow in🙂 and I can water those plants that I really want to survive if it should get that dry.

DSC_0001 (800x530)

DSC_0008 (800x530)

DSC_0009 (800x530)

Sune is running around in the garden with Novas favorite toy but she doesn’t seem to mind at all, she rather stay on the kitchen stairs sleeping in the sun all day. That’s the reason I have huge flies flying around in my cottage because she opens up the mosquito net enough for them to enter my home. This kind of fly just wants to get out again and don’t bother me at all, I just open up the window they fly to and let them out.

Most of the mornings fog was gone by the time we went out this morning.

Most of the mornings fog was gone by the time we went out this morning.

DSC_0013 (800x530)

DSC_0017 (800x530)

I just cut of the top of all my tomato plants, there’s no use in letting them grow higher and make more flowers because those will never become any tomatoes anyway. There’s just too little summer left here for that, it’s better that they start concentrating on making those tomatoes I have ripen instead. I have a few that now is turning yellow and soon they’ll be red and ready to be eaten🙂 My pepper plants however have suffered badly because of my cats, I doubt they’ll even flower. I might just bring them indoors before frost comes and let them continue by my kitchen windows.

DSC_0023 (800x532)

DSC_0025 (800x530)

DSC_0026 (800x530)

They are drying hay at the farm next door, they haven’t done that in years so I guess it’s the sheep who will have that during winter, the cows will mostly get silage I guess. It’s a huge fan with quite an annoying sound, it sort of eats its way in to the brain🙂 Thankfully they never have it on during the night though and it’s just for a few days, it looked like they brought in the last of it today. The tractor they used needs to be repaired because one of the front wheels were wobbling rather badly (it did so yesterday as well🙂 ) I pointed at it and the driver just smiled🙂

DSC_0003 (800x530)

DSC_0004 (530x800)

DSC_0016 (800x531)

It’s time to make some dinner and after that I’ll give all the animals theirs too, usually it’s the other way around but I’m hungry right now🙂

The last of the Skara photographs.

The last of the Skara photographs.

DSCF1028 (800x600)

DSCF1029 (800x576)

Have a great day!

DSCF1033 (800x600)

DSCF1035 (800x600)

DSCF1036 (800x600)

The old train station. They still have some tracks there and they use it as a museum railroad and they drive north to a small village every week. I really must travel with it sometime.

The old train station. They still have some tracks there and they use it as a museum railroad and they drive north to a small village every week. I really must travel with it sometime.

10 thoughts on “We didn’t get any rain.

  1. Hi Christer,
    My tomatoes have had lots of flowers but only one has set an actual tomato. I cut the top off one of the plants to see if that would help. The woodchuck will probably get the tomato anyway.

    So what is that very large bird? Is it the unidentified hawk or kite or falcon?

    The scratching deer made me laugh. I’ve been up on my horse when he’s done that. It’s a very strange feeling.

    The English sparrow is most definitely the culprit in the broken black walnut mystery. I think he is trying to make a teepee of broken branches so that he can weave a nest underneath them. He comes from the large clan that lives in the arbor vitae next door.
    All the branches are broken from the top surface and a strip of bark and wood is left at the bottom so that the branch doesn’t become completely detached.
    Interesting but annoying.

    It’s going to be very hot here for the next week or so. Bleh.

    Enjoy the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      You still have a lot of summer left though so I don’t think You need to do that yet. But if the woodchuck takes them anyway I guess it doesn’t matter🙂🙂🙂

      I’m pretty sure that’s a Common Buzzard, we have plenty of them around and I’ve seen this one pretty often.
      I can imagine how it must be feeling when a horse do that while one sits on it🙂🙂🙂

      So it is the sparoow anyway! I didn’t think that but I agree with how You reason. It’s very rare that we see those nests here, mostly they make them under tiles but I have seen one once down in Europe. I really don’t hope they’ll start doing the same here, I only have one walnut tree🙂 It has grown almost 20 cm (8 inches this summer! and there’s still plenty of time to grow here. I just hope it stops in time!

      We’l get reasonable warm this coming week, so it continues to be the best vacation for years🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. The blue moth and orange moth (or are they butterflies) are such vivid colors! So beautiful. I love the photo near the top of your photos of the cow’s head, barely seen body…almost comical! That sure does not look like a buzzard, Christer, it looks more like a bird from the raptor family. It looks like that deer is practicing yoga! I truly hope you will get to have some good, ripe tomatoes before first frost.

    • Hi Robin!

      They do have fantastic colors those two! They are butterflies and it’s easy to see the difference between moths and butterflies if one can see the antennas. Butterflies have sort of knobs at the end of their antennas but moths don’t.

      Names are tricky, especially when we have very different birds with similar names on each side of the ocean🙂 Your Buzzard is a vulture, isn’t it? Our Common Buzzard is a predator bird🙂 Its scientiffic name is Buteo buteo so You can chek it on the net if You like.

      It might have been yoga🙂 but shouldn’t it have tried to lift the other hind leg at the same time if it was🙂🙂🙂

      I will get at least fiveripe tomatoes unless the frost comes unusually early this yer.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. hi christer! i am trying to decide if i should top my tomatoes. they are very tall for so early. because of the humid weather, i am having some garden problems. we are going to have a horrible week here with temps in th 90’s and very hide humidity. i will be back to watering soon. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      You could try to top them and let a new top grow from lower on the stem. I’ve never tried it but since Your season is so much longer than ours it might be worth a try. Tomatoes can grow to over 8 yards if allowed🙂 In nature they keep growing but folloe´ws the ground and every now and agin it creates new roots along the way.

      I guess hot and humid weather can give problems as well, not only cold and rainy as we usually have. We’ll stay around 70-75 here, just perfect for me🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Christer,
    Thanks for the great photos of houses and buildings. I love seeing how architecture differs from country to country and here from state to state. I’ve had the air conditioner on all day long. I just noticed it has started raining. Gracie wanted to go out so I had to open the door as she can’t get at her dog door. I was surprised at how much it was raining, but it is still humid and hot. Gracie wasn’t out too long.

    Starting tomorrow I expect to be inside because it will be so hot, in the high 80’s. I love being comfortable in the AC.

    • Hi Kat!

      I’ll bring the small camera with me when I go to the other town nearby if I remember it🙂 There are big differences in architecture here too, it’s a big difference if travelling from the most south to the most north part of this country.

      High humidity, rain and hot weather is no good combination🙂 I would stay indoors a lot too and I would get myself an AC too🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Lovely photos.
    Are those red flowers, Poppies?
    I had breakfast at my sister’s house this morning on her back deck.
    I thought I saw a big yellow lab towards the back of their yard and when my niece walked down to see if it was the neighbors dog, she found a group of deer. They just looked at her and didn’t run away.
    I was looking at my vegetable garden today (first time I’ve ever planted vegetables) and they are growing but….I think it will be Fall by the time I can eat anything. Except for the lettuce, I could cut some now but I have plenty in my frig. I think next year I will skip the garden and just go to the Farmers Market.😀
    Oh, and I also have 2 tomato plants hanging in those upside down tomato plant hanger things and they don’t seem to be growing.😦

    • HI Cindi!

      Yes they are and they grow on a neighbors root cellar.

      City deers are so much tougher than countryside deer🙂 The only ones that don’t panic here are the ones that alrady knows us, the others run like crazy before we even get close🙂

      It’s only my tomatoes that grows here, the rest is or will soon be dead🙂 We don’t have a farmers market here but the super markets usually have great vegetables🙂

      Some tomatoe plants doesn’t grow much, it all depends on what variety it is. There are tomatoe plants that only becomes ten inches long :-)The important thing is that they flower.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

