Fantastic summer!

DSC_0034 (800x532)

I can’t remember when I had such a good vacation (when it comes to the weather) as this one. Sun for two whole weeks and this week will be mostly sunny too. The temperature have been between 25C (77F) and 27C (80,6F) the entire week and the nights have mostly been cool. A couple have stayed around 15c (59F) and that is a bit too warm at night for me and the dogs because it never cools down in the cottage those nights.

DSC_0002 (800x530)

DSC_0004 (530x800)

DSC_0003 (800x530)

DSC_0006 (800x530)

I know that for most of You living in the USA this sounds cool and nice :-)but this is as warm as it gets up here in the north most of the time. Sometimes we get it even hotter but that’s rare. I’ve had visitors here this week but they left a bit earlier than planned due to cows🙂 Theis dogs aren’t used to have cows walking around outside their home all night long and they sort of made it impossible for my friends to sleep at all🙂 They had parked their camper beside the cow pasture🙂 The problem is that we have cow pastures all over the village so it wouldn’t help moving it. They could have slept here in the cottage but then we have the problem of me and my dogs waking up early and Orvar’s and Hector’s sister starts barking as soon as a stranger (that’s me🙂 ) starts walking around in their or any home🙂 There would have been very little sleep no matter what🙂

DSC_0007 (800x530)

DSC_0008 (800x530)

The Bog Ladies were up late that morning, the smoke from their fires were still all over the ground :-)

The Bog Ladies were up late that morning, the smoke from their fires were still all over the ground🙂

DSC_0010 (526x800)

I don’t think that we officially can call this a draught but no rain has fallen since the vacation started. Lots of flowers and herbs are dying on the more dry spots and I water what ever I want to survive till next year. My tomatoes are going red and it’s been a long time since I got tomatoes this early. My gooseberries will all soon be red and ripe and I’ve prepared for the coming jam making. I’ll get lots of apples too this year and perhaps I should do something with those too, at least a couple of pies🙂

DSC_0011 (800x530)

It stayed even longer out in the fields.

It stayed even longer out in the fields.

DSC_0004 (800x530)

DSC_0007 (800x530)

We have unusually few flies and mosquitos too🙂 I thought the fly and mosquito population would explode after the latest rainfall but no, the only place we seem to have flies are in our homes🙂 I have no mosquito bites and only a few deer and horse flies have tried to bite me. To be honest we have very few butterflies and beetles too. I especially miss the dung beetles since they usually keep my garden clean after my dogs🙂

DSC_0010 (800x529)

DSC_0011 (800x530)

DSC_0023 (800x531)

My Walnut tree is still alive and grows well :-) One day the wind was so strong I thought this little tree would break. I need to shelter it somehow during winter.

My Walnut tree is still alive and grows well🙂 One day the wind was so strong I thought this little tree would break. I need to shelter it somehow during winter.

I’ve taken some photographs last week and I’ll mostly show most of them this week. We took a small trip to the mountain and those photo’s I’ll show You later this week. I almost forgot! I’ve bought a new refrigerator🙂 My old one died long ago but the freezer connected with it just keeps on going🙂 I did wonder if I should buy a new combined one but thought why toss out something that works just to buy just the same thing again? So I’ve made the top part (the refrigerator that doesn’t work) to a book shelf for my cook books🙂 and I’ve placed the new refrigerator in another spot in my kitchen🙂

DSC_0027 (800x531)

DSC_0043 (800x530)

Codonopsis clematidae. It's the inside of this flower that's beautiful. Spreads by itself here.

Codonopsis clematidae. It’s the inside of this flower that’s beautiful. Spreads by itself here.

DSC_0046 (800x530)

It’s time to make something to eat and a pot of tea of course. It’s a bit cooler at the moment but that’ll change soon. All the animals are asleep and so will I after I’ve eaten🙂

This photo is taken by my friend Lotta and it's her husband that keeps all the seven dogs together :-) It worked so much better than I even could have hoped for! The dogs are from the left to right to closer to the photographer: Mira (Orvar's and Hector's sister), Simpson, Zingo, Sune, Orvar, Nova and Hector.

This photo is taken by my friend Lotta and it’s her husband that keeps all the seven dogs together🙂 It worked so much better than I even could have hoped for! The dogs are from the left to right to closer to the photographer: Mira (Orvar’s and Hector’s sister), Simpson, Zingo, Sune, Orvar, Nova and Hector.

Have a great day!

20 thoughts on “Fantastic summer!

  1. hi christer! welcome back to blogland! i missed you! i am so happy to hear you are having good weather for your time off. the dogs look like they are having a good vacation too! did they all instantly get along with each other? do you think orvar and hector recognize mira? too bad your friends had to leave early. sounds like they might need a vacation from their vacation! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      Thank You, it’s nice to be back🙂

      I talked to my neighbor and he can’t remember when we had this good weather before either🙂 They predict that this will stay for the month of August too but that would be just too good if it became true🙂

      They actually did accept each other directly. One or two steps over the line but that’s it. Most of them had met once before but still🙂
      I think they recognised her as their sister because they have met a couple of times in their lives.
      It seems everything works fine as long as they don’t have big animals sleeping beside them during night🙂 There was no problems at all as long as it was daylight.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,

    I have two questions:
    1) What were the dogs all looking at off to the right? I suspect sausages.
    2) What the heck is that 16th picture? It looks like a Daddy Longlegs with a pink striped ping pong ball.🙂

    You were having my summer weather. We were having a horrible heat wave in the upper 90’sF (36C and higher). Now the heat wave has broken and we are back down to normal summer temperatures. Such a relief.

    Your little black walnut tree is so cute.🙂 I hope it survives out there.
    You could build a windbreak on the side of the prevailing winter wind. Three of the stakes that are already there could be wrapped in burlap to form a two-sided triangular shield pointing into the wind.
    Maybe it would be even better to put burlap all around the existing stakes and fill the space up with leaves or mulch after the little tree has gone dormant for the year. It would provide extra insulation and more stability against the wind. I assume the tree will not ever have walnuts because of your latitude. In a heavy wind those walnuts become missiles and nut-heavy branches come crashing down very easily.

    Two thoughts on the refrigerator bookcase. Running separate freezer and fridge may cost more money over time than buying a new, more electrically efficient combination unit.
    And did you leave the door on the refrigerator? That would be a way cool lighted bookcase.😀😀😀

    Enjoy your beautiful summer day and welcome back from your internet vacation.

    • Hi Caryn!

      They were looking at my neighbor while he was working on the wall of his cottage and the 16th photo shows a tiny spider, a flower crab spider if I translte the swedish name directly.

      We see this as awfully hot🙂🙂🙂 but most of us love it anyway🙂

      The walnut might actually give nuts since I live in slope, the warmth stays longer and it is warmer here than it is up the slope by my neighbors. It all depends on when the real cold weather comes. If it comes late there might actually be some ripe nuts🙂 But then again, it has to survive at all :-)I’ll see what kind of protection I’ll come up with before winter arrives.

      I don’t think will cost any more money because the freezer and the refrigerator, even though built in one part had two different cooling systems and two different engines to make it work. Otherwise both would have diued when the engine broke down. So my guess is that they will use the same ammount of energy anyway and of course I left the door🙂 It is cool to have a lighted bookcase🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • You could do like the old Italians here do when they grow fig trees. They bury them in the ground over the winter. Too much work for me even for fresh figs.🙂

      • But don’t they have those fig trees in pots? Hard to pile that much soil around a tree that already is planted in the ground🙂
        Christer.

  3. Jasså, ni har inte “torka” – men det är precis vad vi har här!😦
    Det är dock väldigt lokalt, när det kom regn sist för ett antal veckor sen så kom det 48 mm på Fårö och 50 mm på Hoburgen. Alltså på dom ställen som ligger längst från varandra. I Hemse, bara 1,5 mil härifrån kom det 38 mm – men här i Eksta kom det bara 5mm! Och jag som ville ha regn!!😦😦
    Så det jag gör numera är att vattna, vattna och åter vattna. Och så rensar jag ogräs, för det enda som växer riktigt riktigt bra är det. Ogräs verkar helt oberoende av vatten!😦😦😦
    Annars är det en helt underbar sommar, så man ska ju inte klaga egentligen. vi har ju också egen brunn som vi tar vatten till trädgården från. Visserligen sinade den härom dagen, men dagen efter var den OK igen. Fast jag har använt en massa kommunalt också, har nämligen två stridare och två vattentapapr – mycket praktiskt! *fniss* 🙂

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Här är torrt, det är det men inte så att man officiellt kan kalla det torka tror jag. Det finns fortfarande vatten i alla diken och bäckar även om det minskat rejält nu. Det är bara i högre terräng som det är riktigt torrt och det mesta vissnar ned nu. Detta är ju gammal sumpmark egentligen så vi ligger lite efter- Såg dessutom på en karta att områdena längre bort är riktigt torra i jämförelse.

      Ogräset här däremot vissnar ned bra nu, bara hundrovan och brännässlorna kämpar på än. Jag stödvattnar bara det jag absolut vill skall överleva, resten får klara sig bäst det kan och om det överlever är det tuffa plantor🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  4. Welcome Back, Christer! Your presence has been missed in blogland!! Glad you have been have great weather and a visit with friends and dogs. Too bad about their leaving early because of cows.
    I love the photos of the bog ladies’ firesmoke, very mysterious!! I hope you will show us pictures of your gooseberry jam and apple pies.
    It has been horribly hot here, just terrible, but we had a break in the weather yesterday, and today is nice too, thank the weather gods!!!
    Have fun and continue to enjoy your holiday!!! Hugs to the Family….why on earth does Nova bark when you get up? is it excitement, or has she forgotten that you live there too??

    • Hi Robin!

      It’s not Nova that barks, it’s Orvar’s and Hector’s sister🙂 She gets crazy when we visit them and goes up early🙂 but it isn’t just us, she reacts the same way even if she knows them well🙂🙂🙂

      When jam and pie is made I’ll take a photo of it🙂

      I can’t even imagine Your temperatures! I think this is hot so I guess It would be hellish for me to experience that heat!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. one good thing about reading others comments is most of my questions are answered, lol,
    that is a most unusual spider, they can be beautiful some of them in thier own way, I can’t say I like them though.What a beautiful gathering of dogs, they are magnificent, what a lovely time you must have had, I like the idea of the book shelf too!

    • Hi Laurie!
      🙂
      That spider is actually quiet common even in Canada🙂 Those red stripes doesn’t show on all of them and only on some of the female ones. I had to look it up when I saw it because I thought it must be rare🙂🙂🙂

      It was fun to have all the dogs here, especially since they all agreed on not fighting🙂

      I liked that idea too, why have an empty space when I need more space for all my books🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Christer, some grow the figs in pots, some grow them in the ground and insulate them with stuff piled on top, others dig up the fig tree with its root ball, lay the tree down in a ditch and bury the whole thing. They dig it up and replant in the spring. As I said, too much work for fresh figs.

    • Figs are tough and can take anything I think. I doubt that a walnut would though🙂 I’ll keep it in the ground and wrap something around it. It isn’t the winter in itself that kills most plants, it’s actually the season we call springwinter. The air is warm during the day so the trees and bushes starts to grow but the ground is frozen solid so there’s no water for them.
      I like figs but not that much that I would do all that to get them🙂
      Christer.

      • I have a black walnut that is growing against a wall. It’s about 30 years old but its growth was seriously stunted because it was in heavy shade for most of its life. Still, it managed to reach 20 feet and was beginning to bear. Late this past winter I asked my lawn guys to cut it because it’s too close to the house. They cut it level with the top of the wall instead of at the base of the trunk.
        It has sprouted new growth from the trunk and is progressing nicely. I should let it go because it’s a survivor. I’ll see if it makes it to spring.

      • Many trees can take being cut down hard but few can manage to get the roots disturbed. That usually kills them fast. Figs however can actually gain on root pruning (and apple trees too).

        Yes it is a survivor and as long as the house isn’t damaged it can stay I think🙂
        Christer.

  7. You were gone? I didn’t know..probably because I sort of disappeared too.🙂 Loved the photo’s! Especially the one with all the dogs together…no fighting? That’s great! WHAT are bog ladies? Just the thought makes me nervous!
    I get easily spooked. Raised on Fairy Tales and all that stuff. So…tell me..what in the world are Bog Ladies?? Not real..right?
    Nice to have visitors and nice when they go. Glad you enjoyed your vacation. I don’t sleep well when I have visitors..
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!

      Yes I took a vacation from my blog, for a week. Well the internet actually but I did check in every now and again🙂

      No fighting at all, some groweling a couple of times but that’s it.

      Bog Ladies are the local name on forest nymphs here, Who knows if they exist or not🙂 But every time the fog stays in the early morning like that or comes early at night they say it’s the Bog Ladies that starts their fires or that it’s the last of the smoke from their fires🙂

      I always sleep well strangely enough, that is when my dogs let me🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. LOVE the photo of all the dogs!😀
    Sorry your friends had to leave early.
    Glad to hear that you are having good temperatures.
    This morning as I sit here typing by the open window, I’m almost cold! Who would have thought that it would drop to the 50’s during the night in July! That’s almost unheard of but I am NOT complaining. I prefer weather in the 60’s to the 70’s.
    Now that you mentioned it, I haven’t noticed any mosquitoes this summer! (just flies) I wonder if it’s because my house is surrounded by Marigolds?
    anyway, nice to have you back!

    • Hi Cindi!

      We were suprised that we actually managed to keep them still for more than five seconds🙂

      We almost always have around 50 duing summer nights here, even this last really warm period has had nights like that with a few exceptions when it rose to above 60.

      I’m not sure if it’s true what they say about marigolds and mosquitos, they say the same over here about tomato plants and flies and that’s not even close to true🙂 But a dry summer usually means few mosquitos, the small ponds they lay eggs in dry out thankfully, I can just imagine this heat and a lot of mosquitos🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

