It is a bit dry here now.

DSC_0018 (800x530)

It’s a bit cooler today and the wind is rather strong but I don’t mind. The ground will be even more dry though and that would be a problem if a fire starts. I doubt that anyone would even think to start a grill or anything else but accidents happen and if it would today the fire would spread faster than fast. But it isn’t that bad by the bog, everything is still green and lush there. Bog fires are really bad since the fire can continue underground for days, even weeks. But they say we might get some rain tonight but I doubt that would help much.

DSC_0002 (800x530)

DSC_0003 (800x530)

DSC_0004 (530x800)

DSC_0009 (800x531)

My tomatoes loves this weather though🙂 I can pick a few every day now but there won’t be any peppers. I thought my cats had killed all pepper plants but it looks as if a few actually survived but it’s too late for them to even get any peppers now, we won’t have this wonderful weather for much longer I’m afraid. But I’m happy for what we’ve gotten, I’m pretty sure these sunny weeks will help us through the long winter and perhaps help us stay away from some of those colds we always get.

DSC_0012 (800x530)

DSC_0015 (800x530)

DSC_0016 (800x530)

DSC_0019 (800x529)

The House sparrows are having a new bunch of small ones, I think this is the third time so far🙂 Their nest is beneath the tiles just above the kitchen door and I can hear them beg for food all day long🙂 The swallows have already moved out from their nest, they were next door neighbors to the house sparrows. It’s amazing how fast they flew straight in to the nest without killing themselves🙂 Now they all eat as much flies as possible before the big move south.

DSC_0007 (800x529)

DSC_0009 (800x530)

DSC_0006 (800x530)

DSC_0013 (800x530)

We just came home from our walk and we were down by the bog this time. It feels strange but oh so nice to let the mosquito hat stay at home. I don’t think that has been possible before. Normally there are so much mosquitoes and flies of all kinds down there that I need to wear that hat the whole time. Now it’s even possible to walk there without it even when the sun is going down and it should be mosquitos happy hour. I’m not sure why it is like that but I like it🙂 The few that hangs around and lays their eggs in my water barrels get eaten by the goldfish and my koi carp🙂

DSC_0016 (800x530)

DSC_0019 (530x800)

DSC_0018 (530x800)

DSC_0025 (800x530)

It’s time to make dinner, today I’ll have chicken, fried potatoes and baked beans. I wasn’t sure about the beans at first but tried it the other day and it works just fine🙂

DSC_0053 (800x530)

DSC_0049 (800x530)

DSC_0042 (800x530)

DSC_0001 (800x490)

Have a great day!

16 thoughts on “It is a bit dry here now.

  1. hi christer! you are dry and i fell like i am living in a very hot sponge! we had very heavy rain last night and more on the way for today. i saw my first okra flower this morning so i hope to have some okra soon. i’ve just about given up on my peppers and zucchini. my pepper plants are small and my zucchini is still only producing male blossoms. now i’ve found out that some bug from china has been brought in and it is wiping out all the hemlocks in the USA. i have lots of hemlocks so i am about to be in trouble. you must be thrilled to pieces about the lack of mosquitoes and flies. why do you think there are so few? joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      I hate that feeling! Anything is better than that! I don’t mind the warm and dry we have here as long as there’s no forest fire🙂

      Can it be too hot for the peppers? and how strange that the zucchini’s only produce male flower! I know they can dominate bad sometimes but not that bad.

      Another bug from Japan! You’ve gotten some really bad ones from them I think. We have a nasty beetle that destroys our spruces, under controll at the moment though. Nothing one can do to stop them?

      Yes I am thrilled to pieces🙂 My guess is that the very late spring actually killed lots of their larvaes and then we had a period when everything dried out here and that killed most of the rest🙂 I think it’s the same with butterflies, bumblebees and bees too.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    I’m jealous of your tomatoes. I have 5 green balls on one plant and zero on the other. The woodchuck or the raccoons will get the 5 before I do anyway so I don’t know why I’m bothered.🙂

    Lovely butterfly and spider photos today.

    It’s been dry and very hot for the past week so the mosquitoes have died down a bit here. The firefly population has increased. Fireflies are preferable to mosquitoes any day. They don’t bite and the flashing lights in the trees and grass are lovely at night.
    It’s raining now.

    The English sparrows have been breeding endlessly since spring. I’m not sure what number of clutches they’re on now. I’ve seen at least three fledges and they are still flying back to the nests to feed something that’s in there.

    Enjoy the rest of the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      First time in years that I have tomatoes this early, last time I still had my garden center with over 250 square meters of green house🙂 Perhaps they’ll leave at least one tomato for You🙂

      I wish we had fireflies here, they are beautiful at night. It should be cloudy here right now but there’s no cloud in sight🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. such wonderful spider web shot, what workman ship! I dislike them but they are really craftsman with webs! We have cool weather now, very windy, good supper!!!

    • Hi Laurie!

      They are beautiful to look at!
      I don’t mind spiders any longer so I like it when they move in to the cottage🙂 Very rare to have a spider like this at home though, we call them Cross spiders since they have a big white cross on their backs. One of our mor pousouness spiders, a bite from that one is much like if a bee stings.

      Still sunny and nice here, we’ll see if the clouds arrive tonight and if we’ll get thunder tomorrow afternoon.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. A lot of impressive insect photos today, and beautiful flower photos. What on earth is Teo doing in that picture? Looks like he is getting ready to attack Sune, lol!!
    You are lucky about the lack of mosquitoes, we are having a bunch here with the humidity. The weather guys lied to us. It was supposed to be cooler today, but it went up to 92 degrees F. I find that NOT cool!
    And just for the record, I do not like spiders. I admire their intricate webs, but that is all.

    • Hi Robin!

      Teo was feeling a bit crowded🙂 Three big dogs came running towards him and that was a bit too much🙂 But they passed him so quickly that his reaction came a bit late🙂

      This is the best mosquito year so far🙂 I’m waiting for showers and thunderstorms they say should come during the day. We’ve had one short shower but it barely showed on the ground and it didn’t even reach a drop to any of my rainwater barrels🙂 A bit warm and damp here so I guess the thunder is on its way.

      I like spiders more and more🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. That was a wonderful spider web, Christer. We picked our first tomato today, but have had several eggplant and a few small peppers. The cucumbers are not doing so well. It may be the lack of rain and hot temps and even though the small garden is watered, it’s not the same as a soaking rainstorm. Glad the mosquitoes are not a problem now.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      I was lucky to see it, a few minutes later and the dew would have been gone and the web would have become almost invisible.

      I’ve already picked a few tomatoes but plenty more are on the way🙂 If I remember correctly cucumbers doesn’t want it to be too hot and damp. If they are too wet around the roots they tend to die. I guess Your summer just have been too hot this time.

      I don’t know how they can feel the difference between a heavy shower and heavy watering but they do!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Guy!

      Still not that bad here but the prediction of rain is still there but they sort of move it away one day every day🙂 It always looks as if it will arrive in two days and that’s how it has been looking for over a week now🙂

      I do hope You’ll get rai soon!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Hi Christer…Seems we are all having problems. I didn’t get any lemons this year..just a few and then it was over. Also the same with the oranges. Not a single orange. The peaches..the same. We have a fly that has invaded the trees in Southern California. They have gone through the neighborhoods hanging little cages on all of the tree’s they can see from the street..then come back and collect them. Also, our bee population is dwindled. Another sad thing..So one thing is destructive and the other is needed to pollinate the tree’s. Really upsetting. The plums did beautifully but the birds helped themselves..maybe next year. This is the second year for these tiny destructive flies.
    No garden to worry about..
    Loved the picture of the wooden steps. I still think it would be a wonderful place to just sit and look out at the woods and wildlife instead of the neighbors roof! LOL

    • Hi Mona!

      Yes it looks as if we all have problems now. Joyce told me about an insect that eats hemlocks and now You tell me about this strange fly. Draught in some places but flooding in other. Not too far away from here they have gotten so much rain that big parts of the town is flooded today, they had to stop all kinds of surgery in the big hospital because they got so badly flooded. Here not a single drop has fallen.

      Bees are dying here too but it is worse over at Yours. They have now fou d out that a fungiside is another big problem that makes the bees die, it shouldn’t affect them at all to be honest but it does. Plus all the other pestisides and I think it just became too much for the poor bees.

      It is a nice place to sit and have coffee on🙂 But my hedge is so high that I can’t see much but every now and again a sheep passes by🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. I’m taking apart my raised garden today, I’m done with it. I did pick 2 cherry tomatoes off of my hanging tomato plant yesterday…I hope I get a few more.

    • Hi Cindi!

      I’m planning on having more raised gardens🙂

      I can pick a few tomatoes every day now and as long as we have this sunny weather I think all my tomatoes will ripen this year🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

