Waiting for the rain that never comes.

DSC_0026 (800x530)

All weather sites says we’ll have rain now and some say thunder as well but so far all we’ve gotten is a slight drizzle a few minutes ago. I don’t mind if the rain stays away but I can see that nature really needs it now. Trees are getting yellow leafs and the berries are dry but very tasty because there’s more sugar than water in them because the lack of water. Only the bog area is still green and lush, everywhere else it starts looking like autumn.

There's still a lot of water in the bog.

There’s still a lot of water in the bog.

DSC_0003 (800x530)

DSC_0005 (800x530)

DSC_0006 (800x530)

I picked a couple of kilos (more than five pounds) with gooseberries this morning since they had warned for possibly heavy rainfalls and thunder. Even though I have a red small variety it still goes pretty fast to pick them. They are thorny devils and I lost a lot of blood🙂 The time-consuming part is to remove the old flower and the little stem and it’s soo boring. But I’ve made jam from half of them now and I’ll make more with the rest later today. I added a lot of cardamom, something I’ve never tried before and it tastes yummy🙂 I think I’ll add cinnamon to the rest of the berries.

DSC_0002 (530x800)

DSC_0007 (519x800)

Sea eagles are nesting by the bog. Now I must keep an eye on them because I can think that both Nova and Sune looks delicious to them.

Sea eagles are nesting by the bog. Now I must keep an eye on them because I can think that both Nova and Sune looks delicious to them.

No it's not autumn here yet, it's just very dry.

No it’s not autumn here yet, it’s just very dry.

A fox passes here every night now and while doing that he wakes me up, or he really wakes up my dogs. He also leaves a pile of poo so I guess he or she is making my garden his property🙂 I guess my dogs and the badger would have different opinions but they rarely meet🙂 Well I guess that as long as my dogs are in control during the day and the fox and badger can agree on something during the night things won’t escalate🙂 I doubt the fox will be able to do anything to the cats, Teo is too big and Bertil too evil🙂

We have the clouds but not the rain.

We have the clouds but not the rain.

DSC_0039 (800x530)

The rest of the photographs were taken last week.

The rest of the photographs were taken last week.

DSC_0033 (800x530)

No wind outside, 28C (82F), 100% humidity and only the birds seems to have any kind of energy to do anything. The few flies out there act crazy and that’s usually a sign of thunder approaching. If it does it will be nasty and I hope it brings along some rain too because if it doesn’t and it hits somewhere we’ll have a nasty fire I’m afraid.

DSC_0037 (800x530)

DSC_0034 (800x530)

DSC_0035 (800x531)

DSC_0039 (800x530)

It’s time for some food and something cold to drink, after that I’ll continue to make jam. Nice work when it is as warm as it already is🙂

My redberried elderberry bush.

My redberried elderberry bush.

DSC_0040 (800x530)

DSC_0048 (530x800)

DSC_0031 (800x530)

Have a great day!

12 thoughts on “Waiting for the rain that never comes.

  1. Här är det också snustorrt – så jag vattnar och vattna och vattnar! Men det hjälper ju inte lika mycket som ett ordentligt regn!😦
    Men flugor, det har vi gott om! Man kan inte vara ute mer än en halvtimme sen måste man in på altanen för att freda sig lite.😦😦 Vi har satt upp två flugfångare vid garaget där det ALLTID är flest av någon anledning, men dom verkar inte hjälpa i år. Så när man ska ta ut eller köra in bilen får man vara snabb!😦 😦 😦
    Idag har vi bott här exakt 10 år och i morgon så fyller jag år, alltså ska vi fira lite genom att ge oss iväg hemifrån till norra delen av ön och gå på en amerikansk krog och äta lunch. Sen behöver man bara nått lätt – men lyxigt – till middag.🙂 Hoppas bara att det inte regnar i morgon så vi kan sitta ute och ha Santos med oss. Det är trevligare än att låsa in honom i reseburen i bilen. Man sitter liksom på nålar då…..:-) 🙂 🙂

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Jag har egentligen inte vattnat mer än en gång hittills, det var igår och det hjälpte ju lite. Men en rejäl regnskur och sedanb uppehåll en vecka till skulle vara bra🙂

      Här är ovanligt lite flugor och dessutom ännu färre blodsugare. Jag njuter varje promenad kan jag säga, för att inte tala om när jag plockade krusbären🙂 Vanligtvis är mygghatt obligatorisk här om man inte vill bli galen på dem.

      Grattis! Hoppas det blir fint väder då och att maten smakar🙂

      ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. hi christer! i think this is the driest you’ve been since i started following you. i love fresh gooseberries. my gardens started off so well but are not so great now. i think the high humidity was bad for them. i just don’t understand why my zucchini only produces male blossoms. my pepper plants are small and each one only produces one pepper. oh well, my tomatillas are making up for everything else. the plants are huge and i have tons of tomatillas on them. and it looks like i am finally going to get some okra. i hope you get some rain so you don’t have to deal with fires! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      I can’t remember when it was this dry and sunny the last time🙂
      Thunderstrms has passed us on both sides but nothing here and no rain. But it has cooled down somw so we might get both rain and thunder after all🙂

      I guess Your climate fits the okra perfect now, hot and humid and preferable sun is what they love. I grew it in my garden center but they are magnets for pests🙂 I can’t understand why Your zucchinis only produce make flowers either, very peculiar!

      My pepper plants will never produce a single pepper I’m afraid, they don’t even flower yet🙂 I’ve tried tomatillas but I was never really successful I’m afraid. They should grow well here though if the summer is reasonable warm.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    Well, if you’re not losing blood to the bugs, you’re losing it to the berries. At least you get jam from the berries.
    Can you eat the red-berried elderberries?

    Interesting contrast of web-building styles; the perfect, symmetrical orb web versus the this is your spider on drugs web.🙂

    The fox could take either Teodor or Bertil if it wanted to. But there are enough hares and other rodents available for the fox so it won’t have to bother with the cats. The fox and the badger will probably make a treaty; you hunt on your side, I’ll hunt on mine and nobody hunts in the middle.
    We have a lake that is named after that very phrase except it’s fishing, not hunting.
    Chargogagogmanchargogagogcharbunagungamog. I could never pronounce it or remember it. When I learned it was a sentence and what it meant, I could say it.

    It sounds like our hot, dry weather floated across the ocean to you. I hope you get some rain soon.
    Here it is murky, cool and damp with a wind from the northeast. Wonderful and refreshing. Maybe this will float across to you eventually too.
    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      And tasty jam it is🙂 It’s said that these berries on my redberried elderberritrees are edible but I’m not going to try them🙂 The ones we have all over the forest is unedible but this is another species that I have in my garden. I’m going to look for a business that can check if they are edible or not, just not sure what to look for🙂 Some business thet can check for poison but what can such a business be called🙂

      I wonder what kind of web that is most successful?

      I think the fox already tried to take Bertil and Bertil won. Teo was chased up a tree once by a fox -) He knows how to climb high to avoid it🙂

      I’m sp glad our lakes have very short names🙂🙂🙂

      It’s a bit cooler here now and thunderstorms have passed beside the village but no rain for us. But I guess this will continue all night long and I hope som rain will fall here too. I don’t want much, just enough for the trees and bushes to survive🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • The thing I really wanted to say and forgot is that I very much covet your front doorway. I have a lovely lantern and some plants on my steps but I really need those windows.🙂

        The name of the lake was changed to Lake Webster because the other name took too long to say or, more likely, it was because it used up too much ink and paper whenever it had to be written. I just like it because I can say it.😀

      • It is a nice door way🙂 I’m sorry but I do need thoise windows myself🙂🙂

        Lake Webster is so much easier to spell too🙂🙂🙂

        Christer.

  4. Här väntar vi också på regn, det åskade lite igår och kom några droppar men inte mer:( Göran var i Ljungkile på ett möte och ringde mig på väg hem och var så glad att det ÖSREGNADE:) Men det gjorde det tydligen bara där:( Vi får hoppas att det kommer lite nu i helgen som SMHI förutspått. Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!

      Inget regn här än och jag tvivlar på att det blir något, men lite svalare är det tack och lov.

      Ja regnet går ju i stråk när det bara handlar om skurar, mossen här pressar bort dem så vi behöver egentligen en front som drar rätt över här.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  5. I enjoyed my visit with you today, the photos are amazing, the jam sounds wonderful and you are so correct abou the berries, they are sweeter when the weather is a bit dry, just not too dry!

    • Hi Laurie!

      The wild berries are a bit too dry but I hope some rain would change that. Last year and many before that it rained so much that the berries diudn’t tast a thing and started to rot directly on the branches. I like this better🙂

      Both kinds of jam are delicious🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

