It was already gone!

DSC_0006 (800x531)

I woke up at 3 am this morning, well I think morning is the wrong word but anyway I woke up to an odor I didn’t like at all. Someone of the dogs was sick and to be honest I think they had tried to wake my up before the accident happened. So up I went and cleaned up the floor. I boiled some water, poured in lots of rice and wrapped thick towels around the pot so that we would have rice ready for when they all were going to have breakfast and then I went up to bed again.

It doesn't happen often, that both my cats wants to follow us on our walk. Neither of them want the other one there.

It doesn’t happen often, that both my cats wants to follow us on our walk. Neither of them want the other one there.

DSC_0004 (800x530)

They kept on attacking each other so no one followed us in the end :-)

They kept on attacking each other so no one followed us in the end🙂

DSC_0012 (800x530)

It was hot already then and it’s sort of impossible to get a good slep when it’s too hot, so I went up after two hours and out we went on a walk. It was absolutely still out there, no birds were singing, no breeze was blowing and not a single fly was annoying me, that is until we came to those few places where it still is a bit water in the ground. Those flies may not be many but now they act crazier than usual, I guess they are desperat after water they too. I watered the garden as soon as we had come home, I’m not sure how much it will help when the sun is baking the ground like it does but I hope it’s better than nothing.

From now on its older photographs from last week I'll show.

From now on its older photographs from last week I’ll show.

DSC_0018 (800x530)

DSC_0019 (800x530)

DSC_0025 (800x530)

After I too had had something to eat I drove to the super market. Something swormed around me when I locked the door to the doghouse/ wood shed. I didn’t bother to check what it was before I drove away but when the same insects did it again when I letb the dogs out when I had come home I realised they sounded angry🙂 It seems I have a huge wasps nest just inside the door to tye wood shed🙂 It’s one of the few places I realy can’t have a wasps nest, I need to go through there every time I need to put my dogs in the dog yeard.

DSC_0027 (800x530)

DSC_0032 (800x530)

DSC_0041 (800x530)

DSC_0029 (800x530)

Normally I even try to protect their nests since they eat so many flies but this time I just have to kill them, especially since they already are a bit irritated. I’ll go there tonight and spray wasp poison through two gaps in the door, they won’t even know I’m there. I don’t like it but I must do it since I need to pass so often and if they are irritated already now this heat and draught will just make them worse. I’m allergic to the sting too, I swell up like a balloon🙂

DSC_0038 (800x530)

DSC_0022 (800x530)

DSC_0044 (800x530)

DSC_0045 (800x530)

I saw that they had 30% off on all garden furnitures at the super market so I started looking after that hammock I told You about, It’s gone!!! I guess I wasn’t the only one keeping my eyes on it🙂🙂🙂 To bad really, it would have been perfect on days like this.

DSC_0055 (800x530)

DSC_0056 (800x530)

DSC_0060 (800x530)

DSC_0062 (800x530)

I can see thunderclouds all around the village but I doubt we’ll get any use of them they missed us yesterday and that’s because of the big bog I live beside. Hot summers like this it creates a sort og high preassure of its own so that the rain clouds get pushed away. We can see how the rain keeps falling all around us but it doesn’t reach us. Hot summers like thses are rare though and normally it rains all the time here🙂 Especially when we don’t need it🙂

DSC_0028 (800x529)

Have a great day!

16 thoughts on “It was already gone!

  1. wow I don’t like the sound of wasps. we have a lot here as well but like you said, they eat alot of flies and for us spiders on the brick walls.I sure hope you have gotten rid of them, I also hope the dogs feel better.I never heard of cooking rice that way but I like it, I will try that!!

    • Hi Laurie!

      We have very few wasps this year so that’s why I’m so reluctant to kill these but I really need to be able to walk through there without getting stung. I’ll do it when it’s getting darker tonight.

      Just put the water and rice in the pot, make the water start boiling and turn of the stove. Wrap a towel around it and a thick towel on top of the lid. leave it for twenty minutes and the rice is ready to eat. No risk of burning the rice that way plus it saves a lot of electricity. Works just as good with potatoes.

      Still worried stomachs on my dogs and I guess it has to do with this heat and drinking ditch water and eating god knows what🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    So no one really won that fight between Bertil and Teo since neither of them got to go for a walk.🙂

    Sorry that the hammock thing got bought. Perhaps you can find one online in an end of summer sale. You’d be all set for next summer.

    I hope the dogs’ stomachs settle down soon. Are they all in that condition?
    Rocky horked up a couple of times at the lake yesterday. He doesn’t eat weird things so it might be the change from very hot to very cool temperatures. He’s eating so I guess he feels okay.

    It’s another wet, cold summer day here. We are having a tiny Northeaster today. I’m not sure what a tiny Northeaster is supposed to be. A Northeaster should be blowing like crazy and pelting rain or snow sideways.
    This is only drizzle with a little bit of a breeze.
    I think the weather man just wanted to have some drama.

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      No, I think I can say that both lost🙂

      But it is so annoying that I missed it! Especially since I only got two small bills this month🙂 Well I did a bad buy the other day (price wise that is) so i guess it was just as well I didn’t get this🙂 I tell You all about the bad buy next week🙂

      I too hope their stomachs will calm down. But I’ve bought fish so if this continues I’ll cook some fish and rice as dinner for them until they calm down. But I guess it’s this hot weather that’s the big cause behind this. We’re not used to this heat and it’s still nothing compared to what You’ve had in the US. We reached 83 today.

      They have predicted rain and thunder every day now but so far they’ve been wrong. But they got drama in a town not far away from here, they got so much rain today that almost the entire town was flooded.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. that is funny about teodor and bertil. do they get along except for on walks? i am very allergic to wasps too. i never knew they ate flies. that makes me like them a bit more. we might get rain tomorrow.

    • Hi Joyce!

      Those two almost never fights but now they’ve done it twice when both wanted to follow us on our walk.

      Wasps eat lots of flies so I want them around, just not where I have to walk often, especially not when they are cranky🙂

      They have predicted rain and thunder every day now but so far they’ve been wrong.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. We get up at 5 each morning to walk before the heat and humidity sets in. Sometimes, even at that hour, it is sticky. Hate it when you wake up to a sick puppy.

    • Hi Dee!

      Much the same here but just because we always wake up at that time🙂 Normally it isn’t that hot and humid here, this kind of summer is rare.
      I agree, it’s awful to wake up witn sick dogs but thankfully the rice helped and they all seem to be good again.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Christer,
    Mu mother always had a rule when shopping: if you like it buy it because sure as heck it will be gone later. She was usually right.

    I seldom see wasps, bees, but no wasps.

    My cats have lived together all their lives but when they see each other they hiss and whack each other. Gracie is a bit fearful of Fern who will whack her and then lap her face and face. Gracie has no idea what to expect. Maddie tolerates Grace who used to chase her all the time when Gracie was a puppy, but they have come a long way since then and will sleep close to each other on the couch.

    We had 2 and a half inches of rain between yesterday and today.

    • Hi Kat!

      A good rule but it was a bit too expensive to buy at that price. I’ve seen copies but without that roof that stops both the sunshine and/ or rainfall. They have the mosqito nets though but still.

      I don’t think I’ve ever seen honey bees here but we usually have lots of wasps, bumblebees and solitary bees but this year very few of any of those too. I guess the late spring managed to kill lots of them.

      My cats are brothers and usually get along quite well but it happens they start fighting but rarely especially tough. They both loves the dogs and can do more or less what they want with them🙂

      No rain here but a cold front with rain and thunder might pass here tomorrow, I’ll beliveve it when it happens🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Jim!

      So true! I went and checked the nest this morning and they were still there so I had to spray it once again. They were weakened though so this time I could hit the entire nest properly. I don’t like ut but it had to be done.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. I had a big wasp nest up at the peak of my house last year and I am SO glad that they are gone this year.
    I always worried about my dogs getting stung.
    Cats are crazy.😀
    I need to run to the store this morning and it’s so cool out I might have to throw on a sweatshirt.
    This weather is crazy but I love it!
    I saw a hammock here that was on sale (but still too expensive) I thought about buying it if it was there later at a cheaper price but then decided, no. I would probably never lay in it. Oh, maybe for a minute but then I’d have to get up and work on something.:/

    • Hi Cindi!

      I remember that nest and one never knows with either dogs nor cats, they can be stung bad but still continue to try to eat those insects🙂 The stung itself is usually not that bad but there’s always the risk they get stung in their mouth while chewing on it.

      I can’t say I long for sweatshirt weather but it would have been nice if today was one of those days🙂 It’s getting hotter again and we might get thunder here and it looks as if they actually might be right this time🙂

      Sometimes it’s wise to actually think before buying🙂 Something I do too rarely🙂🙂 My problem would most likely be that I would spend too much time in that hammock🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. I nearly missed this post! The pictures are gorgeous, Christer!! I especially, as you know, love the photo’s of the animals..those cats always make me smile!

Leave a Reply

