It barely wet the ground :-)

DSC_0030 (800x530)

We woke up quite early today and I could see thick fog floating above the ground but it managed to lift and fly away before I managed to put on clothes and get out on our morning walk. Clouds covered the sky and the temperature stayed at 18,5C (65,3F)  until noon. What a wonderful change to the 28,5C (83,3F) that we had yesterday🙂 It started to drizzle as soon as we had come home and I have to admit that I liked it🙂

DSC_0026 (800x530)

DSC_0028 (800x530)

DSC_0029 (800x530)

DSC_0027 (800x530)

I wouldn’t say that it was a big shower we got but it did rain quietly for quiet some time, not that it could be noticed on the ground🙂 but still. Both my neighbors and I had our doors open and just sat there and enjoyed it all. Now the temperature is rising agin, the sun is shining and a cool wind is making sure that what ever moisture there was in the ground after the rain now is gone🙂

DSC_0037 (800x530)

DSC_0038 (800x530)

DSC_0043 (800x530)

DSC_0044 (800x530)

I didn’t manage to kill all wasps yesterday evening, I sprayed through some gaps in the wall so it was a bit hard to aim. So I had to do it this morning too. I could see that they were severely weakened so I opened the door and sprayed directly in to the nest. I really didn’t want to do this but I really had no choise. I must pass through there almost every day and I’m pretty sure they wouldn’t have left me alone when the nest got bigger, especially not when the queen had left them and they would be confused and angry.

It's starting to dry up even by the bog now.

It’s starting to dry up even by the bog now.

DSC_0011 (530x800)

DSC_0012 (800x530)

A Shrike.

A Shrike.

DSC_0017 (800x528)

I’m not sure but it looks as if thunderclouds are blowing this way so I better stop now. The weather predictions says we might get it today and even they might be right some time🙂 Not much rain predicted though so I think it would be best if it didn’t arrive, still too dry here.

These last photographs are from last week.

These last photographs are from last week.

DSC_0012 (800x530)

DSC_0014 (800x520)

DSC_0015 (800x530)

Have a great day!

17 thoughts on “It barely wet the ground :-)

  1. Hi Christer,
    That last photo is an excellent one of my favorite shaggy pony. What a lot of mane a tail! Good weapons against flies and mosquitoes. Tough to keep tangle free, though.🙂
    Nice shot of the shrike in flight, too.
    I keep trying to get those shots but it’s difficult without a telephoto.
    It also doesn’t help when the little dog on the other end of the leash that I’m holding suddenly decides to pull in a different direction as I’m pressing the shutter.
    Sometimes I get lucky. Sometimes they are even in focus.🙂

    I’m glad that cooler weather has come to your area and hope that you get the nice soaking rains that we have had over the last couple of days. It’s sunny now and in the high 60’s Fahrenheit. It’s supposed to get up to the mid-80’s. I think that’s reasonable for summer as long as the humidity is not too bad.

    Enjoy the rest of the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes that horse is well protected against flies in the eyes🙂
      To bad I didn’t get the chance to adjust the focus when the shrike flew, I wasn’t prepared at all but I think it turned out quite well anyway.This was so close that I really didn’t need a tele-photo lens. I guess this is a young one that doesn’t know that life can be dangerous🙂 Thankfully I already had told Nova to stand still and since there was no hare close she stood still🙂 The others were walking unleashed and that does help a lot🙂

      It’s hot here again but the cool wind does make it feel much nicer and the humidity is rather low now, there’s no water around to keep it high I guess🙂 The thunderclouds sort of stopped so I guess they’ll keep their distance. I guess when it finally starts it will be a magnificent thunder storm. Hector will go insane but the rest doesn’t care about thunder.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • I think of Hector as King Priam’s son and a warrior from Troy so it’s surprising that thunder makes him crazy.🙂

      • But he never cared about that when he was younger. It started after I used one of those tick repellants called Front Line. Thankfully the dose was made for a much smaller dog so it wasn’t as strong as it could have been. He was hysterical for a couple of weeks even if I had showered it away as soon as I saw how he reacted. Some dogs go so crazy that they have to put them down, hector got calmer again but never as he was before. So I think the name fitted in the beginning🙂
        Christer.

  2. pretty pictures, love the horses, what kind are they, one looks like a fjord, the chickens aer neat too, Ilike them not just to eat but as pets. they come in so many colors and varieties, the lady up the street has many kinds including those chinese silkies.

    • Hi Roberta and welcome to my blog🙂

      To be honest, I am a bit afraid of horses but I do like these ones and three other that lives in my village. We have horses everywhere here, I live in the county that has most horses per person in the entire country🙂

      I would love to have chickens but I have enough pets as it is already, perhaps when I retire in about 18 years🙂🙂 I would have them for the eggs and perhaps a dinner sometime but mostly as pets🙂

      Have a great day and welcome back🙂
      Christer.

  3. hi christer! we are getting rain here today. hopefully we will keep the cooler temperatures. i would love to have chickens too. i have gotten really close to getting some but then i think of what it would be like to go out in the snow on really cold days to take care of them, and i change my mind. plus teddy would be trying to eat them all the time too. do you still have another week off or are you back to work on monday? vacations go by far too fast! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      They predict thunder, sunshine, some rain and over 86F tomorrow. I wouldn’t mind the rain but it will be a nasty thunderstorm if it actually comes🙂🙂

      It would be fun to have chickens but as You say, there’s a down side to it🙂 I would never see them during winter since I go to work before the lights comes and comes home when it’s getting dark🙂

      I still have a week vacation left🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. we have had heavy rain and storms, very cool temps, that photo of the bird in flight is amazing, well, all the photos are, fighting those wasps makes me nervous just reading about it!

    • Hi Laurie!

      We’ll get over 30C here tomorrow according to all weather site predictions. I can’t say I look forward to it🙂 They also predict thunderstorms and sunshine, I guess it will feel like living in a steam bath🙂🙂

      I’ll check those wasps tomorrow. Too bad I had to do it because we sure need them around those angry little insects🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Like Joyce, I would love to have some chickens..but PH would never hear of it. I want a cat too..same thing.🙂 Then again..I wonder if it’s just the chicken coop I am so taken with. If..I could just have three hens..I mean how difficult would that be.
    Your horses look different than the ones here. Longer hair. That is because of the weather or something? Perhaps a different breed?
    I must get those Cosmos in the ground. I am bad about buying flowers and then fooling around about getting them planted.
    Have a great weekend..

    • Hi Mona!

      It would be fun but I think they deserv more time than I can give them. Chicken coops are cute🙂 Perhaps start with that and see if You want chickens after a while🙂🙂🙂 I had a work friend once that had some japanese silk hen in a big cage in his appartment. I’m not sure if I would like to have them inside the cottage though but he said it didn’t smell as long as one kept the cage clean.

      The kind of horses You see in my photographs are old times working horses and they are adapted for our climate, so I’m pretty sure that’s why they have longer hair. I guess that they wouldn’t like the California climate at all.

      You’re not allone when it comes to buy plants and never seem to get them in the ground or pots🙂🙂🙂 We are all just the same when it comes to that🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Christer, I would not feel any sorrow at all over killing those wasps as they are the insect I feel the most. it seems whenever I have spotted one indoors they can sense y fear of them and head directly in my path. And you would certainly not be spared if that hive had grown larger. So, my friend, I would not feel badly. Seems the weather is a great topic and once again all the rain storms predicted for our area seem to go around us somehow. This is unfortunate because the ground is very parched now and a day or two of soaking rains would be welcome.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      I do like wasps even if they can be oh so annoying sometimes🙂 But they do a lot of good too, pollinate flowers and eating flies and You are absolutely right, they would attack me later on🙂

      For once the predictions were right🙂 It’s not enough but this will help nature for a short time anyway. I don’t long for rain so the next rain front doesn’t have to arrive for quite some time🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. It’s been pretty nice weather here too.
    In the 70’s to the low 80’s. I haven’t had to turn on the air-conditioners, just the fans.
    I have started to leave both the front door and the back door open. That way the air can blow right through the house. Now, that I’ve been doing this, Blue has decided to keep watch out on the porch. I’m glad, because it gives him something to do.😀

    • Hi Cindi!

      It has stayed in the low 70’s here but tomorrow we’ll reach at least 83 they say, on sunday it’ll be cooler again.

      They say tghe best way to keep a house cool is to have dark curtains by the window so no sunlight reache inside but I haven’t tried it myself. I really don’t want to have the lights on during summer🙂 So I do like You, let the wind (if there is one) blow through my cottage🙂

      It is good to have our dogs busy with something, Sune keeps an eye on the entrance with Orvar and Nova is on the other side by the kitchen door🙂 Hector tends just to not bother🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

