A visit to the mountain and it’s raining.

The old Spa. Now days it's a conference center. The house is so big that I couldn't fit it in one photo :-)

The old Spa. Now days it’s a conference center. The house is so big that I couldn’t fit it in one photo🙂

It’s raining, not much it’s more like s silent summer rain and not thunder showers they had predicted yesterday. The predictions vary quite a lot, some weather sites says really hot and thunder showers and others says “only” warm and light showers. I would prefer if the thunder waits a while since I want the grounds to be less dry before the lightnings starts hitting. The rain we’ve gotten so far won’t help much but the air feels so much nicer and fresher.

The ruins of the old monastery in Gudhem.

The ruins of the old monastery in Gudhem.

People have lived here for at least 6000 years. It's called the Cradle of Sweden.

People have lived here for at least 6000 years. It’s called the Cradle of Sweden.

DSC_0039 (499x800)

DSC_0042 (530x800)

We all spent the night in my livingroom because it was so hot upstairs that it was impossible to sleep there. My sofa is quite comfortable but it felt a bit crowded when both Sune and Nova tried to be there too🙂 We all had breakfast after our morning walk and all windows were open. You know that it has been hot for some time when it feels a bit cold when it is 22c (72F) outside🙂 After that we’ve mostly been napping, watching tv or thrown sticks and plastic bottles in the garden🙂

Gudhems church stands just beside the ruins and it originates from the twelth century but has been burned down around 1560. The building standing there now was built in the 19th century.

Gudhems church stands just beside the ruins and it originates from the twelfth century but has been burned down around 1560. The building standing there now was built in the 19th century.

DSC_0045 (530x800)

DSC_0046 (800x519)

DSC_0047 (800x530)

We did a small tour while my friends were here and most of todays photographs comes from that tour. First we went to the monastery ruins in Gudhem and after that we went to Falköpings Spa. Well we walked up the mountain from the old spa because I didn’t know that there was a road leading to the top🙂 But that was what the people once going to the spa had to do, they drank the water that is supposedly healthy and then they had to walk to the top of the mountain to an outlook tower. Now days they also have a small zoo up there, not much really, a petting zoo and a few other animals.

The Spa was and is surrounded by parks and there's a thin road and stairs leading to the top. Old oaks and hazel nut bushes grows everywhere.

The Spa was and is surrounded by parks and there’s a thin road and stairs leading to the top. Old oaks and hazel nut bushes grows everywhere.

We followed the stairs on our way to the top but realised they would be dangerous to follow downwards :-)

We followed the stairs on our way to the top but realised they would be dangerous to follow downwards🙂

Soo many steps.

Soo many steps.

It felt like we never would reach the top :-)

It felt like we never would reach the top🙂

But finally! The tower!

But finally! The tower!

Ferns loves this area, they cover the grounds completely.

Ferns loves this area, they cover the grounds completely.

It’s time for a cup of tea and then a walk if it has stopped raining. ( no walk, thunder just arrived but it’s still far away).

Animals at the small zoo.

Animals at the small zoo.

DSC_0062 (800x530)

DSC_0066 (800x530)

You Americans knows what this is :-)

You Americans knows what this is🙂

DSC_0073 (800x530)

The aviares were perhaps big enough to follow the law but I think that big birds like turkeys and peacocks should have much bigger spaces to move around in.

The aviaries were perhaps big enough to follow the law but I think that big birds like turkeys and peacocks should have much bigger spaces to move around in.

Have a great day!

We found a restaurant at the top, just beside the parking lot everyone else drove to :-) This is the view from there.

We found a restaurant at the top, just beside the parking lot everyone else drove to🙂 This is the view from there.

DSC_0077 (800x530)

We took the small gravel road when we returned to the car.

We took the small gravel road when we returned to the car. I think we may have said something insulting to my friend while I took this photo🙂

ome people were running up and down the road. Something I would have loved to do back in the days :-)

Some people were running up and down the road. Something I would have loved to do back in the days🙂

This was the first time I went to that place but I will go there again.

This was the first time I went to that place but I will go there again.

20 thoughts on “A visit to the mountain and it’s raining.

  1. what a beautiful place. those steps look like mine to the lower garden. i always have to be careful on them especially after a rain. i have slipped and fallen one too many times! glad you finally got rain. it rained here overnight. this has not been a good summer for a wooden house. i need to have lots of work done. that does sound like a crowded sofa…haha!

    • Hi Joyce!

      I liked it there and You know exactly what I mean with those steps🙂 Hard to walk upwards, impossible to walk downwards🙂

      We’ll get more rain soon, we are bewteen thunderstorms right now and the sun even showed for a while now when we were out walking. But it isn’t as hot as they predicted thankfully, it would have been unberebly with this high humidity we’re having now.

      I need to fix some thing on my home too but it has just been to hot to do anything this summer but there’s plenty of time left🙂

      It was a crowded sofa🙂 They say we’ll get thunderstorms tonight as well so I think I might spend night downstairs again.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. it is a beautiful place to visit, its amazing to think people have been there for 6ooo years. I enjoy seeing the ruins, the land looks so much like the country side here in northern Ontario Canada, beautiful chickens, beautiful church, great photos,

    • Hi Laurie!

      I guess this was a good spot to stop, lots of wildlife to hunt and good soil to grow food on as well.

      I think those chickens were just beautiful, even the turkey is🙂 But I wish they had more space to walk around on.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Beautiful pictures as usual. I am amazed at the 2 chickens – one with white feathers outlined in black and the other one red with red feathers outlined in black – never seen chickens like then before. They are very pretty.

    • Hi Dee!

      I think those chickens are rather common here, they are so beautiful that they are popular to have. Wouldn’t mind having some myself🙂 They had Japanese silk hen too but I never photographed them.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer,
    If I were going to have chickens, I would have those lace feather ones. I love the plumage.

    The spa is another building with fabulous windows. I wouldn’t be able to do the stairs, up or down. Too many for my wonky knees. The pathway would be fine, though. It looks like a lovely walk in the woods.
    It took me a couple of looks to figure out why you said your friend may have been insulted.🙂 I’m slow sometimes.

    I don’t know how much room was in those pens but I’m here to tell you that you don’t want turkeys to have too much of a running start. The wild types aren’t very nice birds inside an enclosure. The toms tend to hate anything that walks upright and will chase after it with evil intent.

    Nice pig. Lovely swirly coat.

    Some friends and I went to an ale tasting last night. It was a benefit for the MSPCA farm which is part of an animal rescue organization in my state. We tasted a lot of ales and ate some free food. Best of all was visiting the animals in the adoption center. Dogs, cats, goats, ducks, cows, horses, everything. Rats even. It was fun. I didn’t adopt anything but it was close.🙂

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I woulkd go for the other chickens, I just love those colors🙂

      The only ones that would like those stairs might be athletes🙂 But the gravel road was quite nice to walk on and I saw a mother with a stroller and an older child sitting in it as well take that road. Ok, she was in her twenties I think but anyway🙂

      I did wonder if anyone would check to see what I meant with that text🙂

      There were two or three turkeys in that cage and nothing else. I know they are mean ones but still. Especially the peacock should have a bigger place so he could spread his tail feathers without any problems.

      It’s dangerous to meet all those animals🙂 I’m pretty sure I would have adopted another animal even if I wouldn’t have the space for it🙂🙂 Especially after tasting ales🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Fortunately the adoption center had figured out that adopting animals on the spur of the moment after sampling a lot of ales might not be a good idea. They were not adopting out any animals that night.

        lf they had been, my friend would have gone home with ducks and I would have gone home with a small black chihuahua/pug that was going to have to have a leg amputated.

        Rocky would not have been pleased.

        But the little guy was seriously cute.

      • Good decision from their side🙂

        By now I have so many pets that my dogs and cats just don’t seem to be bothered if more arrives🙂 Thankfully I know when to say stop🙂

        Christer.

  5. I always love your photos but these are spectacular! So beautiful. The monastery ruins remind me of so many similar sites I saw in England when I visited in 1995 – but that was due to Henry VIII and not time. There is something so hauntingly beautiful about these ruins and you are almost transported to that time on seeing them. Yes, I recognized the turkey but have to saw the chickens are beautiful too – much prettier than the plain white ones.

    • Hi myroseindecember!

      All monestaries were closed when our king decided to become protestant. They robbed all of everything valuable and many were torn down. About the same time as Henry VIII. This one stood for quite som time after but burned down later on.

      I do like ruins and especially at nevenings the feeling of them still walking around there is strong.

      I do like those small chickens and one day I might get some🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • I agree about a feeling we get at any ruin, especially in the evening. I had the good fortune to visit England in 1995 and we visited several Roman ruins, and could see the Saxon and Norman additions, At one in particular, Birdoswold, I really sensed those who had been these before. However, since it is so close to Scotland, I told my friends I was probably sporting a blue-painted face and coming from the north, if I had ever been there before. I get that feeling particularly at the Gettysburg Battfield and on the lawn at the back of the Governor’s Mansion in Williamsburg where flowers bloom in gay profusion over earlier mass graves. Perhaps these souls are asking just that we remember them.
        Nancy

      • Perhaps ther are. It is easy to feel a precense when walking around at those historical places.
        I would like to go to Britain to see all those places we read about i history class in school, they are actually more well known to me than our own places🙂

        Christer.

  6. These were quite different than scenes in your usual posts, Christer, and thanks for sharing your outing. The monastery ruins look like interesting photo subjects and for sure they will not be moving ones. The view from the top of the hill was beautiful. I wondered why you said you had insulted your friend.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      If Ypou look close to that photo You can see he’s giving me the finger🙂🙂🙂 I think we said something about old age and the need to rest🙂🙂🙂

      I’ve never been to the top of the mountain before but knew there would be a small zoo so I thought I should bring my camera to show You what it looks like there.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Hi Christer..thank you so much for stopping by. Your are right about some of the plants..they are indoor plants..and I can have them on the patio because it is so shady there. The hanging vines dry out so quickly that I have nearly lost them a few times so now have them mainly in the shade of the umbrella’s.
    Our temp outside right now is 70 degree’s. Hard to believe when it was near 90 earlier today. Husband and son in law worked on our sprinkler system all morning, beginning at 8:30. By noon it was HOT. Nothing like it has been, but hot none the less.
    I had to laugh at your friend. Got a feeling he is not one that loves having his picture taken. Sort of like you, I think!
    I think we are fortunate to have ever seen a single photo of you!🙂
    Hope your Sunday (which is now LONG gone, was super nice) Hoping for more rain..but so far..dry, dry, dry.
    I’m glad you liked all of my plants. I am addicted.
    Southern California is NOT the easiest place to keep green..especially in the Summer. That is why they call it the golden state. Everything dries up in the Summer.🙂

    • Hi Mona!

      Only 70! I guess that almost feels cold for You now after that awful heat during the day🙂
      Did they work all day outside in that heat? I hope they drank lots of water all the time, I can have those temperatures at work during the day and i drink up to two gallons of water🙂

      I think I’ve actually posted three photographs of me during the years🙂 One is over 27 years old though🙂

      It was a nice rainy Sunday here but the humidity was a bit awful to be honest, it’s still around so today will be like walking around in a steam bath I’m afraid🙂

      So that’s why it’s called the golden state🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

