I think gills would work today.

The male Shrike. Quite a noisy bird for being so small.

The male Shrike. Quite a noisy bird for being so small.

This could have been a really nice day if it wasn’t for the humidity. It is rather warm but there’s a cool breeze blowing but it isn’t enough I’m afraid. The only way to not be drenched by sweat is to sit absolutely still. I usually never mind that but it is a bit boring in the long run🙂 Thankfully I have a couple of good books to occupy my mind. Not even the dogs wants to move around especially much.

DSC_0006 (800x530)

We found this nest with eggs on our walk yesterday. It's the nest of the Hazel Grouse. Well we found the hen to but she prefferd not to be photographed.

We found this nest with eggs on our walk yesterday. It’s the nest of the Hazel Grouse. Well we found the hen to but she prefered not to be photographed.

DSC_0009 (800x530)

It must have rained during the night too because the trees that looked to be at the end of what they managed looks much better today. It’s strange really, it doesn’t matter how much one waters plants they still always look so much healthier when the rain has fallen. I don’t know how they can feel the difference but they do.

DSC_0012 (800x530)

DSC_0013 (800x529)

DSC_0014 (800x530)

I drove to Falköping this morning to buy food but I also went to a lumberyard. Well it isn’t a lumberyard really, more a store where I can buy planks and boards when i want to build something. They also have all things needed when building something like ladders. My ladder is too short when I want to reach anywhere so today I bought one that can be extended up to 6,2 meters (6,8 yards) and i think that my cottage is slightly lower than that. It will be so much easier to paint the higher walls next time I need to.

DSC_0016 (800x530)

DSC_0018 (800x530)

DSC_0019 (800x530)

I might go there tomorrow as well after I’ve been to a doctor’s appointment. I go to my doctor once every year after my hip surgeries. It should have been less than that but they discovered I have slightly higher levels of metal ions in my blood since some of these hip implants are defective. These ions can if becoming too much destroy both the bones and muscles in my leg. So far my levels are very low and nothing to worry about but they want to check me every year so it doesn’t change. I really have no wish of going through another surgery, not because it hurts or that I can’t drive for a month but I do have four dogs and two cats that someone needs to care for while I’m gone.

The female Shrike.

The female Shrike. It could be one of their young ones too but I think this is the mother.

DSC_0030 (800x530)

DSC_0031 (800x530)

Sune is outside watching a tractor that collects those big silage balls on the field. He’s fascinated by any machine and the more noise they make the more he wants to go close to them🙂 If he had been a boy he should most likely have asked if he could help driving that tractor🙂

Lots of wheel shaped webs in the field today, in fact I think there's only wheel sahped ones there.

Lots of wheel-shaped webs in the field today, in fact I think there’s only wheel shaped ones there.

DSC_0032 (800x530)

DSC_0034 (800x530)

It’s time to go back to my book and I think I’ll bring a cup of tea.

Have a great day!

DSC_0027 (800x530)

16 thoughts on “I think gills would work today.

  1. how brave of Sune, most dogs run from loud noises, what beautiful web photos, it always fascinates me how creative spiders are, we have a spider living in the side mirror on our car, she casts a web from the mirror to the door and catches all manner of flies and tiny moths, when we stop at a stop light she comes out , captures her prey and returns quickly before we take off. I hope all is well with your tests, surely don’t want that done again, especially who would watch your children😉,

    • Hi Laurie!

      I must keep an eye on him though, he wants to jump over the fence as soon as the tractors drive around on the field outside my garden. It’s the only time he wants to do that.

      Those webs are so strong! I sometimes have small webs there too and they don’t break even if I drive fast! But my spiders doesn’t show until I park my car.

      I’m not worried about the test, the last one showed only slightly higher amounts of ions, but it’s always best to check.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Your male shrike is quite peachy colored and very handsome, too.There are two species in my general area, Loggerhead and Northern. Neither is peach colored, just grey and black and white.

    No orb webs around here yet. Funnel webs are showing up, though. It would be good to see a field full of orb webs sparkling with morning dew. I’d have to find a field, first.🙂

    Rocky doesn’t care about machines one way or the other. He ignores the vacuum cleaner. He also ignores the lawn mower. My old dog used to attack both.

    It’s changeable weather here now. There are periods of sun mixed with periods of overcast sky and it’s humid but there’s a breeze. It’s like it can’t decide.

    I hate blood tests. Good luck with yours. May your ions always be low as long as that’s a good thing.🙂

    Enjoy the rest of the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      The male shrikes are beautiful, we have another relative here in Sweden and it’s more grey and white in its colors.

      I have a big funnel web in my cellar but that’s the only place I’ve seen any around here.

      Nova gets terrified when the vacuum starts but doesn’t care much about any other machines. Well she didn’t like my old food processor but it sounded so bad that none liked it🙂 Hector and Orvar don’t like the vacuum nor the mower and Hector is terrified when he hears a moped🙂

      We’ll get mixed weather here too for two days after that the heat will come back again they say. I don’t mind as long as the humidity is low🙂

      I’ll get a letter later telling we how the levels are.
      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Your photos always make me feel like I am enjoying a mini vacation as I browse through them. Your blog is such a delight. The spider webs are amazing and you photographed them so well. Some look like they are sprinkled with fairy dust. For looking so fragile, they are truly very strong. Can you please tell me the name of the berries in the last photo? I pray you will not need additional hip surgery and that your blood levels of metal ions remain low. When we have animals who depend on us, it is very hard when we cannot get around to tend to them. I am supposed to have foot surgery but the doctors no longer apply casts right away and I do not know how I would manage to get around my apartment. Six weeks in a rehab facility would fray my last nerve, so I am just putting it off for now. Have a great day.

    • Hi myroseindecember!

      I’m glad You like them🙂

      Those webs do look beautiful when all those tiny drops sprinkles in the early morning sunshine🙂

      The berries are red elderberries, these are said to be edible but I want to test them before trying🙂 Almost all other redberried elderberries are toxic🙂

      Thanks, I really wish I don’t need another surgery. Especially because I need my dogs and cats placed somewhere and I really can’t fetch them after a surgery. So I understand that You are putting off Yours!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. hi christer! i don’t think we have shrikes here unless they are called something else. that is very funny about sune wanting to drive a tractor or big machinery. we had awful humidity recently and i hated every minute of it. when are you going to build your greenhouse? joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      I think You have relatives to the shrike and most animals seems to have different names in American English compared to British English.

      I’m sure Sune would and I’m pretty sure he would love to go for a ride in the tractor right now🙂

      Yes the humidity is awful! It’s 6:40 am here right now and the humidity is already up on 100%

      I was thinking of buying what I need today but then I looked at the blueprints I’ve made and realised I forgot to write down the measurements🙂 I’ll do that when I come home and buy the things I need later in this week.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. I especially enjoyed the last spider web photo. So beautiful. It really is a miracle of the modern world that a little spider can spin a web in Sweden and I can see it here in Oregon the same day.🙂

    • Hi Charisse!

      I’m fascinated by spider webs!

      It is amazing what we can do now days! If this had been the eighties I would have had to take a photograph and develop it, then I had to post a letter to You and with a bit of luck it would have been at Your homes after a month or so🙂 I wonder what the future will bring us in just a few years time?!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Mona!

      You all think so about Bertil🙂

      I was surprised to see a nest so close to the gravel road though. I looked there when we passed yesterday evening, the nest and eggs were gone so they must have hatched just after we had passed. Those chickens never stays there for longer than necessary.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. I meant to tell you that YES, the men worked out in the heat but under the shade of both the pear tree and the huge old pine tree. NO humidity here..so I think it is probably more bearable. Drank lots of cold water..and a couple of cokes. It’s a great relief that it is behind us now…until the next one quits working!🙂

    • Stil, it must have been awfully hot! Good that they drank a lot of water and coke too. I really don’t like coke but I know how they can remove all tiredness. Lets hope it will continue to worek, at least as long as it is so hot as it is🙂
      Christer.

  7. Hope the tests go well, enjoy your book! What are you reading? Did you say already and did I miss it?
    I really have to figure out how to get your blog to show up on my Bloglovin Reader.

    • Hi Cindi!

      We’ll know in a few weeks how the tests were.
      I was reading the Foundation trilogy at the moment, scifi novels, and now I’ve started on Cloud Atlas. It’s a story that beginns in the 1700* and ends in the future. I’ve seen the movie and liked it a lot.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

