Cool and nice.

DSC_0029 (800x530)

The day is grey and cool, sometimes it drizzles but not enough to make us wet when we’re out walking. I think every living creature likes it. They say we might get thunder but I doubt it, it’s just too nice outside. I’ve been to the doctor and he pushed and pulled some with my legs and then they took a little blood from me too. They’ll contact me later on and if the ion levels are too high I’ll most likely go through an MRI. But I feel good and as he said, they never repair something that isn’t broken🙂

DSC_0007 (800x530)

DSC_0009 (800x530)

DSC_0010 (800x530)

I had planned to make some shopping while I was in Skövde, the big town in this area but sort of lost interest when I parked outside the big area with all the stores. I came home with some fish food and four cows ears for my dogs🙂 I also stopped at McDonald’s and had a burger with fries. I can’t say I like hamburgers that much but once or twice every year I buy one. McDonald’s stripes are always delicious but I have to say I got rather disgruntled when it came to the burger. It didn’t taste a thing, neither did the vegetables they put in between those breads. I can’t say I long for another burger again🙂

DSC_0014 (800x530)

DSC_0017 (800x530)

DSC_0018 (800x530)

I came home early and the rest of the day I’ve mostly been reading. I bought three books a few weeks ago, a sort of continuing of the Hitchhikers guide to the galaxy (written by a man called Eoin Colifer), the Foundation trilogy (Isaac Asimov) and Cloud Atlas (David Mitchell). The continuing of the hitchhiker was actually rather good even though there was something that disturbed me. I can’t say what it was but there was something. I’m two thirds through the foundation trilogy and I’ve read it before but long ago and i Swedish, I could only find it in English this time. If You like SciFi this is a must read trilogy. I saw the movie Cloud Atlas and liked it even if I felt lots of things had to be left out, thing that might be important. So naturally I had to buy the book🙂 I’ll start with that one as soon as I’m finished with the foundation.

DSC_0019 (800x532)

DSC_0020 (800x516)

DSC_0021 (800x530)

It’s time to make a pot of tea and something to eat, after that I’ll return to my books🙂

DSC_0001 (800x530)

DSC_0003 (800x530)

DSC_0023 (800x530)

Have a great day!

DSC_0027 (800x527)

12 thoughts on “Cool and nice.

  1. hi christer! i hope you get good results from your blood work. i never thought about swedish mcdonalds! how much does a hamburger cost? i rarely go there but i like mcdonalds hamburgers. we are having another cool day but it is about to warm up again. we still have lots of summer to come. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      Me too🙂

      I bought a Mc taste and company and I payed 63 swedish kronor for that and that’s around $ 9,60. I think however our medium sized soda is smaller han yours and I don’t know how much fries You get, I think You get more than we do. What does that cost in the US? But I don’t know what has happened to their burgers, they used to be rather delicious. I had to wait for mine so it was made while I was waiting so it wasn’t old. Over here Burger King makes the best burgers now days.

      The same here, we’ll get rain and cool weather tomorrow I think and after that the heat will return again. August is coming so I guess this is the last of true summer for us.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    I used to like McDonald’s fries but in my state they passed a law that non-trans fatty oils must be used to fry things. Whatever oil the fast food franchises here are using now has a horrible aftertaste. Unless the fries are smothered in cheese, they taste really terrible. I seem to be the only one who has noticed, though.

    The Foundation Trilogy was one of the earliest scifi books I ever read. Like most trilogies, the first book was great, the second one was good and the third one was not so good but still not awful.🙂

    Possibly the problem with the Hitchhiker continuation is that it was not written by Douglas Adams.
    The Tolkien books which were finished and published posthumously by his son have the same problem. The son is much too serious about enshrining the father’s work.
    For example: Tolkien wrote a lovely children’s story about a dog that bites the wrong wizard. It’s called RoverRandom. The son wrote a preface and annotations that are longer than the story.

    It’s lovely and sunny here. Low humidity, gentle breezes, puffy clouds. A perfect summer day.
    May your blood tests come back well within the parameters because who wants an MRI or another operation?🙂

    Enjoy the rest of your day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      No trans fatty oils here either but they are still just as delicious🙂 I don’t know what kind of oil they are using though, most probably rape-seed oil since it gives no taste and they are trying to create some kind of healthy look now days🙂🙂🙂 Rape-seed is as good as olive oil according to the latest research.

      The only thing I remembered about that trilogy was the Mule🙂 But so far I agree, the first is best, the second is good and I have just started with the third one.

      I guess You’re right about the continuing of the hitchhiker, I think the authro tries too much to be very close to Douglas Adams and it just becomes too much. I didn’t know that about Tolkien and his books though, is that why I get so bored with the last of the Ring trilogy? It’s actually rather boring🙂

      The rain poured down and I thought for a while that thunder would come anyway but it never did. We’ll get it hot and humid later this week.

      I hope so too! But I’ve never had an MRI so I could do that just for fun🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Tolkien did all of The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings. The Silmarillion and others were put together by his son Christopher from notes or partial manuscripts that were left after Tolkien died. They’re making a movie out of The Silmarillion. I tried to read it but nope, nope, nope.🙂
        I dragged my way through the last of the Ring trilogy because I didn’t want it to end. But some parts were boring.

      • So he made that last book that boring by himself then🙂 I’ve tried to read Silmarillion but it’s just impossible! I can’t see how they’ll make a movie from that one.
        Christer.

  3. beautiful photos!!! The close up of the blossom are amazing I love purple. I surely do. I also love the stance of the horse in the one photo, one leg back and one forward,😉 I read the comments and I know in Canada it would be around the same price as what you paid and we get less fries and smaller drinks here in Canada than th United States, we like Burger King also but rarely go, but it is a treat to go!! I hope all your tests prove A OK !

    • Hi Laurie!

      I like purple flowers, especially if the purple is as deep as it is here. Purple was my grandmothers favorite color and she would have loved these flowers🙂

      I guess that Canada and sweden (Europe) have similar portions and similar prices since Canada is more like European countries than the US is.

      I buy hamburgers once or twice every year and it’s the same with pizza. Those times I really enjoy them🙂

      IU hope so too!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Christer,
    I love The Foundation Trilogy, but that title is misleading. There are actually seven books. I read the trilogy first then all the other books. I think the Trilogy is the best by far. I read Cloud Atlas last summer and had to pay attention or lose pieces of it. I didn’t know if I liked it or not for a while then decided I did.

    It’s a perfectly lovely late afternoon here. It is still breezy and not too hot.

    Enjoy your evening!

    • Hi Kat!

      Yes I know about that and I think I have read one or two of those books too, but I think the trilogy is the best too.
      I liked the movie Cloud Atlas but I can understand that very much of even the impotant stuff is gone in the movie, hints here and there to thing, like that starshaped birth mark. I think it was right to see the movie first, it usually is.

      Cool wondeful morning here right now.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. beautiful flower photos!
    last comment I left I asked about the books, so disregard that question, since I now know.
    Mc Donalds burgers….yyayayaayayak! gross.
    I’m like that about shopping at big places too. I have pulled up at the local mall and then decided to drive away.😀

    • Hi Cindi!

      Sorry I ‘ve already answered that question🙂 You see I see them differently when I see them in the admin site. So I always answer the first comment You’ve made first and work my way through the comments🙂

      I have to admit that I was very disappointed with McDonalds. But I eat hamburgers once or twice a year so I know I won’t go there again🙂

      Sometimes that’s the best thing to do🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

